We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned motel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This motel really was a pleasure to visit. From arrival at reception until we left, we found the motel and the owners a perfect combination.

The owners were welcoming and helpful, pointing us in the right direction to take in the local area.The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated in an almost retro sort of way, that worked wonderfully.

The place had a laid back and nice feel to it. We had been travelling throughout the central part of the US and had never felt as comfortable as we did here.

The motel is situated a few hundred yards from the old town and even closer to grocery stores. We walked quite easily to the Botanical Gardens and Aquarium, Downtown was within a 30 minute walk.

I have no hesitation awarding this place a 5 rating.

Room Tip: They all look fine to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    162
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
106
237
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dolores, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Monterey Motel was clean and comfortable. I would have rated it "excellent" except for the neighborhood. The Old Town area of Albuquerque needs more renovation. We did not feel comfortable walking in the neighborhood after dark, but we did not hesitate to walk to the nearby aquarium and botanical gardens. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertBeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A crazy name for a fine motel. This is a characterful old motel, run by a Polish family very much as an American institution. It harkens back to the 50s with small but adequately equipped rooms, with parking outside, a small but perfectly adequate swimming pool, a laundry and a good location near Old Albuquerque with lots of restaurants and places to visit. I am giving the motel 5 stars because it is excellent value and also very friendly. In life you get what you pay for and this motel delivered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights. It is well run and maintained and very clean. It is a no frills drive up to your door motor inn. It has a nice small pool area, laundry with a microwave in the laundry room. It is a good value. It is walking distance to Old Town ABQ, The owners gave some very good restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You can find expensive, overpriced and nonpersonal hotels in Albuquerque or you can enjoy a very clean, comfortable and affordable home away from home at the Monterey Nonsmokers Motel. Bo and Henri along with Victor the dachshund are welcoming and friendly and we have enjoyed their hospitality for many trips.
The motel is close to many attractions including the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium and Old Town and easy to navigate to everything else. All the grounds are immaculate and beautiful rose bushes frame each room door. The only thing we don't like is having to leave...
Hugs from Saskatchewan!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCLutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Two months ago, I revisited Monterey for another extended stay. My purpose was to sell a Jeep from an estate I'm executing and to show my partner the delights of ABQ and the wonders of northern NM, which she loved.

She also loved Monterey and its owners, Henry and Bo, who made us feel quite at home and helped me, with great generosity of time and space and even some tools, get the Jeep sold. I now call Monterey "my little corner of Albuquerque."

A two-block walk down New York Avenue, a quiet residential street behind Monterey, gets you across the street from Old Town and several great museums in the area. Monterey has a clean, efficient laundry room with iron and board. Each of Its well-appointed rooms has an iron and board and good coffee available to make. And I love having no one overhead and my vehicle outside my window, like old-school Route 66.

Henry keeps the swimming pool super clean and at perfect pH, which makes the water feel like fresh water. Bo keeps the grounds verdant and immaculate. Private, friendly, convenient: What more can one ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The motel is clean, well run and maintained, and has a decent pool area. It is not luxurious but it is a nice place to stay and relax while traveling. A good value too. We enjoyed a quick swim and sitting by the pool in the evening. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theackermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
730 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
363 reviews
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#4 of 13 in Albuquerque
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing