We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stop”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Agree fully with other recent reviews- this is a very well located and run motel when on a quick visit to this lovely Old Town. After many days on the road we were delighted particularly to shove all our clothes into the laundry room for a few dollars, and jump into the very pleasant and well tended pool set back from the road in a little garden area. I could happily have stayed on a few days as it was an oasis of calm!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a gem. It is a nice clean place to stay. The room I stayed in this time was room 2 a large room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The sheets are retro just like the motel with a pattern, the towels are not worn out and a nice quality. The owner is a nice gentleman. The pool is also clean. It is a great place to stay, you can walk to Old Town have a few cocktails and walk back to the motel without worrying about getting a DWI. This is a very nice clean motel and let me tell you it is better than many of the fancy chains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got there around noon, and the woman who owns the place (wish I remembered her name) was so friendly and nice, it was a pleasure talking with her. We were able to get into our room early and she gave us many suggestions about what to do in the area. The room was spotless and although it may sound silly to some, I loved the fact that the sheets were printed and not white and the beds were comfy. It was also great to have an assigned parking spot so when we got back very late we were right in front of our room. We didn't use the pool but it looked really nice. It is exactly a 1/4 of a mile to Old Town which is a quick walk. You can tell that she put a lot of effort and love into the place. Can't go wrong with this place - definitely priced right also!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A bit late with my review. This was our second stay at this little gem. This time travelling 66 from Chicago to LA, with our adult daughter we drove in from Santa Fe well before lunch, and without a booking. Nothing was too much trouble , we were checked in immediately and were able to unload our luggage and freshen up. Our daughter , a nurse , couldn't believe the attention to detail in the room and how spotless it was, even down to cling wrap over the drinking glasses . The brass surrounds on the light switches were even fingerprint free. This is truly a genuine 66 motel , with lovely hosts who went out of their way to accommodate us. We were at the top of Sandia Peak and enjoying lunch only an hour after check in .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The price is hard to beat and the motel is very well maintained. A classic motor inn. Nothing fancy, no breakfast served, but a clean and comfortable room in a convenient location. Aquarium and Botanic gardens are a couple blocks to the left and Old Town is a couple blocks to the right. Both easy walking distance. Bus stops for route 66 city bus are very close. This was my second stay here and no complaints. Well, maybe one complaint about no breakfast, but for the price it is worth it. McDonald's directly across the street and there is a small fridge in the room (but no microwave).

A couple runs the hotel, which means there is no 24 hour lobby. If you have a very late arrival you may need to stay someplace that is staffed overnight, but if you are arriving at a reasonable hour this is a good choice. Early departures are no problem because to check out you just leave your key on the hook next to the door in your room.

The parking spaces are very tight, however, so if you have a large truck or an RV you may need to look elsewhere. There is also a laundry room, though I have not gone inside it.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheetahguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great little motel -- large rooms - friendly staff - in the perfect location. Rooms were very large and clean -- nothing fancy but perfect for the price. Everyone enjoyed the pool which was sparkling clean -- would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fireheartfrancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Gustav and his wife keep this delightful motel immaculately The furnishings are perfectly in keeping with the period and the situation is close to the old town. It was the start of our trip on Route 66' we couldn't have chosen a better place to kick off our journey

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back as they are a little further from the roadway
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
767 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,778 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
368 reviews
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#4 of 13 in Albuquerque
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing