We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Route 66 Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Route 66 Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a great choice and can save you some $. It is super clean and the pool area is great. This motel has looked into little details as well. We had cookies in our room each day. Nice treat after a long day. In room coffee, hairdryer, fridge. It has all the amenities. This is a real gem on Route 66.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    158
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
230
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith MT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This motel is not luxurious but it is clean and comfortable. There is a nice pool that has some shade. The location is great, close to Old Town, Aquarium and dining. The couple running the motel was very helpful and nice. The room was quiet. Exceptional value. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet_DFortSmithMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here in 2011 and loved it, and eagerly booked again in May of 2013. This is a quaint Route 66 Motel run by a lovely European couple, Henry and "Bo", who are friendly and very helpful with local tips. Bo maintains the grounds and pool area beautifully with blooming rose bushes, gladiolas, and other seasonal blooms. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with lots of desk, counter, and luggage surfaces for spreading out. Our bathroom was spotless and fixtures look brand new, tho they obviously are not. Again, the spacious bathroom is outfitted with plenty of counter space, which isn't always the case in motel/hotel rooms. As in a previous review I wrote, I again highly recommend this old-fashioned but sparkling clean and fresh motel with comfortable European style decor. Thanks Henry and Bo, I shall return! Wouldn't consider any other lodging in Albuquerque!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you're used to staying at a Marriott or Hilton this may not be the place for you. But, if you're looking for clean, well-kept lodging along Route 66, this place is great. It's a motor court in the traditional manner where you pull up to your front door. The property was immaculate & even has a great pool! It's close to Old Town, restaurants & shopping. It ended up being one of our favorite stays on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betweendalines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm late in making this review. We stayed there last year mainly on the basis of other positive reviews of this motel.

I can't say enough good things about the place. The property was immaculate and the owner was meticulous in keeping it that way. He was doing touch-up painting while we were there. By making the property non-smoking, he eliminated cigarette butts and ashes being strewn about, but he also eliminated, how shall we say, a certain element (and I say this as a former smoker).

Our room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but just fine. I felt safe at the motel. We enjoyed the pool which was also very clean. This motel is a true bargain for anyone willing to mom and pop it.

The owner sent us to the Ranch Supermarket for supplies, which was a real experience for us. It's a big Mexican/Hispanic supermarket with all kinds of great stuff to try and a lot of visual stimulation! The Ranch was one of our favorite things in ABQ. We went back several times.

Room Tip: We requested to be in the back of the hotel by the pool, which keeps you away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCC_003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here one night. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and efficient. He was very helpful in suggesting places to eat that were within walking distance also. The motel is an older motel and the decor is also from the past, but everything was spotless. It was fun having polka dot sheets! Even though the property is located on a very busy street, I did not notice much street noise during the night. This place is located within walking distance to the Old Town Plaza. My only complaint was that the pillows were kind of flat and hard. Very well kept property. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

When I first considered how I'd rate the motel, I ran through the room amenities and their quality, the ambiance, the grounds, the service, the noise level, everything, and I discovered that although there's a minor quibble here or there, none justified giving the motel less than an excellent rating.

1. My room had a coffeemaker and a fridge. I was very happy about the coffeemaker; I didn't miss a microwave - though maybe others would. (And maybe there's a microwave somewhere on the premises, accessible to guests; I don't know.)
2. The TV's remote worked efficiently and there were plenty of TV stations.
3. The free wifi is reliably available and fast.
4. A ceiling fan in the room, something I always like to see.
5. The room was not only spacious, it had plenty of surfaces for placing gear. Three chairs! A desk. A wooden bistro-style table. Two bedside tables. Various lighting choices.
6. Bathroom organized efficiently for work spaces (the coffeemaker is in the bathroom) and for towels and gear.
7. A token gift of cookies (from Poland) provided in room upon arrival.
8. A great little common room that housed the ice machine, a soda machine, and a large selection of paperbacks and magazines for (I assume) swapping.
9. Outdoor landscaping close to the buildings, with a European sensibility.
10. Assigned parking spaces.
11. For the most part, sound wasn't an issue in my room, though I occasionally heard traffic on the busy road that the motel fronts.
12. Good location - close to Old Town, very close to the Bio Park, close (but not too close) to I-25.
13. Very clean.
14. Not only is there a peephole in the door, it is at an appropriate height for most women! Too often, peepholes are placed at a height appropriate for the men (presumably) who install them.

The coffee wasn't too good in the room, but then I don't have any expectations about coffee quality in budget motels, and I'd brought my own anyway, so no issue for me.

There was a minor issue that I noticed in the room, and the reason it doesn't take away from the excellent rating is because the owner did exactly what an owner or manager should do when something's brought to his attention: Acknowledge the customer's feedback without defensiveness and indicate he'll look into it promptly.

This is an excellent motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livingrootless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#15 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#4 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing