We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We travel in the usa a lot this was a good motel very clean and the owners a smashing husband and wife team.The Old Town just a 5 mins walk away .We were their for the ballon fest and could not have picked a better place to stay. With Walgreens across the street whats not to like.Would go back tomorrow .darbsrv

Room Tip: Go to Trip Adviser the best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbsrv1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is a bit old-school as the name might imply. It's clearly an older hotel, single story with parking spots right in front of each room. We actually really liked this because it was easy to get our luggage from the car. The whole place is impeccably clean and well maintained with cute little touches like a packet of cookies in the room. They have a laundry room for guests. We didn't get to enjoy the pool since it was fairly cold out but it looked nice.

The owner (or owners? We only spoke to the husband.) was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He had great recommendations for restaurants nearby.

It's right on Route 66. This makes it really easy to find but the street is quite busy, even late at night. If you're a light sleeper it might be an issue but I'd hardly say it was a deal-breaker. It was very easy to walk into Old Town for dinner, shopping or just to look around. Plus there's a Walgreens right across the street which can be super helpful when you forget the toothpaste.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, very much like staying at your Grandma's both in decor and hospitality without the curfew. It's an easy walk to Old Town. The proprieter has wonderful recommendations for restaurants. You are able to help yourself to the coffee packets so that you can brew it the way you want it. Very clean, wonderful scents in all the linens, spotless corners, etc. We enjoyed our spacious room very much plus it's a great value and so convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmosca52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Their motto is "European Hospitality" and the Polish couple that own and run the motel have become friends of ours. Impeccably clean, comfortable, and quiet. Bo and Henry are very solicitous to their clients needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It may not be "new," but tht is part of the charm. It is an old style motel located on old Route 66.

You can walk to Old Town. You can park in front of your room. There's a clean laundry room on-site with iron and ironing board.

The owners/managers are on-site and willing to give advice and help with anything.

The room wa clean and I didn't have highway noise. The owners were updating some of the carpeting in some of the rooms when I was there.

Plenty of light and electrical outlets.

I liked this place so much I stayed an extra night. I was on a quick cross-country trip from CA to VA in late August-early September 2012. I called and was a bit suspicious because the price was so great. I liked the fact that they sort of asked me "qualifying" questions before taking my reservation for that same night. I looked at the room before agreeing to stay.

It was such as great location and so comfy that I decided to spend one more night and see more sights. It is conveniently located. I felt quite safe and had no worries.

This is a great value. If I ever go back, I will stay there.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a "bad" room since this is a small motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have stayed there on vacation often. Wonderful old world hospitality. They treat it like home and it is. Glasses, not platic cups, and the cookies/bisquits are appreciated. Clean and well kept. Swimming pool is wonderful in the summer. In walking distance of Old Town andd the Biological Park and Aquarium. Would love to find a home like this in every town I visit.

Room Tip: Room one is on the street, the rest are great. Even number one is fine, just a little noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chacochaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

All was well upon arrival. Slept well for first night out. Prices and location are great. Very close to old town shops and food. 3 of us had hot water fluctuation but one did not. Suspect user problem since there was plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 143 in Albuquerque
794 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,838 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#44 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,055 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $77 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing