We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slower than driving, and not much cheaper.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mexico Rail Runner

New Mexico Rail Runner
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
324 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Slower than driving, and not much cheaper.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

It operates on its schedule, not yours. It's slower than driving and the per person fare round trip is as costly as driving without the freedom.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbin8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    129
    25
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
405 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fun, Fast and Easy between ABQ and Santa Fe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Designed for commuters between the state's largest city and its capital, the Rail Runner gets passengers within walking distance of Santa Fe's historic plaza. Be forewarned, though: cruising the galleries on Canyon Road requires a car or at least an updated bus schedule.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful trains but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I know this is a new service & we are all broke but ideally hope they invest more money in the rail runner in the future. The trains are immaculate &the fair is reasonable if you're going round trip but unless you are going to exactly where the train stops, it doesn't really help walkability around the city. At the very least, have it go directly to the airport. If they can accomplish that then they'd have a winner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“timetable is lacking but it's a great train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sadly, this train runs on a schedule in which you can't really plan to take it all the time. You have to truly preplan everything since the next train may not come for 1-2-3 hours! They need MORE trains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lemmeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
302 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“When You want to go between Albuquerque & Santa Fe, Take the Train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little used and inexpensive way was fantastic. We were within one mile of the station in Santa Fe. We walked and got the 7:13 AM train. 90 minutes later we were in Downtown Albuquerque. It cost us 7 dollars for all day pass. That means we could travel back to Santa Fe and take all the other bus transportation within Albuquerque and Santa Fe for the $7.

They had a great system with cross town buses waiting for you when you arrive at either station. The trains were new, clean and comfortable. The country side we saw was great between the cities.

The center of the train had upper windows for viewing. It had wifi and the staff were very young and helpful. You can even get the train from Santa Fe to the airport with one bus added. Same cost.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing