We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful trains but...”

New Mexico Rail Runner
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful trains but...”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I know this is a new service & we are all broke but ideally hope they invest more money in the rail runner in the future. The trains are immaculate &the fair is reasonable if you're going round trip but unless you are going to exactly where the train stops, it doesn't really help walkability around the city. At the very least, have it go directly to the airport. If they can accomplish that then they'd have a winner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    146
    25
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“timetable is lacking but it's a great train”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sadly, this train runs on a schedule in which you can't really plan to take it all the time. You have to truly preplan everything since the next train may not come for 1-2-3 hours! They need MORE trains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lemmeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“When You want to go between Albuquerque & Santa Fe, Take the Train”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little used and inexpensive way was fantastic. We were within one mile of the station in Santa Fe. We walked and got the 7:13 AM train. 90 minutes later we were in Downtown Albuquerque. It cost us 7 dollars for all day pass. That means we could travel back to Santa Fe and take all the other bus transportation within Albuquerque and Santa Fe for the $7.

They had a great system with cross town buses waiting for you when you arrive at either station. The trains were new, clean and comfortable. The country side we saw was great between the cities.

The center of the train had upper windows for viewing. It had wifi and the staff were very young and helpful. You can even get the train from Santa Fe to the airport with one bus added. Same cost.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BEC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Good way to go to & from Albuquerque &Santa Fe. Scenic ride. Easy to get on & off. Iwould do again. The train can be very full because,its commuter for many. Decount for children & seniors.

Helpful?
1 Thank foreverpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent commuter transportation”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When considering this train transportation from ABQ to Santa Fe, we evaluated the price of the train and the price of traveling by car. The train won and instead of driving, I got to see the scenery. I must say that some aspects of the scenery were not the greatest but it gave you some idea of how the locals live. The train was clean, well maintained, convenient to our location in ABQ and the depot wasn't too far from Old Town, Santa Fe. Shuttles were provided.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank brislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Rail Runner also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rail Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing