We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff.....some building issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Dayton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff.....some building issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

First of all, the staff was AWESOME! Every single one with whom we had contact. I would give the staff 5 stars, It was Balloon Fiesta final weekend. Shuttles to the park and ride, "grab and go" breakfast for those who were headed out the door before breakfast started and a genuine interest in making our stay comfortable. Breakfast staff was speedy and helpful. Front desk staff was also helpful with some great suggestions for navigating any AIBF madness (we were 1st timers). The rooms were clean and large. Underground, access required parking felt secure. EASY to get to highway and Uptown ABQ where there was a lot to do and restaurants galore. Overall a very nice stay but subtle things presented themselves. Like a bathroom ceiling that had been repaired but not thoroughly patched, and cords (phone? electrical?) that had been "re-wired" and ran along the wall/floor interface and around door frames. A fluorescent bathroom fixture with only one bulb and exposed wires seen through the cover grate.(capped and appeared a non-hazard, but unsightly and it does make you wonder about what you aren't seeing) Towels were obviously old and worn out. Shower temperature varied considerably throughout your time under it....now THAT will wake you up!!! Tenants walking in the room above made the windows literally rattle. Seems like a dated, tired property that has some maintenance needs that are just being "patched" as opposed to thoughtfully fixed. Had what appear to be new counter-tops on sinks and in kitchenette on top of old, original bases.

Did I mention......It was clean. Very convenient. Staff/Customer Service was GREAT! I would consider staying again, the other person in the party likely will not. The Average rating is related to the property issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklincm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear FranklinCM,

Thank your for taking the time to complete a review about our hotel. Also thank you for your kind comments about our staff members. We are working on those subtle things that you mentioned in your review by renovating the rooms. We also are trying to resolve the issue about the shower temperature. We hope you will stay with us again so you can enjoy these new improvements that we are making to the rooms.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    100
    62
    49
    64
See reviews for
155
78
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Seeing the pictures online I thought the place would be a nice place to stay. I was wrong!! Upon check in I was told I'm sorry we don't have your two queen beds but have a full size with a sleeper. I said fine since other places were booked. We got a discount so I didn't complain. Everything seemed fine until we went down to the pool. It was so murky and dark that I couldn't find my goggles at the bottom of the pool. The jacuzzi was not working properly. Once we got back to the room it took me about 15 minutes to get the water in the shower to the right temperature. And once my kids got in the temp. changed from ice cold to scalding hot!! When we unfolded the sleeper sofa we found dirty sheets. After an uncomfortable night on a rock hard bed we packed up early. The road noise is so loud you can hear everything driving by. Check out took nearly 15 minutes so I grabbed a couple to go breakfast bags which I found a joke!! A half bottle of water and an apple.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DCDkr,

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. I apologize that the stay was not up to your expectations. We do service the pool in the morning and apologize that it was murky upon your stay. We also do provide quieter rooms away from the main road. I would like to speak to you in person if you could please contact me at 505-255-5566 so we can discuss this further and see how we can make this right for you.

Sincerely,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great hotel; clean & comfortable with wonderful ambiance. The hospitable staff is a great enhancement for the stay. The building is beautiful. And the price was great. I would love to say that this hotel is perfect, but if you are a bit old and even only somewhat handicapped, be aware that there are many stairs that have to be negotiated depending on what area your room is located. Bottom line...stay there, but inform the reservation representative if you need a room requiring no stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pollyvw,

Thank you for you recent stay at the Barcelona Suites. We would like to thank you for taking the time out to post a review about our hotel. Your comments are very kind and we will definitely past that on to the rest of the staff members. We are in the middle of renovating the rooms so we hope you will stay with us again soon so you can enjoy those improvements.
Sincerely,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

It truly amazes me that there are comments in such critical details about this hotel. My family and I stay here every few months just to use the pool... get away and relax. I travel alot from Albuquerque to Kentucky so I know standards and I know this hotel has them. ISSUES yes but only minor (no difference than any other hotel) We have stayed in several other hotels in Albuquerque hoping to find our experience worth while but have failed. The customer service, price, breakfast and the style of this hotel makes this the best for our family. Stairs, yes they have them. Do you have to carry your luggage up or down three or four steps yes but if you can't the staff will help you. Great hotel the best in Albuquerque. We will continue being regulars..

Room Tip: Non smoking king inside or out. On weekends the outside is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tasha P,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind comments and will share them with our entire staff. We our glad that you are a regular of our hotel and we will definitely see you soon.

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Some friends from Phoenix suggested Barcelona Suites and we were going to the Balloon Festival for an extended weekend. There was some confusion and the desk and I should have know that there would be problems. My friend and I wanted to watch the season opener of Scandal only to find out that they have ABC Disney, not the regular ABC, then on Sunday we wanted to watch 60 minutes but they didn't have access to that channel. The towels were extremely thin, you could blow right thru and feel your breath on the other side. Tiles outside the rooms were broken; poor access from elevators to rooms which were located in a hallway outside, only to find there were steps (what happened to handicap accessibility); no fitness room, but was told there was a sauna. The sauna never got hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Pamela W,

Thank you for you review about the Barcelona Suites. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We apologize that the channel that you were trying to watch was not available. It was a problem with the local TV station and cabling and we have corrected that problem. We also did purchase all new towels for Balloon Fiesta, we apologize that your room did not have one of those.
I would like to speak to you in person about the rest of your stay. Please contact me at 505-255-5566.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Like others we stayed during the recent beginning of the 2013 Balloon Fiesta. The staff went over board trying to help in any way possible. Large remodeled rooms are a bonus, just wish the living room had an extra floor lamp for reading. Breakfast in the mornings were hot and tasty. Going outside to access your room is a minor pain as are the steps up & down. Overall though, we had an excellent stay at this facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Thom46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear 19Thomas46,

Thank you for you recent view about our hotel. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely convey your kind comments to the entire staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.


Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well my family comes here every year for the state fair, there is no better location for our kind of needs; that being said, almost every year we've been there, a wedding or some other sort of festivity has been held there. The noise late at night from these parties can keep just about anyone around from sleeping, then on top of that, they open up the underground parking to whoever is coming so when we, the paying customers come in to the hotel there is absolutely no parking spaces available underground, and parking on the street is just about impossible, so the staff is definitely putting their paying customers at the bottom of the chain here. We use it for it's location, and that's it. Terrible hospitality. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone! Especially when they advertise in the hotel they want us to give them five stars on here. Sorry but, no.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedlehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Nedlehs,

Thank you for your recent review about our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. We do have a social events in our open atrium area but we do ensure there is security and also we do ask the event to control their noise levels. We also do have limited parking and we will be taking your comments seriously and will be enforcing measures so that the guests do get the preferred parking, our guests are our number one priority. I would like to speak to you in person about this, please contact me at 505-255-5566. Thank you,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
#21 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#51 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Property: Barcelona Suites
Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-7009
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing