We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place clean but needs a lot of maintenance.”
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
Ranked #119 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was hot even with a/c on 50° and high.Elevator broken.fountains half working.plaster in outdoor pool falling off outdoor pool was also dirty.indoor pool was very nice and heated.jacuzzi was nice but only half the jets worked.the sauna was blocked by a tree so guess that didn't work.breakfast is really good.rooms were clean.staff was friendly.the gates in the underground parking didn't work and we got locked in the next day and when we called the front desk about the gates not opening the oriental girl who answered told me they worked and they did not.after a long wait they got the entrance gate to open .overall ok place but room was to hot and gate and elevator if nothing else need repair

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimin1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Chimin19860

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We do take your comments very seriously. We did have problems with the air conditioning system, but we have worked hard to resolve that problem in timely manner. The elevator is working and was repaired after your stay. The fountains are all working and we did not find any problem with those. We did remove the sauna area as it was not being used that much by guests. The gate at the garage had a sensor issue and was fixed immediately. We truly apologize that everything seemed to break at once during your stay but we do try to keep everything in working order at all times. We hope that you would give us another chance. I would like to speak to you personally about this, I can be reached a 505-255-5566.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Walking into Barcelona Suites it was a nice environment, We got into the room the air conditioning vent was out and the air condition was not working.When I called a person to come check it out it took them fifteen minutes to get there and then thirty minutes to get us to another room.After getting to the room we notice the air conditioning is broken there as well and it was a queen sized bed instead of the king we had ordered online.So we decided to call up the desk again and they said the king bed was a suggestion after we had paid for a king sized bed,we had asked if we could a king bed and they had told us they had no more left after they told someone at the desk they had some king rooms.To whoever will be reading this review is just a experience it may or may not change your mind on this hotel but I will say I would not recommend it to anyone I would meet.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloud175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your candid comments about our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We had been having some air conditioner problems in some of the rooms. We did have a service technician come out and fix it and all problems are now corrected. I feel very bad that you could not enjoy your stay with us and I truly apologize. We hope that you will change your mind and will try us again. I would be willing to speak to you about your stay and possibly offer you and upgraded room so that you can give us another chance.

Malini Perumal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is so nice. Very clean, great indoor pool, great location, very reasonable price, coffee and punch in the lobby, and the cooked to order breakfast in the beautiful, spacious "plaza" area was amazing! We enjoyed our stay very much! Some people have to look really hard for something to complain about. I dreaded the underground parking, but there was plenty of room. The front desk personnel were great, the hotel is beautiful, and the room (suite) was perfect for a family, with two queen beds, a pull out couch and two TVs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Patty L,

Thank for your recent review about our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to complete this review. Our staff is happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will convey your kind comments about them to them in our next staff meeting. We can't wait to see you again.

Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Barcelona. We chose it because of it's great location. It was very easy to leave the hotel and get where we wanted to be in a very short amount of time. What impressed us first was the unique design of the building, the spacious lobby area and glass sided elevator. Loved that it had underground garage parking too. The front desk clerk was very helpful and welcoming. The self serve punch or coffee was a nice touch too. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our suite, (the hotel is all suites), was more like a small apartment, with a living room, kitchen/bar area, and a long hall leading to a spacious bedroom. There was a large sink and counter area in the bedroom as well as a separate bathroom with tub shower, toilet and sink. One warning, the water temp in the shower changes often! The bedroom has heavy floor length drapes that do a wonderful job of blocking light. The bedroom was very quiet and even though I know the suites on each side of us were occupied, I rarely heard a thing from the other rooms. These are not the thin walls of a typical hotel. A hot breakfast is served in the meeting room/bar/breakfast area of the main buidling. It has a tropical feel with a fountain and large plants/ trees. Your eggs are cooked to order along with hashbrowns and toast. Make your own waffles and cereal. At night the same area is a bar with dancing optional. In it's heyday, I'm sure this hotel was the very height of luxury. There are some areas of the hotel that are outdated and worn, but I didn't mind. That only added to the charm. The place has personality and was a breath of fresh air from the usual bland room you can expect from the chains. All in all, it was a great place to stay and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trueblue162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear trublue162,

Thank you so much about your review about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you took the time to complete this review. Our staff is very pleased that you were happy with the service they provided. They do try to go out of our the their way for each and every guest. We did not your comment about the water temperature and we are fixing the problem.

We hope to see you again at our hotel.

Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Barcelona Suites is a great place to go out dancing every Friday Night! Barcelona Suites hosts a weekly Latin Night with DJ Quico playing the hottest Salsa, Merengue, Cumbia, Bachata, Reggaeton and more. A great time is guaranteed for everyone ranging from the beginner or casual dancer to professional dancers. For those who aren't in the mood to dance, there are great drink specials and TV screens at the bar showing sports from around the world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review about our hotel. Havana Fridays does occur every Friday Night and it is a fun way for locals as well as guests to enjoy our atrium.

We glad you enjoyed this event. Please come again soon.

Thank you

Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My daughter and I came up to Albuquerque for a competition. We stayed here and at first the front office was great and had everything ready for us. We got to our room then we saw the building was old and dirty. The room we had was outside and the building and the door was dirty. Inside, the room was spacious and thats the only good thing. The television recption was junk and the lights next to the beds did not work. About two AM the ac started making some real loud noises. I called the front desk and they told me they couldn't do anything until maintenance came in. So at about 10 AM maintenance gave me a call and said the part for the ac would be here in about a week. So they moved me to another room. That night at about 1130 PM they had salsa night in the middle of the hotel. It was loud and the bass was being heard loudly in my room. Called the desk again and they asked me if i wanted to move again. I was done after that.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank ggreenggiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear ggreengiant,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We apologize that the first room you had the maintenance problems. We are using your comments as a training tool for our staff so that this problem does not happen again. We apologize for the Havana Friday salsa music, but this event is a weekly event and we do try to keep the volume under control. We have instructed the DJ to make sure to maintain the noise level. I hope you will try our hotel again.

Thank you,

Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Staff are fantastic, super friendly and very helpful. Hotel is open and airy with a great feel. We had no car and it was only a 20min walk to Uptown (shops/restaurants) and 20min on the express bus (from right outside the hotel) to Downtown/CBD. Breakfast is the best you'll get for the price compared with similar hotels in ABQ. Walls are a little thin, so hope you get quiet neighbours. Would definitely recommend extended stay (monthly rates) for best value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexicot123, Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jools505,

Thank you for great review about our hotel We are very close to Uptown and we are glad that you were able to enjoy that while you were here. Our monthly rates are a great value! We now have rooms that have kitchenettes, where you can cook in the rooms.

Thank you again,
Malini Perumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#21 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,337 reviews
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
#69 of 144 in Albuquerque
253 reviews
Sleep Inn Airport
#51 of 144 in Albuquerque
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
#20 of 144 in Albuquerque
659 reviews
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
724 reviews
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-7009
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing