We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older hotel, great staff, but....”
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
Ranked #113 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Claunch, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Nice older hotel, great staff, but....”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is an older hotel that is kept up very well in the common areas. The suites are very good size. Bed was average, not the most comfortable, but not the worst in the world. We did have one HUGE problem with the room, I found a bloody towel behind the television, so then checked the bedding and linen and found blood stain on the back side of the comforter. We spoke with the owner the next morning who was very apologetic and credited $20 towards our room. The breakfast was good, with excellent service from the cook.

The great plus for this hotel was it's proximity to the state fair

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. Traffic is VERY loud on the front side. It eases fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    100
    62
    53
    69
See reviews for
158
81
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, TN
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Traveling with a group of 45 senior adults, I was impressed with the service we received on our 4 night stay. All room were suites with large bedrooms, small kitchen area, nice bath, and moderately sized sitting area. The breakfast, prepared on sight, was varied from fresh eggs prepared to order, bacon or sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, varied cereals. The lobby is huge and the area where breakfast is served is the largest I've seen in any hotel and is open for you to sit around and unwind after a long day. If we're ever in the area again we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Though an older hotel, the Barcelona Suites is still a very nice hotel with very nice rooms. The atmosphere is extremely pleasing. The breakfast is also different & it's nice to have freshly prepared eggs.
I was surprised when the desk tried to charge me an extra $10 for my 13 year old. Since I reported to Expedia that I was bringing a 13 year old, I felt that I should only pay the amount that was quoted to me. I informed the clerk that I was willing to inform his manager of this. After that, there were no further issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksanchezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Based on favorable Trip Advisor reviews and a good promotional rate for a 2 night stay, we spent two nights at Barcelona Suites in August 2012. We were immediately impressed by the huge lobby with beautiful stained glass and spacious seating areas. Complimentary coffee and a cold beverage (welcomed on a hot August day) were available in the lobby. A good hot made-to-order breakfast with eggs, hashbrowns, cereals, breads, waffkes, fruit, juice and a choice of sausage or bacon was served in a large open dining area. A feature in our suite that we liked was that the bathroom opened to the hall rather than off the bedroom The furniture was not new but in good condition. We also liked that you did not have to throw your towels on the floor to get fresh ones each day. We did not use the lovely indoor pool but saw several people enjoying it. The free garage parking had good security features. We definitely will stay here again when visiting Albuquerque.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks while conducting business. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Any requests i had were taken care of quickly. The rooms are huge, lots of space to spread out. Thanks to the Barcelona Suites for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdieball74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Barcelona Suites is a good value for the money. All rooms are suites with a small kitchen area. They have a free breakfast with bacon, potatoes, and real eggs prepared the way you want by a chef. Most places serve powdered eggs that taste like powdered eggs. The breadfast area is a large beautiful area surrounded by hundreds of tropical plants. It is in a quiet area of Alququerque but easy to get to. There is underground parking. We have stayed there several times in the past few years and we have never been disappointed with our stay

Room Tip: The place has central air conditioning instead of noisy window units that cycle on and off all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We "discovered" this hotel in a travel guide and were pleasantly suprised. Nice, clean, affordable
2-room suites with kitchen, microwave, and refrigerator.
The best part was the breakfast--great!!! Freshly prepared by an on-site cook. WAY better than the bagels/oatmeal deal you get at most big chains.
I would stay here again and were recommend to others.

The only drawback--no onsite fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 302traveler302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
#22 of 144 in Albuquerque
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#55 of 144 in Albuquerque
201 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Property: Barcelona Suites
Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-7009
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing