We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, only five miles from Balloon Festival Exit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albuquerque North Bernalillo KOA Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albuquerque North Bernalillo KOA Campground
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, only five miles from Balloon Festival Exit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We're here for the week of the Balloon Festival in October. We were lucky enough to get the last full hook-up when we registered seven months ago. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Sites are fine, but nothing outstanding. The campground has a nice gathering area in the center, and last night the hosts provided free dinner and live music for all campers as a camper appreciation event. It was a great evening, and unlike any other KOA where we've stayed. There are three different pet walk areas, but no large open area for running.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this KOA. The management were not friendly to my children, My kids were constantly watched like a hawk to make sure not one rock was not out of place. The pool is very small and the cafe is terribly overpriced. The grounds are kept up well, however we felt like we needed to keep our kids in the trailer the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemijdi, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a wonderful campground. They are located conveniently outside of Albuquerque near the Interstate for easy access south to town or north to Santa Fe. No one in my family was bothered by the highway noise. This is the cleanest facility in which I have ever camped. The restrooms are as spotless as is reasonably possible. There is a little store for forgotten necessaries, a pool, an outdoor movie theater, a breakfast cafe Thursday thru Sunday mornings, and a very clean laundry area. Dogs on leashes are welcomed and provided their own play area. There is even a great little fenced playground for the kiddies. My whole family felt welcomed and appreciated by the staff and the owners. I would return to this campground over and over.

Room Tip: If you can't camp, there are small sleeping cabins available. Bring a swimsuit. They have a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way to Mesa Verde. The staff is super nice and the facility is very clean. The pool is really well maintained, just get there early if you plan on using it. The pool closes about 7:30. I was a little disappointed about that, but did get a quick swim in before they locked it up. Nice quiet park close to shopping and the casino. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
443 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family of five spent three nights at this KOA recently. The campground is actually located a bit north of Albuquerque, in the town of Bernalillo. It's right in town, but traffic noise was non-existent. I did hear a neighborhood dog bark a lot when I left our cabin to use the restroom in the middle of the night. We ran both air conditioners in the cabin at night to drown out the outside noise, and that worked great.
The cabin we were in was a two-room cabin that sleeps up to six. It had a front porch with a swing, and was located fairly close to the restrooms. The front room had two sets of bunkbeds, and the back room a double bed. The back room also had a TV with cable channels, which the kids loved at night. My only complaint about the cabin (number 6) was that the campground sewer manhole cover was just a foot or two south of the front porch. Most of the time it was a non-issue, but our last night the wind must've been blowing just right and it smelled horrible. The smell lasted for a few hours and then went away. The cabin itself was extremely clean.
This KOA has a beautiful view of the Sandia mountains. The campground isn't very big, and the grounds were extremely well kept. I never saw any trash on the ground. There's a nice fountain in front of the main building, and a pretty (manmade) waterfall near the side of the building. The pool was great. It was partially covered by a sun shade, so you could swim in sun or shade. Very nice lounge chairs and patio chairs; they were all covered with soft cushions. My kids loved the unique playground, and spent a lot of time playing there.
We didn't eat at the campground cafe, but I've heard the breakfast burritos are really good. The cafe is cute, with an adobe oven inside. Some nights the campground shows movies in the stage near the cafe, and on those nights you can buy snacks and popcorn from the cafe.
The bathrooms were very clean. They require a code to get in. The bathrooms were not ever crowded during our stay (weeknights). Showers always had hot water.
I would absolutely stay at this KOA again.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid cabin #6 due to the sewer smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the North Bernalillo KOA Campground for three nights over the Memorial Day weekend. This campground is very well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. They have a cafe on site for breakfast (additional fee) and they even show a movie nightly outside under the stars on a big screen. We had a corner spot and had lots of room and a nice front porch area in front of our RV. The wireless worked great the first two days, but the third night it didn't work as well; I'm assuming because the park was packed for the holiday weekend. They had a playground for the kids and two fenced-in dog parks. Everyone that worked there was very friendly and helpful; they even escorted us to our camping spot upon arrival. They had a large, clean pool that we visited twice and the showers were clean and the water was hot. They also had a laundry room; we didn't use it but it looked nice as well. This is a great campground for couples and for families with kids and animals. Very nice facility; we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both stays. There is a small playground and a fenced dog area. The host is very visible around the campground, keeping an eye on things. WiFi works fine. Closest campground to the Balloon Fiesta. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albuquerque
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Alburquerque N - Bernalillo
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rio Rancho
Comfort Inn Rio Rancho
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#46 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Bernalillo
Days Inn Bernalillo
#2 of 4 in Bernalillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albuquerque North Bernalillo KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albuquerque North Bernalillo KOA Campground

Property: Albuquerque North Bernalillo KOA Campground
Address: 555 South Hill Road, Bernalillo, NM 87004, Albuquerque, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albuquerque North/Bernalillo KOA. On the road to Santa Fe, just north of Albuquerque, exit 240 North, 242 South or 550 East, is located a flower filled oasis where our helpful staff will make your stay a memorable one. We also added a BRAND NEW WiFi system that works great throughout the campground!The campground features a shaded pool (a rarity in the desert) just steps from your Kamping Kabin, tent site or RV pull thru. It's a terrific gathering spot for groups and families with an outdoor covered pavilion, NEW WiFi system, playground, volleyball, horseshoes, 2 dog parks, a book exchange, and video rental along with a great gift shop boasting Native American crafts, snacks, drinks, RV supplies and everyday essentials. Catch the new Rail Runner Express in Bernalillo only half a mile away (within walking distance) for train excursions to explore downtown Albuquerque, Santa Fe and Belen. The campground also offers easy access to the attractions of New Mexico's two largest cities, as well as to ancient Indian ruins (in Bernalillo), ghost towns, pueblos and all the beauty of the Southwest. Just head West on 550 to highway 4 to the Jemez village where you can swim in the soda damn, soak in the natural hot spring pots and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery New Mexico has to offer.We are the closest KOA to the World Famous International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta just 9 miles away. Every October the skies are filled with every color, size and shape of balloons. An amazing spectacle you’ll want to see. No car, that’s okay we have a free shuttle that will take you to the Santa Ana Casino where you can enjoy a fun filled evening of dining, bowling (kid friendly with arcade) and entertainment just minutes away. They will always pick you up for an exhilarating round of world famous golf. Feel like staying in, Pizza Hut and Dominos will always deliver to your campsite.On the weekends for your enjoyment free G/PG rated movies are shown in the grassy outdoor covered pavilion where you can purchase snacks and popcorn to add to your viewing pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albuquerque North Bernalillo Koa Campground Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing