We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time EVER!!!”

Private Balloon Flights
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Private Balloon Flights is an Accident Free balloon ride operator flying thousands of passengers in total safety and comfort. Don't fly with 10 to 12 people you don't know, enjoy a private basket just for your party, or a shared basket limited to no more than 6 passengers plus our pilot!
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was in Albuquerque for a business trip and was able to go for a balloon ride. I called 4 different companies and found that all were comperable in price. I ended up choosing private balloon flights for two reasons.. #1 they are accident free, a good selling feature in my opinion :) #2 they gave us free t-shirts, hats, pins, champagen flutes, and a postcard. My co-workers and I had an excellent experience. I would definitely go on another balloon flight and if possible I would absolutely choose "Private Balloon Flights" again. I would give it 10 stars if possible.

1  Thank Charpae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Bentley S, Manager at Private Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you! We are delighted that you had such a great experience! We never get tired of hearing that!

Other companies tend to have a ten to twenty dollar lower price, as they attempt to operate based on shear quantity. We focus more on the quality!

If a company's strongest attribute is their "LOW SELLING PRICE" over value, safety, and comfort, then those who shop ONLY to save a few bucks will end up settling for the alternative, rather than having the undisputed best and safest value in a hot air balloon flight experience available in Albuquerque!

Great educated consumers like yourselves are what make our jobs so fun and exciting!

Thank You again for selecting Private Balloon Flights!

Safe Travels & Soft Landings!

Captain Bentley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"balloon ride"
in 93 reviews
"captain al"
in 5 reviews
"post flight"
in 9 reviews
"smooth landing"
in 6 reviews
"rio grande"
in 26 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful flight"
in 5 reviews
"sunrise flight"
in 7 reviews
"hot air"
in 8 reviews
"balloon fiesta"
in 22 reviews
"ground crew"
in 6 reviews
"sandia mountains"
in 11 reviews
"new mexico"
in 18 reviews
"pam"
in 28 reviews
"basket"
in 45 reviews
"pilot"
in 152 reviews
"ballooning"
in 36 reviews
Filter

382 - 386 of 450 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped in Albuquerque on a family cross-country road trip, and I thought it would be an excellent opportunity for a ballon ride. After extensive research of the other companies in town, I choose Private Balloon Flights. One key reason was that they had no minimum age requirement for passengers, which meant my 4 & 7 year olds could ride. However, they also offered the best overall package and their customer service was friendly, courteous, and prompt. The day began by meeting in an easy to find parking lot at sunrise to fill out some paperwork, then we proceeded to a nearby park and watched the balloons inflate. We rode with Captain James, who took us up as high as 3500 feet. The entire trip felt safe and professional, and was a blast. The kids enjoyed peering out of the "windows" in the basket which we used ro climb in and out. After we landed, we helped pack the balloon, then drove back to the park for a short brief on the history of ballooning, a champagne toast and some pastries. I highly recommend Private Balloon Rides to anyone, particularly families with small children.

1  Thank Nsenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Bentley S, Manager at Private Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We love families with kids just as much as families and kids love balloons! While we do welcome families and kids of most ages, it IS important to note, that families with small children DO get private baskets, offering the more mature adult and senior couples the chance to share a basket with no small children!

Our private family baskets are perfectly suited for kids. As with many new experiences, children are sometimes shy and nervous. Having big scary strangers packed into a basket of 10-12 or more is no fun for them! We are happy to provide the BEST family balloon flight in Albuquerque!

Captain James being a family man himself, loves kids and enjoys meeting great guests such as yourselves! It was certainly our pleasure to provide this great memory that your family will cherish forever! Thank You for the opportunity to serve you!

Safe Travels, and Soft Landings!

Captain Bentley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I always wanted to go on a hot air balloon ride! Let's say it was on my list of things to do with my husband. Well, we got our wish and had a very memorable time up in the air. We selected Private Balloon Flights because they only fly up in relatively new balloons and equipment, pilots have almost 20 or more years of experience. Each person received several souvenirs from your flight, such as champagne glasses, T-shirt, hat, pin, and certificate. The ride was great although it was during a drought so not much color to see but certainly a wonderful experience. My husband assisted with setting up and taking down the balloon and I got some wonderful photos of him with the crew so definitely bring a camera so you can take pictures before lifting off, during your flight and landing. It was a very smooth flight and was worth going. I recommend Private Balloon Flights in Albuquerque if you want to experience a great time up in the air~

1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Bentley S, Manager at Private Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let other visitors know how you liked your Hot Air Balloon Adventure with Private Balloon Flights! It was our pleasure to take excellent care of you and your husband on your balloon flight! We look forward to the next time you visit Albuquerque, and the opportunity to take you flying with us once again!

Safe Travels, and Soft Landings!

Captain Bentley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This review is long overdue! We rode with Captain Bentley immediately prior to the Balloon Fiesta and had an amazing time. They have an impeccable safety history and great customer service. Thanks for such great memories!!!

2  Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Bentley S, Manager at Private Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We certainly appreciate your feed back! Thank you so much for still remembering us, and sharing your experience with us. Now, other future guests will know how great your balloon ride was!

We feel that an educated guest IS a happy guest! Folks who take the time to look at reviews like yours and contact each company to ask about what is included in their package, their fares, AND their accident history, will find ours to be the best available in Albuquerque. We will always take the time to answer a guests questions when they call, or visit our frequently asked questions page on our website.

Safe Travels, and Soft Landings!

Captain Bentley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I had always wanted to take a balloon ride and were planning to visit Albuquerque in June. We thought this would be the idea place for our experience. I did some research by calling several companies in the area that we found in our travel guide. After speaking with various operators and getting details on the itinerary, we found that Private Balloon Flights offered the best package. We didn't want to share a balloon with 10-12 people and decided to share one with four others plus the pilot. I spoke with Captain Bentley a few times on the phone to get details and directions and he was very helpful. On the day of our flight, we met Captain James and he allowed myself and another person to assist on the crew inflating the balloon. We lifted off with five people including James with Pam following in the chase vehicle. He had been flying over twenty years and seemed quite knowledgeable of the area. During the flight we took many pictures of the area below and of other balloons following us. We had a few wind shifts during the flight, but he was able to make the proper adjustments and we were finally able to land the balloon. After getting out of the basket, we helped Pam and James fold and pack the balloon into the van. We drove to a park where we had a champagne toast with the other balloon riders. We also had some pastries and doughnuts. Captain Bentley was there and told us how he became interested in ballooning and then forming his own company. We received our flight certificates, balloon pins, post cards, trading cards, our champagne flutes, t-shirts and a cap. We also were able to purchase other items from Pam and we opted for a refrigerator magnet. All in all, it was a great experience for our first time and Captain Bentley and his associates were the reason. We will definitely recommend Private Balloon Flights to our friends or anyone traveling in the Albuquerque area. They are the best!

Dave F.
Phoenixville, PA

Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Bentley S, Manager at Private Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you! We are also glad you chose Private Balloon Flights over the other "High Volume" operators in our area! Those who only hear the price, instead of listening to what all is included in our package think we are more expensive. When you take the other company's seemingly "LOWER" fare, then ask them how much extra their Souvenir T-Sirts cost, their hats cost, and their Real Crystal Champagne Flutes cost (if they don't use the plastic throw away cups), then add an average of $35 - $45 on to that "LOWER" fare, to bring their package closer to ours, you find we offer a MUCH GREATER value AND you will enjoy the more personal baskets!

Captain James and all of our Accident Free pilots average over 20 years, and thousands of hot air balloon flying hours! The pilots' and crew members' experience, allows first timers to participate in both inflation and deflation with no prior experience needed, and to feel as if they are right at home with all of our friendly balloon crews!

We try to inform and educate all guests on the history of ballooning, and share our individual experience with our guests in an attempt to add the more personal touch, as opposed to the "large corporate feel" of the other companies.

We Truly Appreciate Your Business!

Safe Travels, and Soft Landings!

Captain Bentley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Balloon Flights also viewed

 

Been to Private Balloon Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing