We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super fresh, super tasty.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura Sushi & Grill

Sakura Sushi & Grill
Ranked #242 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relatively new, offering Japanese and Korean food. Several Sakura restaurants in Albuquerque. this one is off Coors Road.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Super fresh, super tasty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sakura is a treat in the desert that delivers super fresh sushi. Their Lollipop roll is a super clean, light, fresh delight wrapped in cucumber. The Firecracker roll is outstanding and is a meal in itself, and the Lobster Tempura is a little treat that delivers healthy sushi along with a naughty little treat of tempura lobster chunks. All delivered in a warm, cozy atmosphere and a very competent and attentive staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToRV_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
232 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“More than just sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

For this dinnertime visit my wife and I decided to go Korean. She ordered the stone pot beef bibimbap, which was very tasty, and I went for the bulgogi, which was equally good. The portions are generous; the service at this family run restaurant is excellent; and the prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Japanese, Thai and Laotian Food in Albuquerque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sakura is a small, friendly and comfortable family owned restaurant offering some unusual ethnic choices along with an extensive sushi menu. The dishes can be made spicy or mild according to your preference. My wife and I had dinner there recently and everything was very good. The portions were generous so that we brought some food home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expectation high from reviews but generally let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friend and I went for an early lunch on a Tuesday. We were the first customers and the waitress was pleasant but not very knowledgeable about sushi. She was not sure what Maki was and despite my order, she never brought that one. My friend was very much into sashimi and told her so, but the special she brought only had half that were sashimi. Well, these were just the ordering issues, so how was the fish?

It tasted and looked fresh enough. But the pieces were rather narrow, certainly not what I'd call generous slices like the ones I've had in the East coast. Friend did like the fatty salmon; he ate only the fish leaving little islands of rice. Since other reviewers were talking a lot about the tiger rolls, we ordered one. It turned out it was the worst one: first, it was not spicy at all and second, it was topped with gooey spread of what looked like cheddar cheese. Not good.

It is surprising how many sushi places there are in an inland city like Albuquerque. Next time better luck.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 24parks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to try Sakura based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the sushi and the friendliness of the staff. We ordered the Love Boat that comes with a variety of sushi and sashimi. It was perfect size for two of us. My girls ordered the California Rolls and they really liked them. They did use imitation crab and mixed it with a little mayo which is different from what we usually get when we order that elsewhere. The cost was very reasonable compared to other sushi restaurants. At the end of the meal we were served ginger tea. That was a delightful surprise!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frodo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing