We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best BBQ in Albuquerque by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whole Hog Cafe

Whole Hog Cafe
Ranked #271 of 1,765 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ in Albuquerque by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have tried all the BBQ choices in Albuquerque, and by far this IS THE BEST one in town. BBQ is not a sauce, it is the way the meat is cooked (smoked to be exact) and this restaurant, while a franchise, does it right. I know the founder and have worked with the chain in St Louis that trained the founder. They have both won World Championships for a reason, the food is GREAT.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque nm
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Memphis BBQ is best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We tried the ribs and the sausage and give them two thumbs up. The cole slaw and potato salad are outstanding. Nice big piece of bread is included, too, and they have sweet tea. And what's not to love about having six different BBQ sauces on the table to choose from? So what if they don't offer 5-cheese mac & cheese and hotdogs,

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highdesert95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kids love the ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Don't know the whole [hog] story here, but there's plenty of news clippings and trophies inside and it appears to come out of Arkansas with one place in ABQ and one in Santa Fe. Fairly unpretentious, bright and airy. Fairly popular. You order at a front counter, next to the industrial smokers and a cord or more of wood; paper towel rolls on the tables with lots of sauces. Our kids beg to go here and we can get by with a full slab of their wonderful ribs, which comes with two sides and a couple pieces of Texas toast. The potato salad is the best I've tried. On Montgomery, east of Eubank, between Pelican's and a Sonic, on south side of the street.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bleicherblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, good prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our family of 6 ate for $60. The food was mouth watering delicious!!! 2 of us had the "platter" and the ribs were soooo nice..i could have eaten more! The brisket wastender and the pulled pork was fall off the bone so tender and juicy! The potato salad was creamy and very tasty, best i've ever had. The kids had nachos and although it was nice, it was quite spicy and they couldnt finish the plate due to the spice. We would reccommend this restaurant to anyone visiting or living in the area.!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussiegonggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BBQ doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

a newer cafe in the Arkansas Whole Hog chain....top of the line BBQ....i had pulled pork (my favorite sandwich) and my wife had a 4 pack ribs....everything was done perfectly...you get to choose from 8 different sauces to "drown" you food in...plus you can request the killer
hot sauce from the back room...cole slaw accompanies your choice of meat....this chain is my favorite restaurant and i wish they would open a restaurant in Tucson...the only draw back is that they do not offer a low sugar or sugar free BBQ sauce for us diabetes...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Hog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whole Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing