We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Elena Gallegos Park
Ranked #29 of 217 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visited the Elena Gallegos Park on the day of a full moon by accident, and it was absolutely stunning. We were transfixed, quite literally, as the moon made its daily ascent, the mountains ahead of us, and the expanse of the city behind us. It was absolutely stunning.

My only warning - the park closes at 9pm, and they CHAIN the GATES, so makes sure you leave before then. We made the mistake of staying too long (we were hypnotized by the moon), and were LOCKED INTO THE PARK! We ended up having to call 911 to get us out. So beware :o)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anooprerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    31
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hiking spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Clean, safe and easy to get to. I love to go there to hike. The fall and spring are best. The parking area is convenient.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizacat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pino Trail - a great hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

10 miles round trip from EG to the crest trail and back. Nice views, and plenty of shade after you leave the base to keep it a nice hike even on hot summer days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglaswski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hiking, even with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I live nearby and bring my 2 year old here for hikes with other moms/kids and with my husband. Because there is little shade, it gets very hot during the summer, so get there and out by 10am or so. Other times of year are better. Most of the paths start out on a fairly flat area, so easy going for kids. Just watch out for mountain bikers who can come tearing around corners!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 30andThrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questa, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely walk in town but feel miles away. Great pond and edcuational signs.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elena Gallegos Park also viewed

 

Been to Elena Gallegos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing