We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Ranked #104 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed November 8, 2009

if you want a nice, simple place to stay near the airport, I recommend Country Inn. I thought the room was very nice, good bed, quiet, simple, no frills, good price. Easy to find. However, if you don't have a car, no restaurants near except fast food. Nice staff, very helpful.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
Thank JTinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

This is a terrible hotel. When we first got there it was obvious this was not in a good neighborhood. Dogs were barking everywhere and the local homes had bars on the windows across the street. When we got in the lobby it looked ok. We asked for a room on the third floor - after all, we just needed a place to sleep for the night and we got a good price through Priceline on it. When we checked in the air conditioner didn't work. Back to the lobby. They sent us to the room across the hall. This one the air conditioner worked. We were very tired from a long drive so we pulled back the sheets and started to watch some TV. (On a very old TV set that looked like it was from the 1960's) All of a sudden I saw some critters walking across the bed sheets. I grabbed a tissue and got one of them. Blood spurted out all over the sheet. Yes - this was a bed bug! And, it had obviously been feeding on the visitor before us. I called down to the desk and they said they would check out another room for us. The room they sent us to this time smelled of smoke so bad we just about choked when we entered the room. At this point in time we decided to check out. We contacted Carlson's who owns the hotel chain. I can't say their concern or customer service was much better. We purchased this through Priceline and the hotel told us we would have to deal with them. Then after multiple phone calls, Carlson's agreed to send a refund check to us. It has been well over a week and still no check. So - we never used the room, had to pay extra for a better hotel on late notice, and are stuck with the bill. Very nice!

Beware of this hotel. IMO it is not clean, it is run down, the hotel staff could care less, and is full of bugs, (at least our room was) and should be rated 1 star at the best. No - it really should be shut down by the New Mexico board of health! Shame on you Carlson's for owning a hotel this bad in your chain.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank digitaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoadTraveler_9, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2009

The Hotel & Guest Rooms were inspected immediately by a Certified Specialist and no Bed Bugs were found.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Every time I go to Albuquerque with my husband, we stay at this hotel. This has been one of the best places I've ever stayed at. The hotel offers a continental breakfast where you can make your own waffles. The rooms are spaceous, comfortable and clean. There's free internet in the lobby and free wireless in the room. There's Burger King & Subway right next to the hotel at the corner of Gibson and Mulberry. And Fuddruckers is also pretty close. The hotel has a small pool and exercise room. It is very close to Kirtland Air Force Base. It's an awesome hotel and great value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahunt1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel was not clean, was not well run, and not in a safe neighborhood. Pulling onto the street the hotel is located on is a sign warning of tagging (graffiti)problems. That should have been the first clue. Then again the whole hotel property is fenced in.

The first room we were shown which was a suite had grout missing from areas of the floor. The second suite we took had a slow draining bath tub which despite repeated complaints never did get resolved over the four days we stayed there.

The breakfast bar was pathetic and never stocked properly. The help always seemed to be somewhere else.

I find it hard to believe Carlson properties lets this hotel still carry its flag. Maybe they don't come around often enough to see all the problems. Maybe someone tips off the hotel when they are going to be audited. In any case find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was put up here after another hotel in town had overbooked and did not honor my reservation. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was well-furnished and clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I was attending a conference at the Albuquerque convention center, which had shuttle service to the hotel I had booked, but not to this hotel. When the staff learned that I needed transportation to the convention center, they cheerfully offered me a ride in their shuttle (which they also use for free transportation to and from the airport). I would stay here again. I should note that its location is typical of that of an airport hotel: near the airport and off the interstate. You will need to drive or take a taxi to the tourist portions of town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnesota_Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Accomodations were usual nice and comfortable. The next morning breakfast was a disaster, it opened 30 minutes late, the attendants were inept at placing out the food, and they put out the absolute worst artificial eggs I have ever tried in my life.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Arriving at 2 a.m. we appreciated the easy checkin and speedy free internet connect in our room. The room was basic, clean (with one little disturbing quirk....a paper cleaning towel that the facility provided was spotted with someone else's soil) and comfortable. Towels were thick and sufficiently abundant. Our forgotten toothpaste was happily replaced by the hotel on request. Everything worked just fine. Nothing was luxurious or sumptuous and the bathroom was strictly functional but for a one night airport stay the place fit the bill. I also would like to note the decent buffet continental breakfast and the very accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#51 of 143 in Albuquerque
363 reviews
7.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel East
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Eas...
#106 of 143 in Albuquerque
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
#30 of 143 in Albuquerque
499 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn East
Rodeway Inn East
#77 of 143 in Albuquerque
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Airport Albuquerque InnSuites Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Address: 2601 Mulberry St SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-5223 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $38 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Inn and Suites Albuquerque Airport offers its guest easy access to the Albuquerque International Sunport and has a complimentary airport shuttle service. While staying at the top choice in Albuquerque airport hotels, rest assured you will enjoy a 100 percent smoke-free facility with convenient features such as complimentary breakfast, a seasonal heated pool, free Wi-Fi, a modern fitness center and flexible meeting space. Conveniently located just minutes from the University of New Mexico, Downtown Albuquerque, Isleta Amphitheater, and entertainment of Old Town Albuquerque, our downtown Albuquerque location has plenty to offer when you stay with us. TOP HOTEL FEATURES AND SERVICES Complimentary Airport Shuttle (5am - 10pm) Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary Wi-Fi Seasonal Outdoor Pool Fitness Center (6am - 10pm) Meeting Facilities Available (Can hold up to 15 people) 24 Hour Business Center Microwave / Mini Fridge In Room Guest Laundry 24-Hour Fro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Albuquerque Airport
Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Country Inn
Country Inn Albuquerque Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing