We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice folks, lousy sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Ranked #108 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Got in late around 2 am. Issued a handicapped room, bed was hard, pillows were hard, slept maybe 2 hours, showered and left. The bathroom was functional but the shower lacked pressure. Breakfast was open but filled with Baloon people sitting and talking all the tables were taken and nobody was eating just taking up space. The shuttle missed my appt and I had to ask more than once. Finally left. Won't ever be back. But the desk people were very nice. That didn't make up for the cost and perhaps I am a snob because I stay in so many nice hotels. This was like the most uncomfortable stay I've had in years

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Num1Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your recent experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for another chance in the future to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I travel to Albuquerque for work related occasions. I stayed at this hotel for close proximity to airport and highways. It was quite and clean hotel. Breakfast needs some improvement compared to others but I think for the low cost they seem to offer adequate breakfast. I was initially given a suite room in the ground floor, after I asked for a higher floor. They accommodated my immediately by moving me to third floor suite room. The room was naturally very spacious and adequate. There were few items that may need some update but on the overall I enjoyed my stay with a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aikeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While on a recent cross country trip we stayed at several Country Inns and this one did not disappoint us. As an independently owned hotel it has strived and obviously achieved the quality of service that one comes to expect of a Country Inn. Upon check in we were greeted by a young man, Manuel, who was very friendly and welcoming. His was very confident, friendly, and professional. Likewise for the morning clerk Amber, who chatted with us while we were waiting for the breakfast area to open. She even assisted us with locating other Country Inns along our trip. Also giving us a directory of accommodations for future trips. The room was comfortable and clean. The only complaint that I can find is that on the week-ends breakfast doesn't start until 7:00. Most other Inns we stayed at breakfast started at 6:00 - 6:30 and we were able to get an early start on the road. Breakfast was hot and breakfast staff very friendly. A nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebud58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travel through Albuquerque a few times each year, spending one night each visit. I've visited several moderately priced hotels and have for the most part enjoyed them. As I made reservations for my most recent trip, I noted the prices for my previous best-value hotel had continued to creep upward. While the hotel was ok, not great, it had no free breakfast - almost a deal breaker for us. On the other hand, it had a restaurant, so we could grab dinner after a 13 hour drive.

That said, I had rediscovered County Inn & Suites at two locations in Minnesota on a recent trip, so I explored it in Albuquerque. I found the nightly rate to be substantially less than my old girlfriends, but the rooms were more or less comparable. The location was very handy to the interstate and adjacent to a fast food restaurant.

The room itself was a slight step down from the best of moderate hotels, but actually typical of most of those in this caliber of hotel. The a/c unit was through-the-wall, without a wall thermostat. You can run the fan continuously or let it cycle on or off. The fan was energetic, so we chose to turn the unit off. Fortunately, the surrounding rooms were quiet and we were soon asleep.

The bedding was ok, but included a heavy quilted cover, leaving us with a choice of great warmth or just using a sheet to cover us. We used the sheet. I'll call this a toss-up in comparison to the growing trend of hotels to sandwich a blanket between a couple sheets. I don't like the sandwich approach, so the new hotel girlfriend is again a toss-up.

The powder room was fine, though there was one sink in the same room as the stool and shower. It was clean and plenty spacious. The shower was a bit of a problem. The water pressure in the shower is such that adjusting the spray pattern offered only two settings:

1. Full pressure is sufficient to cut steel.
2. If you can adjust the head sufficiently, you get to a setting that simply strips the paint off of steel.

This shower actually HURT! Oddly, the sink water pressure was not so bad.

We slept just fine, getting up early for the breakfast buffet. The selection of the buffet was ok with me - it had the fresh waffle maker, scrambled eggs, and sausage. My spouse had been looking forward to Frosted Flakes and a bagel. Sadly, the cereal selection included plain flakes and no bagels. The breakfast area was spotless and the service was outstanding.

The front desk folks were great at check-in and at check-out.

When I weigh it all, the new girlfriend, this hotel, will be at the top of my list as the standard of value when I compare her with my old girlfriends!

Room Tip: The parking lot is within a few feet of the first floor rooms on the east side of the hotel. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Would never stay here again...it was cheap..but you get what you pay for. If you have stayed at other Country Inn's you will be very disappointed..this place is nothing like any other Country Inn's we have stayed in..and we usually try to stay at all Country while on the road.
It was quiet and clean...no road noise. Nice desk, recliner. Small cube fridge set on the floor with a nice microwave on top with a coffee maker on top of the microwave...not very stable..could tip over. Nice atmosphere in the Lobby & Living Room.
Brkfst was awful..worst we have ever had at a Country Inn. Brkfst Room was stuffy. Oatmeal was the only thing fit to eat. 2% milk, orange juice and waffle batter was watered down. No yogurt...hard boiled eggs had black yolks and rusty colored whites.
I would never stay here again.
Toilet is so low to the floor..you can hardly get on and off it. If you are tall request a handicapped room.
Park at your own risk...iron fence all around the place...makes you think you are not in a very good neighborhood...the houses across the street looked fine to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We selected Country Inn because of the free shuttle service to the Balloon Park, and they came through. Although we missed the first shuttle, the second got us to the park by 5:30 a.m., with no traffic delays. The drivers were all good, and we used the paid service later in the day for some sight-seeing locations. The staff was very accomodating and when my daughter decided at the last minute to join us, they were very gracious about extra towels, etc. Very comfortable beds and very clean room. Breakfast was available at 4 a.m. and it was nicely served. Only negative - nothing but fast food available within walking distance for dinner, etc. but the shuttle (for a charge) could take you to better places - and pick you up. Also, the tv was a little complicated to use.

Room Tip: Although we faced the highway the noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsr1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We picked this hotel because it had a shuttle to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and free breakfast. They delivered on both! Many delicious choices were available at the breakfast buffet. The shuttle, while not perfect, was a thousand times better than trying to drive and park. We called each time we arrived at the shuttle stop to be sure it was in route. When we got into the shuttle in the evening, the staff wrote down our room number, name and cell phone number. When we returned, she crossed our info off. This way no one was left behind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Albuquerque - Gibson Blvd
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Albuquerque Airport
Super 8 Albuquerque Airport
#25 of 143 in Albuquerque
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
#30 of 143 in Albuquerque
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Address: 2601 Mulberry St SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-5223 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $53 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Inn and Suites Albuquerque Airport offers its guest easy access to the Albuquerque International Sunport and has a complimentary airport shuttle service. While staying at the top choice in Albuquerque airport hotels, rest assured you will enjoy a 100 percent smoke-free facility with convenient features such as complimentary breakfast, a seasonal heated pool, free Wi-Fi, a modern fitness center and flexible meeting space. Conveniently located just minutes from the University of New Mexico, Downtown Albuquerque, Isleta Amphitheater, and entertainment of Old Town Albuquerque, our downtown Albuquerque location has plenty to offer when you stay with us. TOP HOTEL FEATURES AND SERVICES Complimentary Airport Shuttle (5am - 10pm) Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary Wi-Fi Seasonal Outdoor Pool Fitness Center (6am - 10pm) Meeting Facilities Available (Can hold up to 15 people) 24 Hour Business Center Microwave / Mini Fridge In Room Guest Laundry 24-Hour Fro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Country Inn And Suites Albuquerque Airport
Albuquerque Country Inn
Country Inn Albuquerque Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing