We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
rochester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While on a recent cross country trip we stayed at several Country Inns and this one did not disappoint us. As an independently owned hotel it has strived and obviously achieved the quality of service that one comes to expect of a Country Inn. Upon check in we were greeted by a young man, Manuel, who was very friendly and welcoming. His was very confident, friendly, and professional. Likewise for the morning clerk Amber, who chatted with us while we were waiting for the breakfast area to open. She even assisted us with locating other Country Inns along our trip. Also giving us a directory of accommodations for future trips. The room was comfortable and clean. The only complaint that I can find is that on the week-ends breakfast doesn't start until 7:00. Most other Inns we stayed at breakfast started at 6:00 - 6:30 and we were able to get an early start on the road. Breakfast was hot and breakfast staff very friendly. A nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebud58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    49
    38
    29
See reviews for
78
59
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travel through Albuquerque a few times each year, spending one night each visit. I've visited several moderately priced hotels and have for the most part enjoyed them. As I made reservations for my most recent trip, I noted the prices for my previous best-value hotel had continued to creep upward. While the hotel was ok, not great, it had no free breakfast - almost a deal breaker for us. On the other hand, it had a restaurant, so we could grab dinner after a 13 hour drive.

That said, I had rediscovered County Inn & Suites at two locations in Minnesota on a recent trip, so I explored it in Albuquerque. I found the nightly rate to be substantially less than my old girlfriends, but the rooms were more or less comparable. The location was very handy to the interstate and adjacent to a fast food restaurant.

The room itself was a slight step down from the best of moderate hotels, but actually typical of most of those in this caliber of hotel. The a/c unit was through-the-wall, without a wall thermostat. You can run the fan continuously or let it cycle on or off. The fan was energetic, so we chose to turn the unit off. Fortunately, the surrounding rooms were quiet and we were soon asleep.

The bedding was ok, but included a heavy quilted cover, leaving us with a choice of great warmth or just using a sheet to cover us. We used the sheet. I'll call this a toss-up in comparison to the growing trend of hotels to sandwich a blanket between a couple sheets. I don't like the sandwich approach, so the new hotel girlfriend is again a toss-up.

The powder room was fine, though there was one sink in the same room as the stool and shower. It was clean and plenty spacious. The shower was a bit of a problem. The water pressure in the shower is such that adjusting the spray pattern offered only two settings:

1. Full pressure is sufficient to cut steel.
2. If you can adjust the head sufficiently, you get to a setting that simply strips the paint off of steel.

This shower actually HURT! Oddly, the sink water pressure was not so bad.

We slept just fine, getting up early for the breakfast buffet. The selection of the buffet was ok with me - it had the fresh waffle maker, scrambled eggs, and sausage. My spouse had been looking forward to Frosted Flakes and a bagel. Sadly, the cereal selection included plain flakes and no bagels. The breakfast area was spotless and the service was outstanding.

The front desk folks were great at check-in and at check-out.

When I weigh it all, the new girlfriend, this hotel, will be at the top of my list as the standard of value when I compare her with my old girlfriends!

Room Tip: The parking lot is within a few feet of the first floor rooms on the east side of the hotel. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Would never stay here again...it was cheap..but you get what you pay for. If you have stayed at other Country Inn's you will be very disappointed..this place is nothing like any other Country Inn's we have stayed in..and we usually try to stay at all Country while on the road.
It was quiet and clean...no road noise. Nice desk, recliner. Small cube fridge set on the floor with a nice microwave on top with a coffee maker on top of the microwave...not very stable..could tip over. Nice atmosphere in the Lobby & Living Room.
Brkfst was awful..worst we have ever had at a Country Inn. Brkfst Room was stuffy. Oatmeal was the only thing fit to eat. 2% milk, orange juice and waffle batter was watered down. No yogurt...hard boiled eggs had black yolks and rusty colored whites.
I would never stay here again.
Toilet is so low to the floor..you can hardly get on and off it. If you are tall request a handicapped room.
Park at your own risk...iron fence all around the place...makes you think you are not in a very good neighborhood...the houses across the street looked fine to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We selected Country Inn because of the free shuttle service to the Balloon Park, and they came through. Although we missed the first shuttle, the second got us to the park by 5:30 a.m., with no traffic delays. The drivers were all good, and we used the paid service later in the day for some sight-seeing locations. The staff was very accomodating and when my daughter decided at the last minute to join us, they were very gracious about extra towels, etc. Very comfortable beds and very clean room. Breakfast was available at 4 a.m. and it was nicely served. Only negative - nothing but fast food available within walking distance for dinner, etc. but the shuttle (for a charge) could take you to better places - and pick you up. Also, the tv was a little complicated to use.

Room Tip: Although we faced the highway the noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsr1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We picked this hotel because it had a shuttle to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and free breakfast. They delivered on both! Many delicious choices were available at the breakfast buffet. The shuttle, while not perfect, was a thousand times better than trying to drive and park. We called each time we arrived at the shuttle stop to be sure it was in route. When we got into the shuttle in the evening, the staff wrote down our room number, name and cell phone number. When we returned, she crossed our info off. This way no one was left behind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed there on Oct 5th excited about the Balloon Fest. We checked in and decided to take their shuttle to the activites. The front desk assured us we could call for pick up at anytime. Driver dropped us off and told us where to be picked up about every hour. Returned to our designated spot to find 30 other people that had been waiting for hours. Never saw our shuttle. Finally, late at night a caring volunteer school bus driver agreed to help us and took us back to hotel. No attempt or apologies from hotel to make it right.
We wont be coming back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the shuttle staff. We always want to make sure our guests receive the best service and we certainly apologize for failing to exceed your expectations during your recent stay. Please know we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in this future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable, pleasant. Had a little difficulty operating tv and the desk clerk came and fixed problem. Felt better than home! It is often hard to find such good service. Breakfast ws good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Sleep Inn Airport Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Super 8 Albuquerque Airport
#21 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunport
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Address: 2601 Mulberry St SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-5223 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Country Inn And Suites Albuquerque Airport
Albuquerque Country Inn
Country Inn Albuquerque Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing