We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
Ranked #77 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It was just okay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Quick overnight passing through New Mexico. We usually stay with Holiday Inn Express because we know what we're getting and they have everything we need while staying there. The rate was reasonable. The usual breakfast was not up to HI Express standards. The selection was bleak and what they had was not appealing. The room was fine but had an older hotel smell to it. When looking to stay in Albuquerque again we will pass on this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_traveling_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear The_traveling_1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
45
36
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed two nights in a suite room with 3 small children. We chose the suite over the other rooms because we needed a refrigerator. It also was large enough to fit a pack n play nicely next to the TV table and desk.
Pros: I loved that this is a smaller hotel. It didn't feel crowded at all (not balloon season). Staff was very friendly and helpful. The area seemed safe. It's conveniently located by the freeway. Breakfast was fine- typical Holiday Inn stuff- eggs, sausage, biscuits, yogurt, bagels, cereal etc. The room was clean and updated nicely. Beds were comfortable. The showers were fine- you can adjust the spray by turning the shower head. I didn't notice any squeaking as a previous reviewer noted. My kids liked the cookies they set out in the evening. Evenings were quiet. We were the only people in the pool on a weeknight.
Cons: Wifi is not great. It was really slow. The TV also didn't turn on all the time. I'm sure they would have fixed that if we had asked though. I didn't really like that the TV is set half way between the living area and the beds. It wasn't great for viewing from the couch or the beds because of that.
Overall: I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 109 is great if you have kids. It's on the main floor. It's right across from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NebraskaChick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Since my last review about this hotel there has been a wonderful change. Everything was great. The breakfast bar was outstanding and the whole staff was so nice and helpful. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxcar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now. It has good easy access. There is a convience store next door and fast food next to that. The breakfast is good, and the staff is friendly. My only complaints is the wifi sucks and only about half the tv channels come in clear.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for great review come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable though pillows were very hard. Breakfast adequate but not as much variety as in most HIE. There was no pancake maker, for instance. But that was ok. What I really hated was the shower. It had been refit with plastic that squeaked very loudly every time I moved. I pitied the people in the room below me.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower that has not been refit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear yearbook1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here during the balloon fiesta and the staff went out of their way to make the stay very enjoyable. There is a great vibe inside the hotel during this time and it shows with the staff as well. Nice pool area, rooms are average but clean. The walk to the balloon park is about 3/4 of a mile and it is faster to walk than sitting in your car waiting to park. I've been to the balloon fiesta three times and the traffic to get in is just horrible. You would think for the cities largest event of the year they would have better infrastructure getting in and out of the park. In the future I will stay at the Holiday Inn Express, even if the rates are much higher.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantfromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear grantfromcolorado, Thank you so much for staying at the Holiday Inn express Balloon Fiesta Park and for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you felt that there was a good atmosphere with the staff attitude and that you enjoyed our pool area and the cleanliness of our rooms. We work hard to offer our guest friendly and comfortable accomodation. We acknoledge and we are sorry to hear about all the problems with traffic during Balloon Fiesta, however it is a relief to know you could walk to the event from the hotel and still have a good time. We appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Lily H Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

You have to stay here if your going to go to the Balloon Fiesta in October, don't battle the traffic, stay here and walk, great staff, great breakfast, indoor pool, great rooms, JUST DO IT ... The staff are so friendly and helpful, this os the only place to stay in town .....BLAKE

Room Tip: Book early, and select a room over looking the Fiesta grounds ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nutcracker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nutcracker44, Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express at Balloon Fiesta Park and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff service, breakfast, indoor pool, and that you felt comfortable in our rooms. We are delighted to know that our location was a highlight of your stay since you could 'beat' traffic and walk to the Fiesta event from the hotel and then have a great time seeing the balloons. We will pass on your kind words to the staff and we are looking forward to see you back in our hotel very soon. Thank you! Lily H Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#52 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - North Albuquerque
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#59 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North
1.3 mi away
Pan American Inn & Suites
Pan American Inn & Suites
#87 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
Address: 5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque North-Balloon Fiesta Park was designed to provide a comfortable stay, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We take great pride in our property and our staff is dedicated to providing total guest satisfaction. We are minutes from the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Park and Sandia Casino, with easy access to Interstate 25. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Albuquerque, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing