We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel with good service & breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
Ranked #70 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service & breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at hotel to visit with family and friends. This hotel provided good service and a very good, hot breakfast. Had a very spacious king room across from elevator. Had no problem with any noise from elevator, just kids running down hallway in morning. I saw construction area, however they were not working when we were there from Thursday eve thru Saturday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
29
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the Christmas Holiday. Although the room was not cleaned on the holiday, the staff provided clean towels. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the lady at the breakfast buffet. The hotel is very comfortable and attractive. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was visiting friends in downtown Albuquerque, Rio Rancho and I had a court hearing in Santa Fe. This was the perfect location if you plan to hit all three areas since it is right off of the interstate. There was no noise from the interstate, but construction next door during the day was annoying.

My only complaint was that the tiny pillows are worthless to sleep on. Why do hotel properties use these?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were taking a balloon ride very early the next morning, so we chose this hotel for its location. We actually could walk to the offices of Rainbow Ryders (the balloon company) very easily from here. The first room we were given was right next to the elevator. After 2 seconds, we decided we needed a different room. The elevator actually shook the bed in the room and you could feel the vibration throughout the hallway. The second room we were given was as far away from the elevator as you could get. However, the bed itself was extremely old. An update of the mattress is way overdue. We were planning on staying 2 nights in this hotel, but only stayed for 1 due to not getting any sleep. You get what you pay for though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidlspicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got off to a bad start on arrival Oct 7. I had booked our room for 5 nights a couple months in advance, but silly me, I didn't read the fine print so was surprised when they charged my credit card for the full 5 nights on Sept. 5. And was even more surprised when we checked in and said we wanted to stay only 3 nights, and they said too bad, no refunds. I've never experienced such a policy before. And just now, when I was going over my credit card bill, I found a charge of $15.17 the day after we left. I tracked down their phone number and spoke to someone who said she'd reverse the charge. In between, though, we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was generous with an awesome pancake-making machine, and it was fun to see the balloons from the breakfast room on the mornings we didn't go out early. Our room was fine. Except for the front desk clerk on duty when we arrived, everyone was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy90403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was pretty nice and comfy. We stayed for 5 days during the International Hot Air Balloon Festival. The hotel is close to the Sandia Peak/Tram and Sandia casino. It was also very easy to get around from the hotel. The cleaning staff was friendly and we had no problems with our room. The hotel in general was clean and cozy. The front desk staff was friendly as well and they had daily drawings to win Balloon stuff. The price was decent, but was probably higher because of the festival. Wouldn't normally pay over $200 for an Express. All in all it was a great and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Save your money on the suite unless you have a family staying with you. The suites make the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameziemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this hotel 12 months in advance for the duration of the balloon fiesta. At the time it was rating well on tripadvisor which when combined with the location and the very helpful manager made it seem like a good choice. Imagine my distress when a week before my stay there were three poor reviews of the hotel suggesting that the quality had slipped. As I was locked in I had no choice but to go ahead.
I was pleasantly surprised to find none of the negative aspects mentioned in those reviews. The reception staff were attentive and friendly. The room was clean, very comfortable, well appointed and better than many of this standard I have stayed in ( I should say that if you want a giant bathroom then pay the extra to stay in a top end hotel). Initially it appeared my fridge wasn't working as reported by other reviewers but once I plugged it in it functioned perfectly for the duration of my stay. The housekeeping (and hotel cleaning in general) was excellent. Breakfast was varied, plentiful, kept topped up and (where appropriate) hot. The breakfast staff kept the tables clean and removed the rubbish regularly. They were also extremely pleasant while performing what must be a difficult job dealing with demanding guests. The hot tub was hot and the pool was heated but not overly so. Both were clean. There were towels specifically for the pool area to avoid having to use your bath towels.
The only downside was the ethernet connection for the internet didn't work but the wireless worked fine so was no big deal.
We requested, and were allocated, a top floor room overlooking the Fiesta Park so we could wake up in the morning and watch the launch or the evening fireworks from our room. When we chose to go to the field it was literally a 22 minute walk to the gate.
In summary, if you are attending the Balloon Fiesta this hotel can't be beaten (get a room on 3rd floor with an even number!). If you are just passing through Albuquerque looking for a hotel it will give you a great stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque North
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - North Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#57 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
Address: 5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque North-Balloon Fiesta Park was designed to provide a comfortable stay, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We take great pride in our property and our staff is dedicated to providing total guest satisfaction. We are minutes from the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Park and Sandia Casino, with easy access to Interstate 25. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Albuquerque, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing