We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Balloon Fiesta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed October 14, 2007

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last weekend for the Balloon Fiesta, and it was a great choice! We had two rooms during our stay (king handicapped and two regular queens), and both were clean. The bathroom in the queens room was really small; we had to squeeze in just for the door to close, and we're not big people. The queens room faced the Fiesta park, so we saw a mass ascension from our room! The location was great; we walked the mile to/from the Balloon Fiesta Park for the events and were glad that there were cops around directing traffic in the early morning or at night since there weren't any street lights along the roads. The complimentary breakfast buffet was ok; there weren't as many items as we've seen at other hotels, but they do have those delicious cinnamon buns! Service was very good. This hotel definitely knows how to handle the crowds, unlike the Staybridge Suites down the street.

My one complaint is that we were bumped from our room choice on the first night to accommodate the number of people in town for the Balloon Fiesta since we had two reservations - one using points and another that paid for the room. We understood the reason, but it was a bit annoying since we had to switch rooms after the first night. We had purposely booked the same type of room for both reservations since we wanted to avoid that.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sam364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

This Holiday Inn Express is in a convenient location near the freeway, but not in the congestion of the downtown area.
Bathroom was small, but useable. The bath mirror had a dirty splotch on it which looked like it could have easily been cleaned. The bathroom caulk was sloppy and ugly at the tub, toilet and the sink countertop. There was a tacky access hatch in the bathroom ceiling. We could not move the shower curtain out of the way of the toilet. The office chair was wobbly, and the 2 treadmills in the fitness room were in poor, barely useable condition. Housekeeping was very slow. People were waiting in the lobby for their rooms to be cleaned from before 3PM until at least 4PM. It was on a weekend, so maybe they were short-handed, but an inconvenience for guests anyway.
On the bright side, our room had a quiet refrigerator, a micro, easy chair, sofa and tables. The breakfast bar had cook your own waffles with chopped pecans and strawberry topping available.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

The room was large and roomy however the bathroom was tight and the bath tub 'squeaked" when you stood in it. And I only weight 153 pounds. Wonder what the folks down below thought? There was plenty of coffee and a frig. Breakfast was adequate with cereal and hard boiled eggs, sweet rolls, fruit cups, coffee, milk and juice. We were close to the freeway but there was no noise. One downside/upside was that they had LARGE security lights that helped protect your car but you had to work to block out the light from your room. My wife said a plus was the ability to walk to the balloon park museum. My plus is the cheapest gas was next door at $3.15.99 about 4 cents cheaper then anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Epags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

I was looking for a basic motel for only one night, a little bit north away from the airport and downtown; and one that had an indoor pool and free breakfast. Booked this hotel because using the Entertainment card, the price came to only $56.

Took maybe 20 minutes to get there from the airport, great central location, I felt, to Old Town, casino, tram, etc.

Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised from the moment we entered the lobby. Beautiful and clean inside. The young girl at the front desk during check-in was rather rude, but a different staff the next day at check-out couldn't be nicer.

Not only was the lobby more than basic, but so was the room. Nicely appointed with quality bedding and GREAT pillows. Pool area and deluxe continental breakfast were average. Coffee was really good though.

Our toilet was blocked twice. The first time, it took a bit too long for maintenance to arrive; the second time (the next day) was a holiday and I was told by a housekeeper that maintenance was "off", so I asked for a plunger and did it myself.

Still, I would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Balloon Fiesta Park for the 2006 Balloon Fiesta (October 6 and 7, 2006). Our room was a king suite, non-smoking with a sofa and fridge/micro. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Staff was excellent. Very welcoming. Room was above average for a holiday inn. Despite our room facing the parking lot, it was still quiet, considering all the activity in the area. Manager's reception was held both evenings we were there to celebrate the Balloon Fiesta. Extensive continental breakfast (which started early) to accomodate Balloon Fiesta attendees. This hotel is the closest to the Balloon Fiesta park. We walked (made a couple of trips each day) in order to avoid all the parking hassles. Felt completely safe walking on the sidewalks to the Park. It is a bit of a distance, but take your time and you will be fine. We highly recommend this hotel for service and location. The only downside is there is not much else around the hotel (a convenience store and Carl's Jr. fast food place). Eat at the Balloon Fiesta or hotel receptions/breakfast. Not many other options in the area within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

This is a quiet clean place to rest. The staff was friendly, accomodating and receptive. I would suggest staying here for families as well as business travellers. Don't expect a happening nightlife or fancy restaurants in the neighborhood. The surrounding area is architecturally sterile and north of the city, but very easily accessed. There is a grocery store nearby. Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast bar included hard boiled egs, waffles and fruit. The bed linens were very clean and comfortable. If you need a clean, restful, efficient place to stay then this is a good one.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank urbanberber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

We are a family traveling with 2 young children - 4 and 6. My requirements are usually fulfilled by Holiday Inn Express - a reasonably priced ($70 - $100 IMHO) clean room with two queen beds, morning breakfast, and an indoor pool (depending on the season an outdoor is acceptable). In addition to my basic requirements, this Holiday Inn had a suite layout with a sofa and coffee table including a kitchenette with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a sink. It is located close to the freeway (noise was not an issue) and about 15 minutes away from old town, the aquarium, zoo, and museums. The small negatives - the bathroom space was tight - you had to open the door squeeze in (hitting the toilet paper holder) to be able to close the door. Lastly, they neglected to refresh the pool towels for an early morning swim (luckily I had brought my own). There was no view from our room except of the gas station next door but we did use it for its convenience store. There is a Carl's Junior next to the gas station and tons of upper scale chain restaurants within a 5 minute drive. Overall I give this Hotel/Motel an above average rating due to the fair price and convenient accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zinfandelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#44 of 143 in Albuquerque
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque North
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#65 of 143 in Albuquerque
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - North Albuquerque
1.2 mi away
Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park

Address: 5401 Alameda Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $105 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque North-Balloon Fiesta Park was designed to provide a comfortable stay, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We take great pride in our property and our staff is dedicated to providing total guest satisfaction. We are minutes from the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Park and Sandia Casino, with easy access to Interstate 25. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Albuquerque, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Balloon Fiesta Park Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing