We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron Tiger

Saffron Tiger
Ranked #732 of 1,765 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was the express, it was good, but could have used some more spice. Very fast and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“we love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

On the outskirts of Abq. and in a crummy looking shopping center, the restaurant may be a little hard to find, but very well worth a try. Indoor appointments are nice. The menu is varied and the Indian hot is really hot! Try the buffet midday. Nice selection of beer and wine. Good service and price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Low-Cost Indian Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and variety of food available at this Indian buffet restaurant. I was looking for an alternative to "strip mall fast food" when I stayed in Albuquerque recently, and the Saffron Tiger fit the bill perfectly, without breaking the bank!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank W_C_B_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
457 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Cafeteria-style Indian fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love good Indian food and decided to try the Saffron Tiger for dinner one eve, but we were simply not impressed with the food or the service.

As we entered the restaurant - which was not at all busy on a Saturday night for dinner - we got in line behind a couple who were serving food from what looked like the buffet line onto their paper plates. The one staff member behind the counter was assisting another diner with carry out. Cooks milled about checking hot food bins, but we were never acknowledged by any of them. Behind us two Indian gentlemen walked in right up to the front of the line and starting conversing with the staff member, who assisted them with their very large order to dine in with their families. Hot food bins were only fairly labeled, and since the staff member was busy with the other diners, we had to guess what was actually in each hot food bin besides the title of the entree.

When we finally got to the checkout, we told the staff member what we had had and that it was our first time in the restaurant, and were promptly told that she (staff) was supposed to serve us if we were not eating the all-you-can-eat dinner, which we were not. We told her we did not know that - this was not stated anywhere we saw on the menu board - but she said it was fine and rang up our order. In total we waited in the cafeteria line about 15-20 minutes between waiting for the kitchen to finish cooking one of the entrees we wanted to try and the one staff member assisting the other diners who walked in after us but went to the front of the line. Most of the hot food bins were not full and looked as though they had been sitting for awhile.

Food was okay; not great, not horrible. Service was not attentive or helpful. Signage was confusing. We found a huge sign at the drink station area located near the restrooms AFTER you purchased your food in the cafeteria line which listed how to order Indian meals, what items went with what, etc. Just confusing if you've never eaten here before, or eaten Indian food before.

Bottom line: We will probably not eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveMoreWorkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unappealing Leftovers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was disappointed again by the lack of flavor, spices, and presentation. The food offered in the buffet looked as if it had been sitting there for several hours. There was a good variety of choices, however, they looked more like leftovers from the day before. The temperature of the hot foods was not very hot, and the cold foods weren't very cold. Most of the food trays had scant amounts of food;(not very appetizing), and there were only two dried out pieces of Naan bread available when we went to make our selections. I acknowledge that we went there during "off hours", but that is not a valid excuse for sub-par food. It would be better to offer less variety that's piping hot and fresh, than insulting the patrons of this establishment with buffet style leftovers. Also: the vegetable samosas didn't have any filling, the rice pudding was very watery and the gulab jamen was bathing in a filmy, saturated syrup. There did not seem to be any chutneys available.The condiments, including the yogurt sauce and assorted chopped veggies, were sitting uncovered next to a very warm soda machine. This was my third attempt at this establishment. I am sorry to say that I have been disappointed each time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lugubrious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Tiger also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing