We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, sunsets, low key, easy to converse...romantic!”
Review of Apothecary Lounge

Apothecary Lounge
Ranked #38 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Apothecary Lounge is Albuquerque's ultimate rooftop bar and patio, offering breathtaking panoramic views of the mountains, downtown skyline and New Mexico’s famous sunsets. Gather with friends or park yourself in one of the bar’s creatively designed secluded spaces for a quiet conversation.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View, sunsets, low key, easy to converse...romantic!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

So the wine is over priced (most are $10.00/glass, 36.00/bottle) but nice to imbibe with a drink while enjoying the views. Tapas were ok, not bad but both of ours were too complicated. Although the ingredients were excellent..they had too many ingredients to distinguish the flavors. We had the Ahi Tuna that was so packed with other ingredients I ended up taking the perfectly prepared Ahi Tuna out of the mix in order to savor (taste!) the delicate flavor on its own. Otherwise you cant taste it as its overpowered by the wasabi, black bean purée, avocado and ...whatever. Same with the flat bread which had about 5 distinct flavorful items. Blending all those ingredients together meant no flavor 'pop' on the palate..good but not the 'wow' it could have been with maybe three complimentary tastes. Ok, i'm a food snob maybe BUT I give credit to the chef for trying hard; but the "fusion" is off. And prices right IF flavor had some fusion that enhanced flavor and not overpower each other. I would go again to sit with friends for 'A' drink but would drink and eat dinner elsewhere. But do go and enjoy the special views!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StPaulyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    72
    32
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One star for the partial view”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Another example of misleading hype. Some reviewers talk about the view from this rooftop lounge, but the view is only good looking west, since the building is virtually on the freeway, exposed to all its traffic, noise and pollution. Prices are on the high side - about $10 for a glass of wine and $12 for a skimpy order of calamary (mostly garlic). I ordered a caipirinha, supposedly made with Brazilian liquor, but I believe they forgot to put the liquor in it. Also, according to our server, it took a long time for our food to arrive because another server took it to her customer.

We are definitely not going back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VMZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wine, light fare, wonderful atmosphere, great service, clean, safe, upscale and to die for dates wrapped in bacon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was really excited when this lounge opened. Albuquerque does not have a lot of nice lounges (mostly there are bars/hangouts). I've had good drinks and tasty appetizers, but service is slow and it is pricey for Albuquerque. On the plus side, parking is readily available. I have been there about ten times. Usually a good/good+ experience; one time it was excellent; and, tonight it was horrible! After my friend and I had been there for 20 minutes, the bar was taken over by an event, the speaker shouted over a microphone, there had been NO notice that anything like this would be happening. After calmly registering displeasure with our waitress she had the manager talk to us and, unbelievably, he just said, well they booked it. No apology, no acknowledgement that we should have been alerted to the event. It was incredibly noisy and not at all a lounge atmosphere. Bottom line, going here is a crap shoot regarding service and ambience but price is always high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evi3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Views, Average Decor, Slow Service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hotel Parq Central rooftop view is striking, making up for the stark and somewhat uncomfortable furnishing. The service was quite slow, perhaps because they only had one wait person for a full lounge. She clearly was overworked, though she remained professional throughout. The drinks were typical upscale bar fare - nothing special but satisfactory.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlbuquerqueD_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apothecary Lounge also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Apothecary Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing