We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, it's not.”
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Elegant, it's not.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place does a lot of convention business and maybe it's great for that. I found it large and impersonal and was disappointed in a number of ways.

When I checked in, the clerk said I could upgrade to the "Tower" for $20 and get a nicer, quieter room. The "Tower" turned out to be five stories high and the room was very ordinary. It was quiet -- the tower was fairly empty. The room was not particularly spacious --- I kind of feel like I got conned.

The restaurant area was gigantic and cavernous - and I had a coupon for two free drinks so I ate in the bar. Most people seemed to prefer the bar -- there was more people than in the restaurant. Service was indifferent, the chairs were uncomfortable, atmosphere was nothing, but the food was decent.

You do get a free breakfast and they have a staff person who will cook you an omelet. Unfortunately, the staff person was no cook and the omelet was sub-par -- overcooked on the outside and undercooked on the inside. I would have liked to toast an English muffin, but they seemed to be gone.

Room Tip: I would not pay extra for the "Tower." Actually, I'd stay somewhere else. I have wri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devideviq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    116
    78
    71
    60
See reviews for
105
82
29
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I loved this hotel. The rooms where really clean and the workers where friendly. The pool was nice, Even breakfast was overall good. The only thing I didnt like was in our room, it seemed like the toilet was going to over flow every time we flushed it, And we had to hold the handle down for a few minutes until it flushed... But other then that, it was a great place to stay. We will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this Hotel many times. It is always our 1st choice when we stay in Albuquerque. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are fabulous. The breakfast that you get with your stay is amazing! Not only do the have the usual bagels, danish, cereal and yogurt that most hotels give you but they also have a hot buffet that includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon,biscuits, gravy and oatmeal. BUT even better - someone will custom make an omelet for you while you wait! Our most recent stay was in January and it had been almost a year since our previous stay - the gentleman that is in charge of the breakfast area remembered us! We will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: The only recommendation I have is to not stay near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelholly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Luz, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the night prior to checking my cancer patient sister into the hospital and returned for the next three nights. The staff were courteous and helpful, giving me the same room four nights in a row as our departure plans were repeatedly delayed. The hotel atmosphere was lovely. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was great when I got the chance to eat there. I'm planning on returning in a few days as we continue getting my sister the care she needs two hundred miles away from our small town. Not my favorite part of Albuquerque, but close to the hospitals.

Room Tip: Just tell the desk what you are looking for. For me it was a handicapped room/minimal walking. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I checked into this hotel for a conference that I had to attend. After the 7hr trip to get there from my residence, weary, and road beaten -- I was comforted and welcomed by what I have to consider one of the best host of staff in a hotel (in this price range) ever. The check in process was simple, the staff more that cheerful and polite (especially Dominica), and the rooms comfortable and accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ssbanks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you want to feel like royalty, then stay at the MCM. Everyone from the front desk staff, shuttle operators, restaurant staff, bar staff, and management are friendly and helpful. We loved it there during our 2 week stay in December, and can't wait to visit again. This establisment really means it, when they say they want to earn your repeat business!
Dave and Julie

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Front Office Manager at MCM Elegante Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you Dave and Julie. It was a pleasure having you as guests for your two week vacation in December and I am glad we able to help make it a memorable one. We look forward to you coming back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here in Jan of 2014 and it was ok. Not what we were expecting for upscale hotel it claimed to be. The night desk clerk must have been having a rough night because he was rude and made me feel like I was being a hindrance to whatever he was working on. The hotel smelled like smoke, and kinda outdated but the bed was really comfortable and the room clean. The breakfast was alright. Your average continental breakfast. Overall this place is not to terrible for an overnight stay but definitely not worth the price,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coreyp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Front Office Manager at MCM Elegante Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. First I would like to offer a sincere apology for the initial experience and lack of customer service received by the Front Desk Agent. This is unacceptable as providing the highest level of guest service is something we strive to do for all of our guests. This encounter will be used as a training tool to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you will stay with us again if you travels bring you back to Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#87 of 144 in Albuquerque
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
#66 of 144 in Albuquerque
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#55 of 144 in Albuquerque
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel

Property: MCM Elegante Hotel
Address: 2020 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1715 (Formerly Holiday Inn Mountain View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MCM Elegante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Elegante Albuquerque
Hotel Mcm Elegante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing