We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Commandments, Dell Censorship and Pay-Per-View Porn”
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel
Ranked #78 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed December 9, 2013

They have the Ten Commandments on the front stoop. Wow. This place is ok as far as services and the rooms go, although the temperature regulation is kind of iffy and the heater is rather loud at night but the internet is the weirdest thing. It says you have excellent strength but it runs slow as molasses. The reason is that they are censoring every site you click on. I get emails from Victoria's Secret because I ordered a few things from them for my wife. When I tried to follow a link in their ad, I reached a screen from Dell that proclaimed "FORBIDDEN CONTENT: SWIMWEAR, INTIMATE APPAREL" Then I turned on the television and there was a HBO special on the life of a porn star, with full frontal nudity and sexual activities right there. Plus I could buy "Adult" content if I wanted to. So, the MCM Elegante Thought Police are really trying to get people to buy the pay-per-view porn. Won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for MCM Elegante Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 447 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Overall our stay at the MCM Elegante was one of the best in the albq area! It was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable! The breakfast was amazing! The staff was excellent, very nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meme1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here while I was in town for work, as this is the hotel my employer uses. The room was very cozy, and the bed was comfortable. The furniture in the room was in good condition, but the lighting could have been a little brighter. The bathroom was clean, and the water heated quickly in the shower. I stayed in the VIP Towers, and my room was convenient to the parking lot and the restaurant. The restaurant provided the most delicious buffet breakfast, and I was very pleased with that. The front desk staff was friendly, and they held items for me that I was leaving for my boss. They also printed the boarding passes for my flight the next morning at no charge. They have a complimentary shuttle service that has several stops, but I did not use it since I had a rental car. If you want to see the locations where they filmed "Breaking Bad," the hotel is also convenient to many of those locations. I will be staying here again when I'm in town for business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgirl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our Road Scholar group stayed here during the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. Great service from the Staff setting up our buffet meals. Buffet breakfast is really good with the cook making omelets, or eggs however you want them. We received a coupon for two drinks a day at the
hotel bar, a very nice extra.
Excellent Shuttle Service to take you to various places in the area.

Plus, some of the Navajo Code Talkers of WWII were staying there. What a great treat meeting these true war heroes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENKDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I conduct business in Albuquerque about 6 months of the year, and always stay at the MCM Elegante. The staff and facilities are unmatched. Keep up the fantastic service. This hotel is more like a home. Love it!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank jdieball74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here Tuesday through Friday to be near the University of New Mexico Hospital, I was pretty surprised how completely this hotel failed on so many levels. Really bad Wi-Fi connectivity, rooms are out of date (tired) with things like the tub area cracked and shower curtain rod mount broken/cracked. While in the shower the water temp fluctuated to the point where at one point I was enjoying the water temperature and the next moment I am getting scalded with what feels like boiling water then it would go back to the regular water temp (maybe 10 seconds later). Hard to enjoy a shower under these circumstances! The free buffet breakfast was pretty bad (the fruit salad had they offer had the texture of wax), when all I wanted was some fruit and cereal... TV channel list in the room was really poor, the hotel has DirecTV but in the rooms the channel options were so limited I ended up turning the TV off and decided to read a book. Thursday night there was an NFL game (Seahawks and Cardinals) and I couldn't watch it because the NFL Channel was not available. I used the workout room where there are two treadmills and two elliptical machines. One day I went in there and the room was 75 degrees, a maintenance guy was in there replacing a light bulb I asked if he could turn the air conditioner temp down a little and he said he would see. I was in there for an hour, he never returned. Nothing like a small stuffy room to work out in, the outdoor temperature was 60 degrees, FYI. Stephanie at the front desk was very sweet and kind, and then on another visit to the front desk I got the impression I was a burden for asking where the nearest grocery store was... I had dinner at the bar one night, there were maybe 5 people total at the bar and I couldn't get the attention of the bartender to save my life, he was a nice guy but he was seriously lacking training, as were many of the employees I came across. Then there are the cards they leave in the bedroom and bathroom saying they are a green property and if you would like to share with them in protecting the environment by not requiring fresh sheets please hang the towels back on the towel rack, towels on the floor would be replaced. The problem with this program is the toilets still use 15 gallon tanks, they are old toilets (very noisy) that are water guzzlers. The shower wastes water like nobody’s business, but hey we're a green hotel... This place needs a complete overhaul, staff needs hospitality training. Clearly this hotel needs a new leader (GM)... Nothing to see here, move along!

Room Tip: Ask for an area where the WiFi signal is strong, that is if you decide to stay here... There has got...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZGBillW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia F, General Manager at MCM Elegante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and bringing your situation to our attention. We have an ongoing program to continue to offer excellent service to our guests and your comments are important to us in carrying out that effort.

I would like to apologize for the disappointment you incurred during your stay with us. We are currently addressing all of the issues you have mentioned. The new WiFi will be installed in the next 3 weeks, we currently have On Command as our TV provider, Direct TV will be installed in the next couple of months, new shower valves as well. I have discussed these issues with the appropriate departments, to ensure this does not occur again.

While it is our goal to create a perfect guest experience, we know that even our best efforts will sometimes fall short of this goal. We realize that only a full commitment to offer the best personal service of every guest will ensure our success.

We hope that you will come back to stay with us and give us another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable night’s stay. Please call me directly to book your reservation.

Sincerely,
Cynthia Fresquez
GM
MCM Elegante Hotel
505-884-2511

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here 8 days during Balloon Fiesta and had a nice room. Our bed was very comfortable and we were located in a quiet area. During Fiesta, the breakfast, which is fantastic, was served earlier so pilots, crew members, and tourists could leave for the balloon park. It's easy to access I-25 and I-40 from this hotel. The staff was very friendly and informative. The bathroom is rather small and there is little space for toiletries are my only disappointments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south end; the west side is close to I-40 and is noisier.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
#66 of 144 in Albuquerque
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel

Address: 2020 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1715 (Formerly Holiday Inn Mountain View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $87 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MCM Elegante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Elegante Albuquerque
Hotel Mcm Elegante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing