We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel With Friendly Staff”
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel
Ranked #78 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the MCM to attend the Balloon Fiesta and we are so glad we picked this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed information. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom could us more counter space, no room to place toiletries while in the bathroom. Breakfast was great, a very nice selection of items to choose from. We ate lunch in the dining room as well and the food was tasty. Albert was a fantastic waiter, he was so eager to provide great service and was a joy to talk to, what a great ambassador of customer service for MCM. The shuttle drivers were always pleasant and not only shuttled to and from the airport but would also take you within a 5 mile radius of the hotel which included the park and ride for the balloon fiesta. What a helpful service, just one more example of how MCM is going the extra mile to please their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisequeenMcAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for MCM Elegante Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in this hotel for 8 days recently.

This is a pretty old hotel. I stayed here in the 70's when it was a Holiday Inn. It wasn't new then. It has been pretty well kept up but has the usual old hotel warts. Outdated bathrooms where the water for the shower would, without warning, get very hot. The toilet was very loud when flushing. The carpet is old and you can see light all around the door. The A/C unit is also loud as is usual with many of the hotel units. The free wifi is unusable. In 8 days I was rarely able to connect and when connect the system was to slow to do anything. The GM told me that they were installing new service and assured me that this would improve dramatically. We'll see.

The good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is about as good as anywhere I have stayed. Fresh made omelets along with fruit and the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits/gravy, cereals, and other. They also have a nice bar with drink specials (2 free per night). The restaurant is good. The rooms have very good bedding and flat screen TV's.

I stay here year after year because it serves my needs and is a good social gathering place. For the price, I can't do better in Albuquerque.

Room Tip: They have a newer wing. I would try to book a room with a number with the last 2 numbers 85 or high...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has it all if you're looking for a place to stay! The breakfast served was quite enjoyable complete with an omelet station! I didn't eat in the restaurant but it is right within the hotel grounds. The lounge was friendly with specials during the week. We enjoyed the complimentary driver service which would take you anywhere within a 5 mile limit and come pick you up for your return trip. This enabled us to visit a local micro-brewery! The rooms are clean and the bed was comfy. Not high end, but nice. Staff went above and beyond to assist. Made our weekend at the Balloon Festival outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chollabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The MCM Elegante in Albuquerque is a fine place to stay in this area. The staff and management are very guest service oriented and open to accommodating special requests regarding rooms or shuttle services. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished, with high quality linens. The lounge is pleasant and the two free drinks that come with the room go down nicely in the casual atmosphere. There is also a nice pool and an adequate exercise room with two televisions, treadmills, exercise bicycles, a stack weight machine and even dumbbells. The Elegante is also located within minutes of three malls, great dining and the University of New Mexico sports arena, as well as the Minor League Stadium - the Albuquerque Isotopes. All in all, this is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for the Towers; it costs a little more, but the rooms are elegant and spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel serves as a sort of headquarters of Road Scholar [formerly Elder Hostel] events in the ABQ area. It is difficult to downgrade a hotel with superb service but the realistic situation is that they need a refurb NOW.
Problems include: horrible wireless internet service, slow and erratic; bathroom toilets that use HUGE amounts of water, scratched up furniture; unimaginative breakfast menu - same every day of the week.
Pluses were: friendly, fast, and helpful staff - EVERYWHERE; good [if small] exercise room, excellent policy of offering two drinks and breakfast as part of the room price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I attended an educational conference for a week from Sept. 22 - 27, 2013 and were very pleased: the hotel is not fancy but it is very comfortable. We found all staff to be friendly and helpful; we stayed in a tower room which was comfortable and very clean (if noise is a concern, ask to be away from the freeway); conference food was served buffet-style and was simple but tasty and plentiful; an included breakfast and 2 free well-drinks each night were a "bonus"; and a free shuttle is available for the airport, Amtrak (I think), Old Town, and selected other destinations. The hotel is centrally located with good access to freeways, but it is not in a fancy neighborhood. We recommend the hotel for any stay except as a "resort".

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are away from the freeway.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_and_Shirley_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Building needs updating looks old. Carpets in the hall were very worn and dingy.
The Ten Commandments etched in stone in the courtyard entrance was a little weird....
Room was smaller than expected and climate control was poor. It was very hot that day and the air conditioning was barely functioning. The bed was ok and the sole easy chair had a big rip on the armrest. This place is in the business district, no view to speak of... a little out of the way, however, we were driving and Albuquerque is not that big, so it was not a big deal. I must say though, breakfast was pretty good and service in general was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
#64 of 144 in Albuquerque
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel

Address: 2020 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1715 (Formerly Holiday Inn Mountain View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $87 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MCM Elegante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Elegante Albuquerque
Hotel Mcm Elegante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing