We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cool place with excellent food and service”
Review of Nexus Brewery

Nexus Brewery
Ranked #29 of 1,781 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Welcome to Nexus, the beer place that brings people together. It's not just a place; it's an experience. Nexus Brewery is dedicated on being the Albuquerque brewery that people can count on when it comes to providing amazing tasting beer and excellent food. We love good beer, and that makes our job just that much more fun. We sell delicious New Mexican soul food with a mix of southern comfort food. Come on down to Nexus Brewery and enjoy the beer we brew. We'd love to meet you and pour you a cold one.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very cool place with excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place rocks! Some of the best food we've had in Abq in quite a while, and we are foodies. Not a large restaurant/sports bar-probably because they want it that way to maintain the quality. Everything we sampled today was delicious...the beer battered fries are the best I've had in any restaurant anywhere...light and crunchy on the outside, moist and chewy. The pulled pork sandwich was amazing, topped with crunchy pickles and a delightfully spicy barbecue sauce which enhanced the moistness and tenderness of the pork. The fish and chips were amazing also. And the bread pudding was unbelievable. The waitress(s) were amazingly friendly and very helpful. Do yourself a favor and give this place a try. You WON'T be disappointed. The beers were great also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcarson330, Owner at Nexus Brewery, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It's always such a pleasure to get great feedback from self-identified foodies, Anthony! This is the kind of review that reminds us why we love what we do. I can't wait to pass your compliments on to the kitchen. We'll look forward to seeing you back soon for more menu exploration and brews!

Sincerely,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    118
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Road trip”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a couple of beers. They were very good! Service was excellent. Although we didn't eat the food looked tasty

Helpful?
Thank SanDiego333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcarson330, Owner at Nexus Brewery, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hope y'all had a great trip, Chandra! Thanks for joining us for a few drinks and letting us know you liked 'em.

Sincerely,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dining Gem in an Industrial Area”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This brew pub is tucked behind a window company, but within walking distance from the Best Western. Their few brews are varied and tasty, but the real experience is the excellent food. Best pub food we have found in a long time. The seating arrangements are varied, bar/tall tables, and seating both inside and out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowsigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcarson330, Owner at Nexus Brewery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're honored you consider us a gem here in Albuquerque! Thanks for the 5 stars -- I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed our food and atmosphere. Hope we'll see you again the next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Open on Sunday”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Limited menu. Chicken sandwich is comparable to Wendy's, not bad. Crowded on a Sunday afternoon. Outdoor patio was enclosed due to rain resulting in poor ventilation and terrible smell. Ladies bathroom was not maintained. Service was super friendly, attentive and fast. Beer was average.

Helpful?
Thank JustMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcarson330, Owner at Nexus Brewery, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi, Millie! Sorry to hear that your experience as a whole wasn't the best. It sounds like your server knocked it out of the park for you, which is awesome to hear, but I apologize that there was an issue with the restroom and that the patio wasn't as comfortable as it usually is. Hopefully you'll return and give us a chance to shine under better circumstances! We're best known for our Chicken and Waffles, so you should give that a shot next time.

Hope to see you again,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort food meets New Mexican fare”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This little hole-in-the-wall sports bar/brewpub has an odd menu that combines down home cookin' with New Mexican fare, plus some other odds and ends. Remarkably, the combination seems to work; both my green chile stew and my wife's chicken and waffle were satisfying. Service was friendly and prompt, and while the sports-bar-style interior was a bit noisy for my personal taste, I confess to preferring peace and quiet to a greater degree than most people, so you might find it fun and entertaining instead. Value for dollar was satisfactory. About my only negative comment is that it is not the easiest restaurant to find, being stuck way in the back of a comparatively obscure building along the I-25 east-side frontage road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canbelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcarson330, Owner at Nexus Brewery, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for giving other reviewers a heads-up about our location! Happy to hear that you two enjoyed your meals and the server who helped you out. We hope to have you and your wife back this summer -- feel free to give us a call so we can talk about the days and times that we're typically less crowded if you and your wife would prefer that.

Sincerely,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nexus Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Nexus Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing