We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guava Tree Cafe

Guava Tree Cafe
Ranked #114 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Latin, Caribbean, Cafe, Spanish, Cuban, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: A great little spot to taste authentic flavors of the Caribbean, Central and South America, made from scratch daily. Share, meet new people, and talk Spanish to the friendly staff. Take it home, call in from work, and come back. Repeat!
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Went into Guava Tree for the Cuban and they didn't disappoint. The service was great the woman at the front counter described the tropical fruit smoothies to us. We tried the Guanabana smoothie and the Mango Lulo, both smoothies were fantastic! The Cuban sandwich was great. Also tried one of the plantain, black beans and roasted veggie sandwiches. To die for. The service was amazing. Te atmosphere was quaint and fun. I hope they get lots of business I would hate to see them go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WesleaBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have only an hour for lunch, forget it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The food looked OK, but I never got to taste it. Waited on a short line (there were three parties in front of me and my boyfriend) for 20 minutes and was told it would take another half hour to get our food. At lunchtime, this is totally unacceptable. So we left. Ridiculously slow service. Perhaps it's worth it but I guess I'll never know.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfr0mNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food, inexpensive, wonderful wonderful wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Haven't really eaten Cuban food before but the 8" cuban sandwich or it's smaller cousin the Medianoche was absolutely excellent. The pork and ham is tender, the pickle adds punch. The yucca crisps and plantanitos were excellent compliment to the sandwiches. The soup (don't recall it's name but the first of two soups listed on the menu) melded flavors perfectly of avocado, corn, potatoes and the thick soup stock base..adde a bit of the capers and cream that came on the side just made the flavor even better. Highly recommend this tiny unassuming place as the food is great. Our waiter may also have been the cook has migrated from Columbia to Costa Rica to New Mexico is personable and efficient....One bathroom, basic decor but we doubt you will find a better Cuban sandwich anywhere. $20.00 for two sandwiches, added sides and tip. Even the water is a little out of the ordinary with just a hint of orange and cucumber sliced and dunked into an icy water jug. Try it all, you will like it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cute Little Spot with South American Food & Flare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I like this cute little spot. The people who work here are friendly and the Cuban, Colombian and S. American vibe is unique in Albuquerque. The food is pretty good, especially the tropical smoothies. This is a small space with a porch, wooden floors and colorfully painted walls. It has a very homey artsy casual feel. Good find near university area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Love Guava Tree Cafe!! Great vibe; Diego and all the staff are great!! I had the Ajiaco soup and the Cubano sandwich, and they were amazing, authentic Latin American flavors!! Stop by and you won't regret it!! One of the best places for lunch in Albuquerque near the University!!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guava Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Guava Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing