We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great story” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tim's Place - CLOSED

Tim's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good food, comfortable environment and an inspiring story regarding the owner who has Down's
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, great story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I read about Tim and his business while planning a trip to ABQ. My husband and I were in the area and drove by to see if it was open for dinner. The parking lot was empty, so we pulled up to the door to find out what the hours were and discovered they really were open! We were a little concerned that no one else was there on a Saturday night, but our waiter explained that they have only been open for dinner for a few months and word hasn't gotten out yet. Apparently the place is usually packed for breakfast and lunch. Tim arrived a little while after we got there and sat and visited with us and told us a little about the business and his interests. What a great guy! We enjoyed our meal - especially the onion rings and my chicken, mushroom and Swiss sandwich and were very glad we went.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank GotaWearShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“From Everett to Albuquerque...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

A few months ago I heard the story of Tim. I learned of his challenges, and of his accomplishments. His story piqued my curiosity, and I decided to go on down to visit Tim, and Tim's Place. Now, mind you, I live in Everett, Washington, so it took a bit of preparation to get me there.

Today my husband and I arrived at Tim's, and were greeted by a very gracious and courteous host named Kevin. Kevin had an easy smile, and was most willing to tweek my order just perfectly to my taste. My husband ordered the fish and chips, and swears that they just might be the best he has ever tasted. I had ordered the loaded BLT and enjoyed every single bite.

Tim was offsite, but that was no problem for Kevin. He caught up with Tim at home, and I was able to Skype a few words with Mr. Tim himself.

I got my free hug from Kevin, and both my husband and I spent some good, quality time there. Kevin told me that Tim's Place is now offering dinner fare, so I urge y'all to come on down and eat some good food. The menu is moderately priced to fit your budget, and the food is wholesome and tastes great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tweetie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Rehearsal Dinner Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a terrific experience at Tim's. They graciously gave the entire restaurant to us for the evening. Very easy to work with for food. We had about 45 people at the dinner. Even was blessed with a visit from Tim himself. If you are looking for a good reasonably priced rehearsal dinner with lots of options, Tim's Place is the restaurant to choose.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Enjineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“An inspiration along with a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on its convenient location for us. We had no clue as to what a wonderful meal this would be. The food was good, the service was excellent, and the inspiration provided by Tim was incomparable.
If you are in the area, you should visit so you can enjoy good food, an example of what determination can achieve, and, of course, the hugs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
214 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a very pleasant cafe in Northeast Albuquerque. We had a
nice breakfast there and very much enjoyed learning Tim's story.
You'll have to go there to learn that story and get your own hug from Tim.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thoughful-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim's Place also viewed

Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, Albuquerque
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing