We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and a nice atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Lee's Authentic Asian Gourmet Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best Lee's Authentic Asian Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #1,069 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
427 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“good food and a nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chuckled when we first read the name given to this restaurant ("Best" and "Gourmet"). But we decided to give it a try and we've been very pleased. We've gone here at all times of the afternoon and evening - early and late. It's always good and the wait staff is always pleasant. We've never been there when we had to wait to be seated.

The menu is a little more on the "fancy" Chinese food side - perhaps that's the "gourmet" part of the name. But it's not over the top. They also offer take out which we have done several times - especially when we order their hot and sour soup to go on a cold winter night. Yummy! We've been there several times and ordered quite a few things off the menu and it's all good.

The kitchen noise can be somewhat entertaining because it's not a really big place. If you don't mind that, it's a very pleasant place to go.

The prices are pretty much what you'd expect for a nice sit-down dinner. They serve the food in courses, with soup coming first, etc, fortune cookies at the end.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maui, hi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Unusual, generous servings, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This Chinese restaurant had excellent, unusual food (not the typical bland stuff that many American Chinese restaurants serve). The portions were generous, the vegetables were fresh, and the meat had no fat.
We loved this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Haven't been here in a while... stopped in tonight and tried different items. The Singapore noodles were outstanding. Really good and authentic with a spicy curry flavor. Will try to be hungry more often when in this part of town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TVenturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Lee's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant many times in the past and always had an enjoyable meal and friendly service. Things have changed for the worse as 1) it took forever to get my meal 2) I never got my soup until I asked about it when my entree arrived and 3) the meal was so spicy I had to leave it on the table. The server asked if I wanted a to-go box and when I told her it was too spicy to eat, she briskly walked away. I later had to flag somebody down to pay my bill. I won't be returning. Too bad because there are so few good asian restaurants in Albuquerque.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
248 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Everytime we visit this restaurant, we leave happy, full and amazed that tucked away in the corner of a strip mall is one of the best Chinese restaurants in Albuquerque. Granted there are other contenders for the title and Best Lee's is certainly among them.

Their "Dim Sum" appetizer is something I order everytime we drop in. Seriously! It is not dim sum in the way most people think of but rather a fabulous serving of shumai. Its just too good to pass over. They have all of the standard items one would expect to find but all are done in a "Gourmet" fashion. Many times this means nothing more than a beautifully prepared plate and sometimes it means that it is really the best ingredients and perparation that they are able to manage. Either way, it works and works well.

The fish is terrific. The noodles are devine. The duck is delicious. The mu shu is fabulous. Seeing the trend? I have never had anything here I wouldn't order again.

So if you happen to be wandering around looking for a treat, I would heartly recommend stopping by Best Lee's and see if you agree with my thoughts. Hope so!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kkhinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Lee's Authentic Asian Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, Albuquerque
 

Been to Best Lee's Authentic Asian Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing