We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
pdx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

First time stay but it will not be my last. Tastefully remodeled former railroad workers hospital. Rooms were ample in size with good sized bathrooms and showers. Good internet connection and speed. I was surprised at how quiet my room although next to a freeway. The breakfast on Sunday that came with room had a large selection of pastries that were a cut above the usual. There were two varieties of quiche. Coffee was great and special coffee drinks were available at extra charge. The staff were friendly, helpful, and genuinely concerned about making my stay pleasant. This place is far and above any chain hotel. Never got to the hot tub or bar though. Something for next time.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peachiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear peachiepooh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at HPC. We could not be happier that you enjoyed everything from the rooms to the complimentary breakfast. We hope to have you back again soon and maybe next time you will have time to make it to the rooftop bar and hot tub!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    215
    50
    20
    21
See reviews for
259
621
100
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not as delighted with this hotel compared to our last visit. We had to wait 30 mins before we could go to our room – not happy. The Hotel was reasonably comfortable, but our room was in the Doctors building 2 rather than the main block and access with heavy cases was through a difficult labyrinth of stairs and paths made me not happy again. No mention of bar on roof. We were disturbed in the night by someone trying to unlock our door – we presumed he was lost. In the room there was nowhere adequate to sit to work. Spider in the bath eek. There was no coffee or tea available in the morning unlike the other building last time. The TV was not working and needed to be connected at rear - Internet service is reasonable. Pillows were rather high for us. No fridge noise which is always good. Breakfast was uninteresting with quiche (what the) and weird cereals tasting like bird food - fruit was acceptable – they need to look at breakfast and make it more palatable.

Overall our stay was only okay average.

Room Tip: Avoid Doctors Building Number 2 unless traveling light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank youngfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear youngfletch,

We could not be more apologetic that you did not enjoy your second stay at HPC. Please know that we have taken your comments to heart and we appreciate customers pointing out what they did not enjoy so that we may change and improve. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel - the room was tiny, uncarpeted, had no bath in the bathroom, only a shower, and no microwave. When we had to leave early the next day instead of staying 2 nights as we had planned, they charged us an extra $50 for not cancelling 24 hours in advance. The room felt like a hospital room, which isn't surprising, I guess, since it used to be a hospital. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluewatergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear bluewatergirl2013,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay at HPC. I personally wish that you had brought your dissatisfaction to the attention of me or the staff so that we would have been able to address the problem. Again we are very sorry.

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel's interior design must have been updated recently because the lobby and surrounding rooms were just stunning - a modern feel in a venerable building. The building is almost a 100 years old and used to be a hospital. It feels more like an old estate, especially the older part in the back where we stayed. There is a "family room" back there which was just beautiful. Our room was big, with windows all around, and a nice view from the bed. Albuquerque is a noisy city with highways surrounding it, but in the back part, it was very quiet. Not sure, if the same is true for the larger and taller front building. Early in the morning, coffee was waiting on a counter in the hallway ... it was so nice to have a cup of coffee in bed and to just enjoy the view. Breakfast was outstanding with quiche and delicious baked goods. We used the hot tub as well which was located in a lush garden. One caveat - cockroaches love the garden, too, and you see some dead ones, since they spray. We also saw 2 tiny ones in our bathroom - not sure if we dragged them in with our bath robes or if they came up through the drain. So if you are squeamish, it might not be for you. Lastly, their roof top patio is a must. It's a prime spot for watching the sun set, and the seats fill up quickly. Very beautiful patio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteMMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear BrigitteMMO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We absolutely love the back building due to the family room and views of the park so we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed it as well! Thank you so much for pointing out the pest problem we will address the problem. We are glad that you also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well as the Apothecary Lounge. We would love to have you back again soon!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was probably the cleanest, comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was polite and professional. The rooftop was the best part! We will stay again! The beds were comfy and showers were huge!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Gina M,

We at HPC are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay so much. Specifically we are glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the rooftop, as well as the members of our staff. We can't wait to have you back!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights. It was one of the nicest hotels we have been to. The rooms were lovely and very, very clean. The staff was super helpful. Breakfast was great.

We did experience on small hiccup... Our first room did not have adequate AC, even after they sent maintenance up there to fix it. When we ask the desk for options, they moved us to another room (which happened to be a suite). Wow! Talk about customer service.

Also, even though this is considered a deluxe property, they did not nickel and dime you. Parking was free. Internet was free. Breakfast was included.
I hated to leave this hotel, and if I am ever in NM again, I will definitely stay here. We loved the staff and Molly, the front desk dog!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamZMintHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear TeamZMintHill,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of your recent stay at HPC. Customer service is something that we take a lot of pride in so we are incredibly glad that our staff was able to assist you and provide you with a room upgrade. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed many of our complimentary services such as the parking, breakfast, and internet. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights as part of my husband's birthday celebration and enjoyed every minute. The rooftop lounge offers great service and a beautiful view of the city. We will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Cindy2096,

We could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay at HPC so much. The rooftop Apothecary Lounge is a favorite of ours as well!

Hope to see you back again soon!

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#16 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Property: Hotel Parq Central
Address: 806 Central Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing