We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure!”
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose this hotel due to proximity to Lovelace Medical Center (post surgery stay). We were VERY impressed with this hotel. The staff were super friendly (even walked us to our room so no searching). Room was very nicely done, pillow top bead with down comforter. We had a king with a bathtub (which does not often occur). The grounds were very nicely done with lots of places to sit and relax. Breakfast was amazing for being continental. The only down side was the room service. The food was almost inedible so suggest eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahK87544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear DeborahK87544,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in our staff and in our customer service. Our grounds located in East Downtown are a great part of ours and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay including the king room with a bathtub.

We take great pride in our grounds and we are overjoyed and we hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    255
    64
    25
    30
See reviews for
294
721
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mora, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had a quilting class to attend, so decided to book with Parq Central since the price was similar to what I had paid for a crummy chain motel in Prescott, AZ just a couple weeks previous.

Decor is spare, almost Zen modern. The upgraded king room was comfortable, with two armchairs and a footstool in one corner.

From the desk clerk who showed me to my room to the friendly housekeeping and breakfast staff, all were friendly, helpful, and made my stay an almost "spa-like" experience.
One example: The fruit bowl at the breakfast buffet was gorgeous, but had kiwi. I asked it there was any fruit without kiwi (I'm allergic), and the request was cheerfully fulfilled. Eating on the beautifully landscaped patio courtyard was a special finish to my short overnight stay.

This is now my hotel of choice when I travel to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bridget B,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at HPC. We take an incredible amount of proud in our staff and we are overjoyed that you were able to choose HPC for your stay in ABQ during your quilting class.

We hope to see you again and we hope that you are once again able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I had originally booked a hotel with another hotel but cancelled that reservation when my boyfriend discovered Hotel Parq Central. We were in ABQ for Labor Day weekend and were not let down with our accommodations. The history of the hotel in itself is amazing since it used to be a hospital. It is centrally located and there are several great restaurants nearby. The staff was courteous and attentive. Our fridge was out when we arrived and maintenance quickly replaced it with a new one. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. This will definitely be the hotel of choice if we make it back to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegaljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YancySturgeon, General Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear shoegaljess,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so overjoyed that you enjoyed your Labor Day weekend stay with us at HPC! We are incredibly proud of our historic history and we are so glad that you were able to enjoy the grounds as well as the surrounding neighborhood.

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Yancy Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In the middle of the city this is a spectacular location with a quiet serene venue! Historical building with clean, spacious rooms and protected grounds including a Jacuzzi, lounge chairs surrounded by fountains and flora. Amenities included products by CC Bigalow, personal bathrobe and homelike atmosphere! There is a good workout room, no pool but you really don't miss it, being from Florida I can attest to that!! The roof top boasts a bar/tapas room where you can witness the sunset. The breakfast was wonderful with out of the ordinary pastries and other great items. Each hallway consisted of about 10 rooms and were securely sequestered by a door. Those hallways each contained a coffee/tea bar with fixings as well as singular bags of packed ice. The staff were personable and accommodating. This was a very nice place and I would go out of my way to stay there again,

Room Tip: When making reservations, fell free to tell them what you want; we wanted to be left alone in a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Director of Sales at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Margaret B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property, including the many public spaces and the workout room. We are pleased that you enjoyed tapas on the rooftop and also the breakfast and coffee stations each morning. Our staff strives to make each guest feel at home and we are so happy that you found each member of our team to be personable and accommodating.

We are honored that you would go out of your way to stay with us again and we look forward to your next check-in!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel has been remodeled to perfection. Everything has been done right. I didn't like that we didn't have coffee in our room and I had to walk down the hall in my p.j.'s to get my morning java. The rooftop lounge was great once the sun went down but needs some form of shade. The glare and heat were very intense but we didn't want to lose out on a seat when the sun finally went down. They really need to get umbrellas or some form of shade during the day. I attended a wedding in the court yard last year and the same issue. No shade and sitting out in the sun was very uncomfortable. However the nighttime view of Albuquerque from the roof was phenomenal. The wait staff from the front desk (Steven) to our cocktail waitress (Jessica) were friendly, courteous and consummate professionals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_n_Jynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Director of Sales at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear lgusrey,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you find the renovation to be well done and our staff to be friendly, courteous and professional. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the coffee service on the guest room floors; next time you are with us, please let the front desk know that you would like a Keurig coffee maker delivered to your room and we will bring this up, along with mugs and cream and sugar. We are delighted that you had time to enjoy the view from the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop. We would love to provide shade, but unfortunately due to the historic nature of our building, we are unable to alter the exterior until we have been in operation for five years or more.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel on Route 66. We really enjoyed having cocktails at the roof bar watching the summer sun set over the city. They have done a wonderful job refurbishing the hospital into a hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was well trained, and understood the nuances of finer boutique accommodation. Our room was quaintly furnished with all the modern luxuries one would expect.

Breakfast in the morning was very nice, and you could eat outside an enjoy the warmth of the desert sun. The facilities are very well maintained, and the place has a wonderful fresh look and feel.

As you are located on Route 66, it was an easy drive or walk down the route to see the neon lights in the evening. Internet was good, and we did not encounter any issues during out stay. Make certain you experience the roof top lounge.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel, and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorseRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Director of Sales at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear WhitehorseRichard,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. we are so happy that you were able to watch the sun set over the city from the Apothecary Lounge and that you enjoyed the renovation of the property from a hospital to a hotel. We are thrilled that you found each member of our staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast is something that we really enjoy offering each morning and we are delighted that you enjoyed it.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Superb boutique hotel that I remembered from its earlier days as a hospital. The rehab of this landmarked and historic register building has been remarkably done, with artwork of the originally facility (my room had a well-framed blow up of picture postcard when the Parq Central was the Santa Fe Hotel in the 1920's). The rooms are rather small, but the bathrooms are rather large with fab shower heads and showers. No bathtub so, so for me, small room and no tub mad it less than excellent. Amenities are just what you want: Bigelow soaps, gels, shampoo/conditioner and body lotion; soft, white, elegant Frette linens. Breakfast buffet is plentiful, with some great pastries and an outdoor patio. The Apothecary Lounge on the roof, while it doesnt carry through the Apothecary theme is modern, with a great cocktail and wine list and a view of Alb that's gorgeous. Service during daytime is truly truly spendid; over the top: hospitable, gracious, helpful. One of the best staff members is Molly: the dog behind the reception desk. Service after 5 PM isnt up to the day time staff, and like many of the better hotels in Alb. there are few in staff to help with bags. I would definitely stay at the Parq Central again, and though I wont mention my other fav hotel in Alb here, its a toss up which I like better; so I'll just have to split my visits between the two!

Room Tip: I asked for an upgrade upon check in and was given a room that was slightly larger than others-- I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Director of Sales at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Amy L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are glad that you remember the former days of our property and have an appreciation for the renovation. We are pleased that you enjoyed the bathroom and would love to place you in the Residence on your next trip, as those rooms do have bathtubs in addition to showers. We are delighted that you enjoyed the amenities in your room and the Frette linens. The Apothecary Lounge does boast incredible views of the city and also some delicious cocktails, which we are glad you were able to enjoy. We are sorry to hear that the service after 5 pm was not on par with the service you received earlier in the day. We have addressed this with our team and hope you will note improvement on your next visit.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,372 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Property: Hotel Parq Central
Address: 806 Central Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing