We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A dose of history: from hospital to hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parq Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parq Central
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
wildwildwest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A dose of history: from hospital to hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First, full disclosure: I was a manager at this hospital property, before it became a hotel. (Perhaps a little biased) Prior to this, earlier in my life, I have worked at several 5-star hotel properties...

I had a friend stop in Albuquerque for a few days, to do his annual evaluation of his rental properties. We had planned a movie, and dinner, in the Nob Hill area. I suggested we stop in between, at the Hotel Parq Central, to perhaps grab a drink and maybe a snack. We were well received by the gentleman in the lobby, and had good conversations with him. When we arrived to the roof (on a Saturday night) to the Apothecary Lounge, they were quite busy and the room was loud, due to the musician out on the roof/deck (who was wonderful, by the way). We sat down in the lounge, and after receiving no offer of service, we moved out onto the roof/deck. We talked for awhile, mostly about the amazing view (and my stories about my old experiences as an administrator at the hospital) but we never received a greeting, or a suggestion of service from the staff. We had a nice visit, but again, we were never approached by any of the Apothecary staff. We eventually moved on, to dinner at Scalo's. Needless to say, I left disappointed, after recommending the hotel to my California friend...

Room Tip: Be patient in the Apothecary Lounge. While you're waiting, enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwildwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear wwildwest,

While you did not stay with us at Hotel Parq Central, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the renovation of our building. We are glad that you were well received in our lobby and had a nice conversation with our staff. We apologize that you did not receive the prompt service we strive to provide in the Apothecary Lounge, but we are glad you were able to enjoy the music provided that evening and the stunning views of Albuquerque. Please let us know if you would like to visit the Apothecary Lounge again, as we do our best to ensure that each guest is well taken care of and we know that if your lack of service on the night you were here was brought to the attention of either of the two managers on duty that evening we certainly could have rectified the situation.

We are again glad to know that you enjoy the renovation and that you were able to share your stories with your friends while enjoying the view from the Apothecary Lounge.

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    217
    51
    22
    21
See reviews for
262
628
102
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here on the drive home from Flagstaff to Dallas. I read the reviews which led me to stay here. This hotel is a historical facility which once housed a railroad hospital. It is unique in very many respects; beautiful Spanish renaissance exterior, very clean, comfortable beds, superior bath products, a nice vanity kit that even included a pony tail holder, breakfast way beyond the run of the mill continental included fresh fruit, different kinds of quiche, bakery quality pastries, and good coffee. Also nice, had coffee right outside my room in the hallway. Also, the spaces around the hotel had unique furniture and nooks to sit in. I got here about 1:30 in the morning after driving in a driving snow for several hours and had to leave the next morning so I didn't get much of a chance to explore or enjoy the hotel. Only one slight issue; there was some mix up when I arrive about my reservation and they said I could not get double beds unless I "upgraded" to a different rate; I was too tired to really argue, but the next morning I found they had made good on my original request and didn't charge me anything extra; no problem. If I ever need to stay in Albuquerque again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way home to Dallas to Flagstaff. We are so glad that you enjoyed the history of the hotel and found your guest room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is something we love offering and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to resolve the confusion with your reservation and that you were able to find a good night's rest after a long drive.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Albuquerque!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the first trip to Albuquerque for my sister and I, and we liked both the city and this intimate boutique hotel. The owners did an outstanding job renovating the historic, conveniently located property. We loved the many clever references to the hospital that preceded it. There are several inviting areas on the first floor to sit and relax, both inside and out. The staff is pleasant and was very helpful, offering great recommendations for dining.

Our room was small, especially with two beds, and it didn’t have a seating area. It faced a highway and was a little noisy (I live in downtown Chicago so had no trouble, but some might.) The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, the shower over-sized, the toiletries better than most, and the comfy robe a pleasant surprise. The room and bathroom were immaculate throughout our three-day stay. There’s free coffee on each floor in the morning, especially appreciated by caffeine addicts like us.

We looked in on the rooftop lounge one night, and it was hopping. You can get a meal here and even sit outside and watch the sun set. Unfortunately, we never made it back to the hotel until it was dark. Oh well, next time. Although there’s no restaurant, the hotel offers a complimentary breakfast. During our stay, it fell short. The pastries were stale, the fruit bowl consisted of apples and apples, and the salty quiche was not edible. Additional free amenities include parking (which many Albuquerque hotels charge for), plus a shuttle service to local attractions.

There were a few issues. We were first assigned a room across from a big party in progress… we complained and were moved to another floor. Once in our room, we reported a problem with the sink… the engineer arrived ten minutes later and fixed it. There weren’t enough towels and hangers for two people, but extras arrived just five minutes after we asked for them. Later in the day, we had a problem with the HVAC, which necessitated another prompt visit from the engineer.

You can encounter issues at any hotel, but it’s the response of the staff that determines whether or not you enjoy the remainder of your stay. We enjoyed ours. It’s apparent this hotel is focused on customer care, and with a little more effort on the part of the owners, it could be five stars.

Note: I noticed criticisms in some of the reviews that do not take into account that this is an intimate boutique hotel, and its goal is to deliver that experience. If you’re looking for the amenities of a chain (room service, bellmen, full-service restaurant), you’ll probably be happier at a Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altaira4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear altaira4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed the city of Albuquerque and also the renovation of our historic building. We are thrilled that you find the staff to be pleasant and helpful and your guest room to be comfortable and immaculate. The Apothecary lounge is definitely a hot spot for locals and hotel guests alike. We hope next time you are able to enjoy a sunset view with one of our award winning cocktails. We are so sorry to hear that the breakfast fell short during your stay; we have addressed these concerns with the staff in this area and made efforts to correct it, so it should meet your expectations on your next visit. We are pleased that any issue you encountered was addressed promptly by our team; you are accurate in finding our focus to be on taking care of our guests!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This interesting building was converted into a welcoming, warm, charming hotel. Among its excellent features are a fascinating history, lovely, quiet outdoor areas, outdoor hot tub, a very good complimentary breakfast, a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge area, convenient location and shuttle service to and from the airport and downtown. TRULY IMPORTANT TIP for travelers to New Mexico: The airport fees tacked onto car rentals from the airport in Albuquerque are very steep. It is a really smart move to fly in, get the free shuttle to a hotel like the Parq Central, and then get downtown car rental agencies to come pick you up. We have saved hundreds of dollars --- no exaggeration --- on several occasions following this plan. Enterprise has a location very near Parq Central and will cheerfully pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back parking area are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ladyluke,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Parq Central! We are so glad that you enjoyed the renovation of the building and the many common areas on property. We are so happy that you found the breakfast to be very good and the Apothecary Lounge on the rooftop to be wonderful. We love your tip for other travelers to use the complimentary shuttle service to save on renting a car.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Parq Central staff went above and beyond to make our experience enjoyable. I was most impressed by the complimentary airport shuttle, and shuttle within 2 miles of the hotel! This was an added bonus, and made traveling around Albuquerque a breeze. The rooms were clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Great value for a great location. We visited for the Balloon Fiesta and it was a very convenient location with quick access to the Balloon Fiesta Park. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. It was very convenient. It was very nice to have a complimentary breakfast and the food was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina4977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Christina4977,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide excellent hospitality and we are thrilled that you found our staff to go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and found your guest room to be clean and a good value. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is an amazing event and we are so happy that you were able to make it to the park easily from the hotel. The breakfast is something we enjoy offering to our guests and we are glad that you found it tasty.

Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October. The location is close by to bus routes, train station & the ABQ shuttle route. Staff could not have been friendlier and Gabriel was outstanding. The hotel has a shuttle service that will pick up and drop off at the airport, train station, plus take you into Old Town if you want. Brkfst at hotel had good selection. We asked for a "park view" and although the room was a little small, the bathrooms are very nicely updated. The best part is the rooftop deck. There are several places for lounging and table and chairs to enjoy cocktails. We saw one of the more spectacular sunsets while on our trip from the rooftop. Get there early for good seats!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear hardydesk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are delighted that our staff could not have been friendlier and that the location was convenient for you. Gabriel has been with us since nearly the beginning and we are happy that you feel he is outstanding. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and the breakfast each morning. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the sunset view from the rooftop accompanied by a handcrafted cocktail.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your time in Albuquerque and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a nice room, although a bit tight. But you notice this only briefly, since the room had a high ceiling and huge windows, making it very friendly. Everything is new, of good quality and well-tended. Parking was included and the breakfast was really good. It definitely deserves an excellent ranking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelleWallace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parq Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear theshadowvienna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Parq Central. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and found the property to be of good quality and well-tended. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the complimentary parking.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Parq Central and we hope to see you next time you are in New Mexico!

All the best,

Noelle Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#16 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parq Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parq Central

Property: Hotel Parq Central
Address: 806 Central Ave SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Parq Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect blend of contemporary comfort and historic elegance, our boutique hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers in search of superior service and a memorable place to stay in Albuquerque. This is a place to rest, relax and refresh with stylishly appointed guestrooms, an outdoor dining plaza, spacious garden park and a rooftop lounge with panoramic views of the mountains, downtown city lights and enchanting Southwest sunsets. Don’t just stay in Albuquerque — get away to an urban oasis at Hotel Parq Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parq Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing