We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budai Gourmet Chinese Restaurant

Budai Gourmet Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #237 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new rochelle
Level Contributor
397 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Without a doubt, the best Chinese food in Albuquerque! Actually, it's better than many Chinese food restaurants in NYC. The menu is quite extensive, and all the ingredients were fresh. Also, no msg! We had take out, and our server was sure to be positive that our order was complete--great service. The portions were generous, so be careful not to over order--unless you plan on leftovers (which were yummy) the next day.
The next time we are visiting, we will be sure to eat at the restaurant--it looked great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good Chinese in a place you wouldn't expect it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stopped by for some takeout during a recent business trip. The menu was extensive, and creative -- beyond the usual fare you see on a takeout Chinese menu. I had wonton soup and chicken with cashews. Both were very good ... and I'm a wonton soup snob. The soup had a little extra bite ... I think it was ginger ... not overwhelming, but a very nice twist. The cashew chicken was wonderful. There was a decent crowd dining in. I will go back and dine in .. and see how things go. Every table I looked at had very appetizing dishes on the table. The prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathykoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really love Budai. The food has been good every time I've gone. I introduced a few co-workers to it, and now they are all Budai fans as well.
My favorite dish is the jalapeno chicken. It's sweet and spicy without being overwhelming. They have a lot of good vegetarian options. The eggplant is delicious, and I was introduced to hollow heart vegetable here, which is a great dish alone, or split it with someone and get a chicken dish as well. I also appreciate that they are willing to work with customers on special diets. If you want something low(ish) sodium or low carb, just talk to your server about it.
The interior is pleasant enough, and pretty typical of Chinese restaurants. The staff is usually attentive. It does get a bit busy at times. In those instances you might not have as attentive of service as you would like, but the food is worth it.
The lunch specials are a great deal: very low cost for what you get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerGatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than New York Chinatown iconic spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just back from NYC where we ate at a very famous and popular spot in Chinatown. For me, it fell short. Budai's mini pork steamed buns are far superior, with thin and delicate wrappers and vinegar/ginger dunk. Same goes for the potstickers with their brighter tasting mix of stuffing and finer wrapper, and egg rolls that are crisp, not drippy with oil like the NYC version.
I'll stick with the street hotdogs in NYC and save my Chinese food cravings for Budai.
Budai isn't fancy but great for casual supper, and the bubbly hostess is always fun. The number of Asian diners is a sure indicator they do it right.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ared505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good quality Chinese food and maybe even the best in Albuquerque!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are foodies and dont normally stick to one restaurant unless it's amazing and budai is one of those amazing places! For 3 years we had been craving Chinese food and had given up because we couldnt find one that was consistently good until we discovered Budai!! Budai has modern decor, the service is great, it's family owned, the food is consistently good and the prices and portions are very good! Our favorite dishes are the mongolian beef soup, shrimp in garlic sauce, the lo mein, cashew chicken, crab rangoons and the fried rice is always good! I can't say enough about this restaurant. Also, you know a restaurant is good when it always has customers - like Budai.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellystjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budai Gourmet Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Budai Gourmet Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing