We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American RV Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added American RV Park to your Saves list
American RV Park
13500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87121   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
tennessee
Level Contributor
622 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Excellent campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This campground is beautifully maintained and all of the sites are paved. There are a lot of activities and a nice store with local crafts. My favorite part is the breakfast that is include with the camping fee. It is a convenient off and on location next to I-40. It is a convenient distance from downtown Albuquerque to use as a base camp for your visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! We really do our best to make every single camper have a memorable experience at our resort and hearing from people like you makes all that effort worth it. Our free breakfast included in the camping fee is one of the best features our campers tell us they love about the park and we'll continue to offer it. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
172 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the years and it is due to it being a great park - very clean with an excellent staff.
Asphalt interior roadways with level concrete sites. There is some roadway noise from I-40, but not bad. I'm not sure what happened, but all the grass between sites is gone and the weeds have taken over - when I mentioned it to one of the staff, she said she was hoping to get some new turf put in soon.

Clubhouse, laundry room and bath houses in perfect shape. Well stocked market and gift shop.

They also include a continental breakfast - waffles, cereal, juice, toast, coffee and juice.

Good location to visit the Albuquerque sites - Route 66 and old town within 10 minute drive - Camping World just across the highway.

They will honor Good Sam discount, but you have to ask. Would Recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear site to avoid highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beave8920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We really appreciate your candid comments here on TripAdvisor and are glad to see that you enjoyed your time here at our campground. We are working on a major landscaping project to bring back beautiful green grass to all of our RV sites over time. We have a brand new management team that is still within their first year so expect constant improvements! Hope to see you again soon at American RV Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful, immaculate RV Campground. This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Bath rooms were very clean. Our site was near private restrooms & showers which was great. Each site was well landscaped. They offered a continental breakfast each morning. They a good selection including great boiled eggs. The gift shop had a good selection of merchandise with reasonable priced items. They had a real nice pool & enclosed hot tub. The pool was open & the water was warm yet refreshing. Hot tub was wonderful. My only complaint was the wi-fi service. I was told I could sign on up to five networks. Only two showed up as choices on my IPhone & iPad. Regardless of the time of day or night I was unable to access their wi-fi. The only reason I gave a poor rating on value was because prices were very high due to the Balloon Fiesta. They are probably in line for a nice campground at other times.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at American RV Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write an honest review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during the annual Balloon Fiesta! We are always looking at ways to improve the park and our wireless internet is often one of the most requested amenities we offer. During our busiest weekends (of which Balloon Fiesta is #1) we often have over 300+ guests using multiple devices all trying to access the internet at once. Unfortunately this creates quite a congestion problem on the network, no matter how fast our speeds are! We'll do our best to look into solutions that help address this problem but we're so glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We're pretty new to the RV'ing life and we tend to wander without much of a plan so its kind of a crapshoot when we choose a park. We've stayed at some really nice places but we've also had our share of bad parks. We would definitely recommend this park. We're a very big rig so that's a top priority. This park accommodated us easily. All concrete pads with picnic tables. The laundry was excellent. The WiFi was excellent! ( I can't tell you how many parks we've stayed in that the WiFi was useless!). We stayed a week because there is just so much to do in the area. Even though the park is located outside of town, it was no problem with the easy I40 access.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodiekristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abq,nm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Sorry its taken so long to get to this review, we stayed here in May 2013. We have a 33 ft motor home and stayed here because the Route 66 hotel dosent have any hook ups for RVs. The park is some what clean, although I thought the prices were a little on the high side for what you get. It seemed the staff had a little atttitude,my coach is a little old,1990, they told me i could only stay a short time because of its age. They put me in the rear of the park so the newer rigs could be showcased up in front. I noticed a couple of real old trailers that looked like they were permenent residents,When I inquired about this I was told the policy just went into effect and they were grandfathered in. Basically I was told to mind my own business.

Room Tip: Dont come during Baloon Fiesta unless you already have a reservation,BTW the prices double at that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmfallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harahan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived just after closing and was met by attendant who guided us to our site. This campground can accommodate a number of RV's. Great pads. Very roomy. Right off the Interstate and only a few miles from the City. Book months in advance for the balloon festival. Otherwise, you may risk having to rely on a late cancellation. We visited in late August when we could pick our spot. Bathrooms are all travertine tiled, clean and spacious. Nice pool and hot tub. Great reception area with dining area for continental breakfast offered. We didn't partake in this but it looked like a nice gathering area with fireplace (obviously not in use in August). Laundry room prices were reasonable. Although there are some trees, I would not consider this a shady, but that's to be expected. We couldn't use charcoal grill due to heightened fire threat. Lives up to their Good Sam seal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here recently and very much enjoyed the park. We arrived late, but the paperwork was waiting for us as promised and we entered and set-up with no issues. The park itself was very nice: clean with good hook-ups and wide, well spaced, level pads. We didn't have the opportunity to use any of the facilities, but we did see much of them and they all looked quite nice. About the only gripe I have is that the park is rather far outside of the city limits of town....a drive in for dinner was about 15 minutes. The trade-off was the view: spectacular vistas of the city at night!

All in all, we'd stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanSnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#16 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American RV Park

Address: 13500 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Albuquerque
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to American RV Park, an Albuquerque New Mexico RV park and the highest rated RV Park in New Mexico. With our convenient location to downtown Albuquerque, New Mexico, we make the perfect NM Balloon Festival camping location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing