We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent value”
Review of Cosmo Tapas - CLOSED

Cosmo Tapas
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Sierra
Transit: The city bus stop is 30 yards from our doors.
Description: The Albuquerque Journal gave us its highest rating a few months after we opened, the first time they gave that rating to a new restaurant in 20 years. Come for the food and you will also enjoy the upscale contemporary decor, the full bar/lounge, and the patio. The perfect place in upscale Nob Hill. We serve "tapas" (small plates) with European, Asian, and South American influences and a great selection of entrees for a wonderful dining experience. Tapas are the essence of an entree, not fillers. A second review "An Affair to Share" highlighted the social nature of tapeo (eating tapas). We invite you to taste the foods we prepare with love and with the best ingredients- including our Albuquerque the Magazine award winning scallops. If you cannot decide which ethnic restaurant to go to, visit us- our motto is "taste the world". Enjoy our very specially selected wines and drink creations our bartenders/chef team won second place in the city! Our entertainment is great.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were in town for a conference and chose this restaurant for Valentine's Day. The salad was crisp and the dressing was excellent. We split an Argentinean Parradilla for two - it was fun to eat and delicious. The dessert was the perfect balance of sweet and flavorful. Our service was excellent, despite the fact that they were obviously very busy. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misselle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Favorite date night or girls night out”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a fun place to chat, nibble, chat, and have drinks. It is especially nice on nights with live music. We have always had excellent service and the food is wonderful with new twists on old favorites and new menu items all the time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDGEWOOD,NM
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tapas were a real treat!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had been meaning to try this place for a while, since I've enjoyed other Tapas restaurants across the country. This one certainly ranks high on my list after taking my wife there on a recent Friday evening. Nice variety of tapas on the menu, arranged by seafood, meat and vegitarian. They also have several entrees if you don't want to deal with deciding which tapas to get. Not having been there, we each ordered three tapas... all were delicious, but especially the stuffed dates. Although we were pretty full after that, we shared a dessert; it was a caramel flan, but was correctly described as a cross between flan and cheesecake. Quite yummy. The ambience is cozy, with a seperate bar area and dining area. The evening we were there they had a small jazz group performing in the bar. We picked the dining room to have a bit more quiet. All told, a very nice evening. Oh, and if you don't have a huge appetite, two tapas per person is probably plenty... we walked out stuffed! They also have a nice wine and specialty cocktail list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRAD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Not-So Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After three straight New Mexican meals, we were ready for a bit of a change of pace, and something a little lighter. Cosmo Tapas certainly filled the bill. Even though it's located just a few blocks east of the busy Nob Hill area on Central Avenue, it has the feel of being off the beaten path. It proved to be a real gem.

Although there are full entrees available, we opted for several of the tapas plates. Some have a bit of an Asian influence, but we stuck with more traditional options. The lanza de carne with chimichuri sauce was delicious, as was the grilled artichoke. The bowl of sauteed mushrooms with wine and garlic was a tremendously generous portion for a mere $6. Overall, the amount of food, coupled with the quality was a great value. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of Spanish granacha for a mere $24. The dining room is pleasant enough, and we did enjoy warming ourselves by the fireplace while live music from the bar area wafted in. The service was excellent - always available but never overbearing. We left warm, full and very satisfied. Cosmo comes highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Regular stop for locals”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We usually go to Cosmo every month or so. The tapas are fantastic and the house margaritas are some of the best in town. The wine list is also great. The owner always greets us. We like to sit in the bar and enjoy the live music they usually have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bearmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmo Tapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing