We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Food and Service”
Review of Cosmo Tapas - CLOSED

Cosmo Tapas
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Sierra
Transit: The city bus stop is 30 yards from our doors.
Description: The Albuquerque Journal gave us its highest rating a few months after we opened, the first time they gave that rating to a new restaurant in 20 years. Come for the food and you will also enjoy the upscale contemporary decor, the full bar/lounge, and the patio. The perfect place in upscale Nob Hill. We serve "tapas" (small plates) with European, Asian, and South American influences and a great selection of entrees for a wonderful dining experience. Tapas are the essence of an entree, not fillers. A second review "An Affair to Share" highlighted the social nature of tapeo (eating tapas). We invite you to taste the foods we prepare with love and with the best ingredients- including our Albuquerque the Magazine award winning scallops. If you cannot decide which ethnic restaurant to go to, visit us- our motto is "taste the world". Enjoy our very specially selected wines and drink creations our bartenders/chef team won second place in the city! Our entertainment is great.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food and Service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My boyfriend and go to Cosmo's every couple of months. Especially when we have visitors in town. The scallops are wonderful. Definitely my favorite thing on the menu. The shrimp and cheese empanadas are also very good. If you like non-breaded calamari, that is also good. We've gotten the paella, which is good, but not the best we've ever had. The wine list is great, I don't think I've had one there that I didn't like. The pitcher of sangria is good and fun to get when with a group. The owner always stops by to say hello and have a conversation with you; very nice gentleman. We always have a nice evening when we go to Cosmo's for dinner. I would recommend it to anyone who like tapas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bleujello7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We--2 of us- went there Friday, August 31, for early dinner. Had 4 Martinis- the house special, watermelon infused, hibiscus, and pina colada coconut infused. They were all very good.
Seven tapas were all nice, had a variety of veggie and meats, and one dessert tapa. More than enough food for the two of us to share.
Every plate was unique, tasted great, and gave our taste buds a treat.
We had chicken teriyaki; asparagus with carne; fried cheese empanada; olives and almonds; baked beef empanada; tortilla espanola; and fruit empanaditas.
The tortilla espanola was exquisite.
Our service was excelent, Stephen spaced out the delivery of the courses, brought us clean pates and silver 3 times, owner came out to talk to us.
We had an enjoyable 90 minute, well paced meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeraldcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo L, Owner at Cosmo Tapas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are raked very high in Trip Advisor because reviews such as yours where we get 5 out of 5! Upcoming events are- Champagne dinner on December 3; Puerto Rico night (food specials are PR food) on December 12; Flamenco show on December 14. Details in our web site www.cosmotapas.com Guillermo Loubriel- owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Flavorful and fabulous food at Cosmos Tapas!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

From a local perspective, Cosmos Tapas is one of the best restaurants in Albuquerque. The owners are fantastic people who work extremely hard to make the dining experience top notch. The food is excellent. The Chef is creative and makes the best empanadas I've had (second to my Grandmother's empanadas, of course). The atmosphere is creative, hip and funky. And, if you like Mojitos, try their Jibaritos; a delicious cousin to their Mojitos. This is a family run restaurant and is about as authentic as one gets.
-All Things 505

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo L, Owner at Cosmo Tapas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are raked very high in Trip Advisor because reviews such as yours where we get 5 out of 5! Upcoming events are- Champagne dinner on December 3; Puerto Rico night (food specials are PR food) on December 12; Flamenco show on December 14. Details in our web site www.cosmotapas.com Guillermo Loubriel- owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't even bother... If you know tapas, don't waste your time and money.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The owner does not care for the opinions of the clients or the treatment they received. I believe that a place where ordering a sad plate of small cut cold cheese takes more that hot entrees of other people around us, deserves to be closed. My fiancee and i were very disappointing and furious when we waited more than hour for that plate. The glasses, the chairs does't even match. We had water in a glass of diet coke and the people behind us receive in a glass of wine. $ 45 dollars for a sad plate and a wine we finished before the cheese came.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlantic_dollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What local restaurants should be!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have been to Cosmo Tapas three times, and each has been an interesting and enjoyable experience. The first time was to experiment, so we sat in the dining room and let the personable waitress guide us in selecting some of the specials. I believe it was a Cuban-themed night. All were very tasty, and of course, Guillermo came by to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. We have been twice more and are devoted fans. From the stuffed dates or fried empanadas to the Argentinean Parrillada or the paella, the food is all a wonderful way to visit other places and enjoy the wonderful foods from other lands. We will return again soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo L, Owner at Cosmo Tapas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are raked very high in Trip Advisor because reviews such as yours where we get 5 out of 5! Upcoming events are- Champagne dinner on December 3; Puerto Rico night (food specials are PR food) on December 12; Flamenco show on December 14. Details in our web site www.cosmotapas.com Guillermo Loubriel- owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmo Tapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing