We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Albuquerque Biological Park
Ranked #4 of 220 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Beautiful place, the animals look healthy, a lot of things to do and the staff is lovely... Beverages a little expensive

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    242
    44
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and lovely grounds”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A great place to take kids... lots of little fun activities along the way as you walk through the park. Not a fan of caged critters, but the animals seemed very well-cared-for and all staff members were helpful and friendly, so that was nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinahmo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient that you can access the garden, aquarium, and zoo from one location”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We did the aquarium and garden this time. My previous time we did the aquarium only. I loved it, and will probably do it again. I have family near here which we visit every year or two.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RayelNigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bigger than you think”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My sister and I planned to spend a few hours here and ended up spending the entire day, and we still didn't see everything. The zoo is massive and the animal exhibits are nicely done. The park was all but empty (in the middle of the summer) so we had a great time exploring all of the different sections of the park, seeing the animal antics show, and still had time to visit the aquarium.

Word of advice - park at the aquarium when the park opens and take the train to the zoo first. Last train back to the aquarium is at 3:45 - and the park doesn't close till 5. This gives you a majority of the day at the zoo (which you'll need) and then the chance to go back to the aquarium (and your car) at your leisure. Took the 2:45 train back (ahead of the inevitable rush) and it worked out wonderful.

Aquarium was very small (by new england standards) but its understandable as you're in the middle of the desert and hundreds of miles from the ocean. An hour or so there is more than enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“needs help”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I felt bad about this area, it looks like they need some money to get it fixed up. Some of the area was messes and run down and I couldn't help feeling sorry for the animals. If your going to have animals they must be kept in the best environment , to me this wasn't it.
The train was great and it works well, the gardens looked interesting and the lake for fishing looked liked the locals enjoyed themselves. Just don't do the zoo !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing