We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good explanations for a small museum”
Review of Albuquerque Museum

Albuquerque Museum
Ranked #13 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's rich heritage is the focus at this museum, which features exhibits depicting the art, history and culture of the Southwest.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
437 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“good explanations for a small museum”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The display in this museum probably doesn't compare with the sheer number and quality of artifacts in Santa Fe but I felt that the explanations and display were much better in this museum than in those other museums. This is an art gallery and museum in one, but it was a bit refreshing to have an art break between all the history on display. I really enjoyed the museum and also the outdoor sculpture garden.
It is paid parking but there is free parking across the street. A short walk from the museum is Albuquerque's old plaza with some shopping and a visitor information centre.
We spent about 90 min in this museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    163
    22
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to find such a nice museum in Albuquerque. Not huge and not amazing, but certainly worth a visit. Be sure to check out the local/NM exhibit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Conquistadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a prize!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the museum, we managed to catch a walking tour of Old Town with Christine, a Brit who made the history of ABQ come alive. 'So informative! 'Spent several hours here at the museum . . . 'Temporary exhibit on Changes in Western Landscape was riveting! Lunch at the Cafe (creamy chicken tortilla soup and a yummy 1/2 turkey sandwich) was the perfect pause.
Staff - super friendly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjour2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Art Exhibits”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent too much time shopping on this Trip to the Anata Fe Opera, and needed a museum fix. This museum is about the only thing we haven’t seen in several years of visits to ABQ. It was well worth the time. though our desire was to view the History of Albuquerque Exhibit, it was closed due to major renovation. Thus we moved to the art exhibits. We found the halls to be wel designed with topical areas depicting certain artists and/or themes. It’s not stuffed with exhibits, and the statuary is spread around the grounds. Don’t miss a walk around the front yard exhibits. Just off Old Town, near other venues, inexpensive to enter, good food service, and free parking to patrons. We’ll go back to see the history exhibit next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, v
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Museum and a great price (if you are old that is)”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were in Old Town Albuquerque and wanted lunch. We remembered that the cafe in the Albuquerque Museum was great. We parked in the museum parking lot and informed the museum cashier of our parking slot. The parking was then free.

The museum has permanent and temporary exhibits. The permanent exhibit is wonderful and this season's temporary exhibit is wonderful. The art provides a new "spin" on landscape art of the west. It truly makes you think about the impact of man on the land without being "preachy" about it.

The cafe is operated by Slate Street - one of the best restaurants in ABQ. Food is excellent.

After the museum you can go to old town without the parking hassles and expense. It's right next door.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seymour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Museum also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing