We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Felipe de Neri Church

San Felipe de Neri Church
Ranked #11 of 208 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1706 and rebuilt in 1793, this historic church has been providing services ever since.
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

They have a live manger and midnight mass on Christmeas eve, it's a must every year.The history of the church and the surrounding plaza are amazing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    173
    41
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the west
Level Contributor
184 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant building and very nice grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a nice old mission church. Fairly standard in most respects. It gives you a good feel for a Spanish mission. The grounds are very pretty. A nice peaceful place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rocTheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A beautiful little church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was on my own in Old Town for the day and couldn't resist a visit to this church. I really liked it and the ladies in the attached gift store were so friendly. The only thing I thought was missing was the ability to light a candle. As a catholic, I was always taught to light a candle in prayer and I really missed that here. Very well maintained, though, and very beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clinton_NYBimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Gemstone of Old Town Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This wonderful mission-style church is well worth a visit. Situated directly across from the wonderfully-shaded and welcoming park with gazebo in the center of Old Town, this monument to the early settlement of Catholic missionaries and priests to New Mexico still serves to inspire today! Take your time, drink it all in and feel how it "surrounds you in peacefulness" in the middle of what, without it there, would be nothing more than street vendors and endless rows of shops selling "genuine" turquoise jewelry, some marked "Made in China" on the back. I re-visit the church every time I go to ABQ and I am never dissappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A highlight of old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you visiting old town, you can't miss this church. Its a beautiful building both inside and certainly provides a photo opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank derrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Felipe de Neri Church also viewed

 

Been to San Felipe de Neri Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing