We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely church on Old Town Plaza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Felipe de Neri Church

San Felipe de Neri Church
Ranked #14 of 217 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1706 and rebuilt in 1793, this historic church has been providing services ever since.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely church on Old Town Plaza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Fascinating church, but not all that old. Still an essential part of Old Town and Albuquerque. Very atmospheric.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linnea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    192
    47
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Until you have entered a church the age of this one, you don't quite understand the impact it can have. It's amazing to step inside a church and to know that over 300 years ago other people stepped through the same doors and sat in the same pews. It's definitely worth visiting Old Town Albuquerque and going to San Felipe de Neri Church.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a local I had never been inside. It was beautiful and quaint-as nice as any I had seen in Europe. A quiet place to contemplate our Lord.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful early American Catholic Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a small, but beautiful Catholic Church that was built in the early 1700's and than some rebuilding occurred in late 1780's after a fire. Very respectful atmosphere is maintained so that anyone wanting to come in for service or prayer feels free to do so.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank coachmoz127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't see the museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We entered the chapel and looked around, it"s beautiful and it's history is amazing. The one thing I was looking fwd to was the museum they have in the gift shop but it was closed. Hopefully we will be back in Oct and the day we visit is open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Felipe de Neri Church also viewed

 

Been to San Felipe de Neri Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing