We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW
Ranked #49 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Decent room and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, and it was perfectly adequate for a short stopover. It's on the freeway, but the entrance is just around the corner on another street, so that can confuse you GPS. It's a bit of a long way from the old town and the downtown but that's not a problem if you have a car.

The room was comfortable and a good size with decent facilities. The breakfast was OK but not amazing - there was plenty to fill you up. Unfortunately the pool was out of service when we were there, which was a shame because it was a hot day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    118
    55
    37
    22
See reviews for
145
103
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Short & sweet. Don't stay here. Not clean. Carpets are downright gross. Ice machine broken, suspect door lock on our room, advertised recliners in rooms(not). Even a friendly staff can't make that work

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank 458debbief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The room was a bit small and the lighting was poor for working. However, the internet was useful. I would recommend going to the business center or downstairs to do work, or else you may need glasses sooner than you would like. The weekend breakfast starts at 7:00, which may be a little later for some; I found it forced me to rush to my training at 8:00. Overall, this hotel was fine for someone that needs a room, and does not need a lot of added amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff are all real friendly and real helpful, starting from when I phoned to make my reservation and continued on my arrival all through my stay. The room was clean and despite being so near the freeway (really convenient) was really quite because the soundproofing was very effective and I slept perfectly. The buffet breakfast was excellent and even offered the opportunity to make freshly cooked waffles. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having stayed at many La Quintas, this is the worst I’ve stayed in. I think a contributing factor is that this property used to be another brand, so it’s not really a ‘real’ La Quinta. There’s another La Quinta across the highway that was company built. I mistakenly drove up there first, and it looks the way you expect a LQ to look. It’s probably a much better choice.

This Pan American property is sort of like the early 70s movie that I remember called The Gang That Couldn’t Shoot Straight. The staff is nice enough and they seemed to try hard, but it’s just not up to La Quinta’s standards for cleanliness, quality and experience.

Foremost, the property is run down. My bathtub had a big chip in it and water stains on the bottom. Carpets were worn. Doors were beat-up, scratched and dirty. Rooms are small, and not typical of usual LQ rooms. The elevator walls were scratched and vandalized.

The carpet in the hallways was dirty. It didn’t even look like it had been vacuumed recently. The ice maker on the first floor was out of order, with a sign to go up to the 2nd or 3rd floor. Of course, when I got to the second floor, that one was out of order, too. It would have been nice to say so on the first floor sign.

Location is not great. You’re right on top of the highway and parking is somewhat limited. There are few services at this interchange, just a couple restaurants, but I couldn’t find a gas station nearby.

The pool was covered and clearly not open when I stayed on March 14. Perhaps it’s too early. Probably best anyway, my first floor room’s window was 10 feet from the pool.

Breakfast here was the usual LQ choices of hard boiled eggs, waffles, other breads, some fruit and yogurt.

Thankfully, I was just spending a night passing through, but I wouldn’t stay at this La Quinta ever again. If you need to stay here, such as driving between Denver and Phoenix, try the one listed on San Antonio Drive, across the highway. It looked like the real deal.

Room Tip: Pick the San Antonio Drive La Quinta instead!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

At this hotel's continental breakfast, we asked if there was cold water to drink. They said, "no."
We asked if there was a water fountain in the hall. They said, "no." This is the first time I have not had cold water available at breakfast. This hotel was dirty in the elevators and an obvious lack of vacuuming through the halls. The rooms were just a bit better. This hotel was far from pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Albuquerque Northeast
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Albuquerque North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North Albuquerque
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#57 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW
Address: 7439 Pan American Fwy Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#45 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr Nw
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr Nw Hotel Albuquerque
La Quinta Albuquerque
Albuquerque La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing