We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like royalty. Tanya the breakfast bar manager is a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
Ranked #69 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Wonderful hotel! Friendly staff, especially Tanya the breakfast bar manager and Robbie (?) the day desk clerk.

Everyone was so accommodating, friendly, helpful....rooms were comfy.

We stayed 4 days...and it was bliss.

Cozy beds, cozy rooms, wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EverLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

Spent one night here on an over-night trip to Albuquerque. I was planning on staying at the Hyatt Place down the street from here, but it was booked. This hotel has almost identical room layouts. If the furniture and fittings weren't quite as up-scale, the $50 price difference made up for it. Check-in was easy and painless. The hotel was quiet, the rooms clean, and the towels were plentiful. Despite the frequent praise for their breakfast, I found it to be average for most hotels, There were previously frozen and micro-waved warmed eggs, and bacon, along with biscuits and gravy. There was also a selection of breads, bagels, and sweet rolls. The coffee was standard hotel coffee. Wish there was a Starbucks close by.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Staff was extremely nice. Excellant hot breakfast and Hostesses was so kind. Rooms were spacious and clean. Our room could have used a little maintance but not a big deal. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationmomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I decided to try this hotel after paying so many extra fees at the Hyatt Regency earlier this year. So I paid the same government per diem rate, but at the HIE I did not pay extra for parking and wifi, AND there was a wet bar, fridge, and sofa in my room at the HIE. The wifi worked flawlessly at the HIE, unlike at the Hyatt.

I had a relatively quiet, large spotless room on the 5th floor, facing east, and the sunrises and sunsets were beautiful through the large windows. Good blackout curtains, comfy bed, shower/toilet separate from the sink/vanity, plenty of lamps and outlets, the AC worked great, good water pressure. The "suite" is really just a three-foot-high wall between the bed and sofa -- there's essentially no privacy except when you lay down. Toiletries included shampoo, conditioner and lotion. I wish the hair dryers were mobile, but I understand that they affix them to the wall to prevent theft. An added bonus was a full-length mirror in the back wall of the closet, where I hung 10 days worth of clothing with no problem. The TV was away from the adjoining wall, which helped reduce noise between rooms.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and housekeeping didn't barge in when I had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The free breakfast was OK; I thought the eggs were a bit artificial-tasting, but I appreciated the fruit and yogurt.

Note: the top (6th) floor contains non-smoking rooms as well as smoking rooms, so if you want the top floor, they will warn you that you may smell smoke even in the non-smoking rooms and in the hallways.

The only nits I have are that my key cards never worked properly; I nearly scalded myself when I turned on the hot water in the sink (very, very hot water); some of the TV channels were fuzzy; and the hotel didn't control a floor full of rowdy Boy Scouts one night when their chaperones disappeared. I've worked as a tour guide for school kids, and many hotels insist that the chaperones control the noise and be present on the floor at all times (or at least until the kids are quietly in bed asleep).

An added attraction is the path about a block away, which is used by walkers, runners and bicyclists. I found a Walgreens, WalMart, fast food, restaurants and a Whole Foods quite close by. EZ on and off to the two interstates.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deltaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed here 1 night end of June 09. This Holiday Inn Express was a great price ($85) for the room (King Suite with Sofa Sleeper). Kitchette. Breakfast for continental was really good, they had a great selection of items. Pool was pretty small. The hotel is located by I-40 and there really is no view except highway and industrial buildings. But the price again is great. Staff was good. Bed was comfy, sleeper sofa was not comfortable. Applebees next door and food was good there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Great room, next to the big I so very convenient for travelers. Very friendly staff. I've stayed there twice and will probably just make all my Albuquerque reservations for there from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLSNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Quick one night stay. Did not have advance reservations, walked in and received a great rate...less than stated on their website. That was the positive thing. However, the rooms are advertised as "suites", but they are extremely small and cramped for a suite. If the rooms were left as regular rooms and not try to incorporate a small kitchen area, they would be much roomier. The very small bathroom sink was in an "alcove" off the shower area; and the area to hang clothes is right up against the sink. The door to the shower/commode area actually had only 1" (at the most)before they hit each other, so therefore you had to leave the door open or stand in the shower to close the door. The sheets had red ink stains (you could tell it was from a writing pen) right in the middle of the bed. Since we arrived early evening and planned on leaving very early the next morning, we made do with what we had. One last thing, the hotel management needs to enforce some kind of parking "rules" for large vehicles such as moving vans, motor homes, etc...there were several parked in the front part of the parking lot taking up at least 5 spots each, and the parking was in short supply. Upon arriving back to the hotel after dinner, we got one of the last parking places remaining because of the spots taken by these larger vehicles. I can not comment on the free breakfast, because we left around 6:00 am and did not wait around for the continental breakfast to be set up. If I ever go through the area again and plan to spend a longer period of time in Albuquerque, I would find a more suitable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#61 of 144 in Albuquerque
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Albuquerque
Residence Inn Albuquerque
#60 of 144 in Albuquerque
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albuquerque/Downtown-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown

Address: 2500 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Midtown, Albuquerque. Our all-suites hotel is centrally located near the intersection of Interstates 40 and 25 and only a few miles from the Albuquerque International Airport. Our friendly staff invites you to experience our spacious and comfortable suites featuring the Express Bedding Package. All suites include: Keurig Brewers, microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. An Applebee's restaurant is located adjacent to the hotel as well as an array of enticing shopping and dining options. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers easy access to attractions such as Old Town, the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Balloon Fiesta Park, and Sandia Peak Tramway. Business travelers will enjoy our hotel s close proximity to Intel, Lockheed Martin, University of New Mexico, Kirtland Air Force Base, Sandia Labs and General Mills. Complimentary local shuttle service, based on availability, weekdays from 7am -9pm. During your Albuquerque visit, be sure to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer, including free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet, a business center, fitness center, and a heated outdoor pool. We look forward to making sure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing