We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Southwest Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Southwest Charm”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent a week at Casas de Suenos for our 25th anniversary in mid April 2014. Our casita, which was spacious and full of old Southwest charm, opened out onto the beautiful gardens. We breakfasted each morning either in the garden breakfast room or the kiva fireplace area; breakfast was well prepared to our order. The staff members, at every level, were gracious and knowledgeable about the area. It is walking distance to Old Town, which is a shopper's paradise, and also to Rio Grande Wholesale Gifts, which was the single best shopping venue for jewelry that we found in two weeks in Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Casas de Suenos was built in the 1930's by a resident artist - it is uniquely appealing, and we are already looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Casitas vary in size - ask the staff for advice to fit a casita to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    92
    34
    27
    8
See reviews for
69
195
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our Casita (Ivy Cottage) was incredibly comfortable. The fireplace was especially appreciated (it was cleaned and repacked for easy lighting every day). The cooked to order breakfasts were very good. All staff were were very friendly and accommodated every request.
The Casitas and the garden are very pretty. Through the back-door and across the car parks its about 250 metres to the old town
The Casas had every facility of an international hotel, the friendliness and comfort of staying with family.

Room Tip: Ivy Cottage was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a true "old town" experience! Lovely gardens, friendly staff and very convenient to Old Town Albuquerque. We loved the Ivy Cottage with a small private patio with a fountain to make it even more special. The grounds are abundant with flowers...the roses were amazing.

The only thing that kept it from a Five was the construction noise from a project nearby. Don't let that keep you away from this historic adobe oasis though.

Room Tip: Ivy cottage was very special and Piñon is perfect for a family of four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn78733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Owners Mark and Leeann Cumbow make you feel at home in delightfully furnished casitas, only one block from Albuquerque Old Town, and the breakfast (included) is individually created and wonderful. (Parking is also included and is alongside your casita.) My wife, granddaughter and stayed at Casas de Suenos 4/11 and 4/12/14 and recommend it strongly. Stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I naively knew nothing about the New Mexican/Pueblo style of building and found it softly soothing and subtle. The adobe type architecture is gentle and easily taken in, especially because of the terra cotta colouring. This hotel is an ex-artistic community and the gardens and layout all give off an inviting air. A place to pause and reflect. The room was well furnished with dark wood and sumptious bedding all in dark soft reds and browns. Fridge, water, shower, huge lampshades and lovely cool tiled floors. Hearty breakfast for those with the stomach for it. And stories to be shared with owner if you have time to linger.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoopminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

When we first got there we were going to stay in a regular room then transfer over to a hot tub room. Since it was slow the Manager gave us the hot tub room both nights at no extra cost.. Each room had its own special character. The food was excellent. The staff was fantastic. The grounds beautiful and close to everything. I would go to Albuquerque again just to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at Suenos after a long drive from Monument Valley - and knew straight away we'd found a very special place. The little casitas and rooms - which are from an earlier era and have a delightful, shabby-chic vintage vibe - are set round quiet, peaceful gardens and the welcome was warm. We had the charming Ivy Cottage - with a hugely comfortable bed, a large sitting room and a very beautiful open fire and kiva fireplace. Though we drove up to it feeling it was on a busier road than we'd expected, once we were inside the grounds it became a little oasis of green and quiet and prettiness. The staff can't do enough to help - including replenishing your firewood daily. And the breakfasts, served in a pretty, colourful sun-room were delicious and generous. Oh and wifi was terrific, and parking behind th complex was safe and off-road.

All this and it's just an easy stroll into Old Town Albuquerque - where we spent happy times eating at good retauirants, visiting the great Art Gallery, exploring the little courtyards and having a drink at cafes on the Plaza. All in all, a fabuloius introduction to Albuquerque which has whetted our appetitie to return - and when we do, it will be to stay at Casas de Suenos again, with great pleasure.

Room Tip: We loved the little, quiet Ivy Cottage - with its well-equipped kitchen and dining-space. But they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,667 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,741 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
760 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hotel Chaco
#17 of 144 in Albuquerque
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn

Property: Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
Address: 310 Rio Grande Blvd SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk through the gates of this secluded adobe style compound, and discover the magic of Casas de Suenos. Built in the 1930's and 1940's, Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn features 20 spacious casitas, hot tub suites, glowing fireplaces, soft adobe walls, hidden courtyards, inviting patios and beautiful gardens that accentuate our Historic Inn. Our cooked to order breakfast served in a sunny garden/artist studio will greet you in the morning. Our courtyard with gazebo is perfect for your next wedding, reception or retreat. Celebrating New Mexico Arts, History and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas De Suenos Old Town Country Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing