We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more shabby than chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great location so we could walk to old town. We were in the Manzano suite. We didn't use the hot tub, but it was odd to have a full sized outdoor style hot tub in the room. I would have been more comfortable with a large garden style jetted tub. The bedroom and living room were very nice. Would have preferred traditional air conditioning as the 'swamp cooler' didn't really get it very cool. The bathroom was a negative. 50's style wall hung sink and a wobbly toilet. Electrical molding running on the surface of the wall. Old, tiny and worn and not matching the Southwest style of the spacious suite. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Not a fan of Manzano due to the tiny and dated bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night while traveling through NM. Our room (the Taos) was $149.00, more than we normally would spend, but we figured it was supposed to be a charming B&B with a nice breakfast, etc. The young man at the desk was very helpful; steered us to a nice place for dinner. The room itself? A faint smell of mildew, an overhead light that didn't work, a bed that was like a rock, a toilet seat that doesn't match the shape of the toilet, on and on. Our room was out in a parking lot, not connected to the gardens -- felt a little isolated and creepy. There is an original mural on the wall -- and then time stopped as far as updating or decorating -- dented lampshades, vinyl mini-blinds. You get the picture. As far as the whole property -- it COULD be extremely charming. The gardens meander throughout. But nobody has paid attention to the heaving brick pathways or the overgrown gardens for some time. As for breakfast -- my "omelet" was a folded-over scrambled egg with some chopped up stuff in the middle. There was a plastic bin of bread and bagels, straight out of the fridge/freezer. Not a charming experience, overall. If you do stay here, you have to cross a busy street with a divider in order to walk to the Old Town area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lotsagoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first and favorite place that we stayed on a week long road trip across the southwest. The casitas are adorable, clean, well-decorated, and very private. It was so soothing to get in from the airport and feel like we were in our own little house. The garden is beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and informative. Breakfast was made to order and delicious and in a beautiful sunlite room. It was about a 7 minute walk to the plaza of Old Town. The character, location, and price could not be beat-so much better than a chain hotel! If we didn't have a wedding to get to, we probably would have stayed all week!

Room Tip: some of the rooms have a private driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Applegreenlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spiders throughout! Skunks under casitas. The smell was awful! The owners really have a "don't care" attitude! Out of 18 casitas our wedding party booked all but 2-5 rooms. (Conflicting amounts based opon which half wit you got at the front desk!) Treated everyone with a poor attitude! You would think after paying over $10k we would at least feel welcome! Nope! Save your money! It may look quaint and charming but i can get that from any other B&B in Albuquerque and they would at least appreciate my business. Oh! Don't book their hall either! It is NOT up to code on the electricity and you won't have power most of the time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RhondaMLaPlata_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were at the end of our long driving vacation around NM & made a last minute decision to spend our last night in Albuquerque near Old Town before flying home the next day. It's a good thing we stayed here our last night rather than the first because I never would have been able to get my husband to leave for the rest of the trip!! What a gem! The hotel is situated on a quiet corner across from a park/golf course, but just across the blvd from Old Town. You walk in and feel like you have just step back in time to a historic Santa Fe artist colony. Our "room" was actually a small historic cottage with a full kitchen & private patio. The unit was clean & very comfortable with vintage-looking furniture/antiques/art work. The bed was very comfortable. In fact, art work, flowering plants & water features are everywhere on the grounds. All the cottages face this lush courtyard with the exception of a couple of later addition modern rooms. We were in NM during a heat wave, but we were quite comfortable with just the ceiling fans, & the lushness of the courtyard. The breakfast room in the lobby bldg is light & airy and looks out on the courtyard as well. You can get a made-to-order breakfast which was quite tasty or have the usual continental fare found in other hotels. It was another nice surprise. All the staff was friendly & very helpful. We will definitely stay here and stay much longer when we are in Albuquerque again.
BTW: Don't be turned off by the outer space-looking structure on the entrance which is totally out of character with the rest of the place. It was supposedly added by a "famous architect" so the city will not let the owner remove it as he has requested. What was that architect thinking???

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cass1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

You never really know what you're going to get when you book an older hotel. You know - what's quaint to one person is just old to another!

The Casas de Suenos is an older complex, built around a lovely courtyard with grass, trees, and a gazebo. Reputed to have been an artists' colony at one point, it still showcases interesting SW-style art in the guest rooms and public spaces. Being of a certain age not all its tiles fit perfectly and some of the doors need to pushed a little to close properly, but nothing fit worse than it does at my own house. In fact, our nights at the casa gave the impression of staying at a Mexican's friend's home in Tucson or El Paso...but with a nicer lawn. Having the old plaza only a block away was nice, too.

One thing we loved was the breakfast accommodations. You can serve yourself, continentally, or order from a simple but very flavorful menu. French toast or tortillas, it's up to you, and it all tastes good.

Albuquerque doesn't always get the same good press Santa Fe might, but that's unfortunate. It's got an authentic feel we love. When you're there don't overlook this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidCardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is super cool. It was originally an artists' colony. It has charming rooms, green spaces, and off street parking. My room was an efficiency with a full kitchen. It is a very short walk to the shops and restaurants of Old Town and close to the Albuquerque Museum (great art museum.) The staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I will use it again as my base in ABQ. Breakfast was really good too.

Room Tip: You can select your room on their website. There are full descriptions of each room and its ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,884 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
175 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn

Address: 310 Rio Grande Blvd SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range: $121 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk through the gates of this secluded adobe style compound, and discover the magic of Casas de Suenos. Built in the 1930's and 1940's, Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn features 20 spacious casitas, hot tub suites, glowing fireplaces, soft adobe walls, hidden courtyards, inviting patios and beautiful gardens that accentuate our Historic Inn. Our cooked to order breakfast served in a sunny garden/artist studio will greet you in the morning. Our courtyard with gazebo is perfect for your next wedding, reception or retreat. Celebrating New Mexico Arts, History and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas De Suenos Old Town Country Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing