We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum for family”

The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History
Ranked #7 of 218 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History is the New Mexico’s only congressionally chartered museum in its field and a Smithsonian affiliate. Visitors can explore how nuclear science continues to influence our world. The museum strives to present, through permanent and changing exhibits and displays, the diverse applications of nuclear energy in the past, present and future along with the stories of the field’s pioneers. Originally known as the National Atomic Museum, it was established in 1969 as an intriguing place to learn the story of the Atomic Age, from early research of nuclear development through today’s peaceful uses of nuclear technology.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
“Great museum for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent the day making paper airplanes and working the interactive exibits while learning about nuclear science. The staff was extremely friendly, knowlegable, and helpful. Our group ranged in age from 11 to 84 and everyone enjoyed themselves. You should put this museum on your to-do list the next time you visit Albuquerque

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mefromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    257
    50
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It'll blow your mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

An excellent museum, now run by the Smithstonian, about not only New Mexico's role in the development of the atom bomb, but all related events including the development of nuclear science, World War II, an aircraft museum, etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank matvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History and Science”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoy all the history behind the science, also interesting all the new nuclear energy use in present day, as well as nuclear medicine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
397 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited this museum a year ago, and our 8 year old daughter requested that we return. She and our 12 year old son played in the kids' Einstein area and with the interactive exhibits in the nuclear science area while my husband and I read through the historical exhibits. The exhibits are modern and well done, as well as extremely informative. We were approached by one of the docents, who told us many really interesting stories that are not included in the exhibits due to lack of space. Also, we found a family guide to the exhibits on the museum's website, and it was very useful in guiding our kids through parts of the museum. If you are interested in history at all, this museum is a wonderful place to learn!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small and to the point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a small museum so don't try to spend all day there. I would say you can be in and out in an hour. It's very cool to learn its history and see all of the displays.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CeCeVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History also viewed

 

Been to The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing