We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Customer Service and Untrustworthy workers!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service and Untrustworthy workers!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on June 12, 2010 for one night. I reserved our room online and forgot to add our AAA discount. When we got there to check in I told the lady that I made a mistake and forgot to add our AAA info online. She said "Well the room is prepaid so there is nothing I can do!" She was pretty clear she wouldn't do anything to help us. She could have refunded our money and then recharged us the correct amount but I guess that was too much of an inconvenience to her. Instead she said "you got a good rate anyway" and didn't bother to even apologize for the inconvenience to us! GREAT customer service!! We left in the morning before check out time because we had a long drive ahead of us. Two hours into our drive I realized I had left my camera charger plugged into the wall (in a very visible spot) with my battery in it. I called immediately and the lady I spoke with said they had just started to clean the rooms and the cleaning people have bags with them to bring back anything they find. She said as soon as they get done and bring back what they find I will call you. She took my number and seemed very helpful. I never got a call from her so when we reached our destination that evening I called again. This time I spoke with a man (I think his name was Tyler) and he was completely in the dark about any of this. He said there was no note left at all and didn't know anything about it. I explained to him what happened and he placed me on hold while he looked in lost and found. He found nothing. He told me that no one had checked into our room since we left so he would go take a look and see if it was still there. He politely took my phone number and said he would call me back shortly. About 10-15 minutes later he called me back and apologized but said it was not there. I know my charger and battery are there, I just know it but yet they say they it was not. I called immediately when I realized it was missing but somehow it mysteriously disappeared?! My husband and I have always had great service at Holiday Inn and we make it a point to try and stay there whenever possible but this particular location has left such a bad impression and we will make sure to avoid Holiday Inn in the future!! I will also let everyone I know about the poor service we received and the loss of my charger and battery ($80) that was not returned to me. Thanks for the horrible experience Albuquerque, because of your lack of customer service you have lost our business

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juneever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    194
    44
    7
    14
See reviews for
202
208
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Easy access to I-40, close to the airport and Petroglyph National Monument. Free parking, breakfast, internet. Everything was exactly as expected except that it would be nice if the pool closed later. We arrived quite late and had to leave early, so we were not able to soak our tired bodies in it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk_denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Great hotel and friendly staff. Comfortable bed in spacious, nicely decorated room. Easy access from I 40 and a short drive to historic Old Town Albuquerque. While visiting, try Church Street Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALLAHASSEE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

A nice, new and clean facility, it was close enough to all our downtown and Old Town activities to ensure we make all our appointed events on time. Our room was both clean and comfortable.The breakfast was standard Holiday Inn fare, which is more than adequate and reasonably tasty. The entire staff was very helpful and responsive to our every request..

The only negative is the directions the Holiday Inn chain provides on its Priority Club website, which if not correctly could landing the traveler in the wrong part of New Mexico, if not another state. Those directions from the airport start the traveler out in the direction on I-25, heading South instead of North! During daylight this would be less of a problem than it is after dark for other first time visitors such as we were! I mentioned it to inn management..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Old Town Albuquerque. I picked it thinking it was within walking distance of Old Town. It was not unfortunately. But it was a short drive away with a freeway conveniently nearby.

This Holiday Inn had beds that rival the Heavenly Beds touted by Westin Hotels. They were simply magnificient as was the sumptuous bedding. The bathroom was large and luxurious. We stayed two nights and hated to leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Flew into ALB to start on a ten day tour of northern New Mexico and Arizona.

First of all, this hotel is not in Old Town Albuquerque. After a long day of traveling, we were not able to walk to a restaurant just down the street, but instead had to get back into our rental car and find a restaurant for dinner.

Secondly, this hotel does not appear to be new. The rooms have been nicely refurbished, but the common areas appear old and worn and dirty. According to the rental car agent, this property was the old Sheraton.

My husband is a Holiday Inn Priority member, and he did not receive a "goodie bag".

My husband drinks tea for breakfast, and no hot water was available for tea.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanAm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings MT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed here for business. The staff was very friendly. I was greeted everytime I entered the building from my meeting and dinner. There was always someone at the front desk. They assisted my colleague with shipping out some binders via UPS; they really helped. They made suggestions where to eat in the city.

The place is less than a year old and very clean. I observed maintainance cleaning scuff marks on a wall in one of the halls, so management is on top of things.

I have no complaints about the room. It faced the street. I had my fan on so, I can't really report if traffic was an issue; It created "white noise" for me. It was very clean. The linens were new. I had a Flat Screen TV, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. I was satisfied with the fitness center. The breakfast room can accomadate the morning crowd and CNN is on a flat screen TV while you eat your hot/cold breakfast. The breakfast lady was very friendly. In the afternoon, oranges were available to guests.

The location was close to my meeting. The area is being revitalized. The hotel is across the street from Indian Pueblo Cultural Center. There is a new looking Lowes and Wal Greens across the street.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n8vgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Address: 2300 12th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing