We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location can't be beat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There have been those on here that said this was in a bad area. It is right next to the expressway in a major city but we felt safe and didn't worry about our car or anything. Most of the staff there was WONDERFUL. Harris at the front desk gave us some great tips for our day-trip to Santa Fe. We spent two nights here. The room, pool and breakfast were exactly what you would expect from a HIE. The room was clean, comfortable and we had a great view of the mountains. It's a quick drive down to Old Town, the zoo, aquarium, etc. And you are close to the highways to hop and go to any other destination in region. It was a great central location for us to use as a base. Our major complaint...the last night we were there the batteries died in the smoke detector in our room at 2 a.m., waking the whole family up. We couldn't tell if it was a problem throughout the hotel or just ours. We tried calling the front desk for about an hour before someone finally answered. He came up and pulled the detector out of the ceiling. The next morning as we checked out the woman at the desk asked how everything was and we said we didn't get much sleep due to the smoke detector. She shrugged and said, "sorry." After the great customer service we had received up to that point, we expected more from this highly rated staff. Disappointing. They probably would have gotten a 5 if it hadn't been for that, but it left us with a sour note.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. not only is it nice to look out at the mountains, but that's on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaduck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
deltaduck2,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hote and our staff. I am glad that you were happy with the location and with most of our staff. I do want to apologize that the smoke detector woke your family up and that the issue was not resolved in a better way. We take great pride in our facility and our service. I do hope that you and your family will stay with us again on your next trip to Albuquerque. Have a wonderful Summer!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    175
    35
    5
    10
See reviews for
168
185
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for a wedding at the museum. We were with family and friends so there was a block of rooms set aside which worked out well. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was the usual fare. The only complaint I have is the elevators smelled bad. Old Town was close by (driving) and theer is a Native Cultural Centr across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmack1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
jrmack1426,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review. I am glad that we were able to accomodate your party. I am so sorry that the elevator smelled badly. I will be sure to have them check more often to ensure their cleanliness and freshness. Thanks for the feedback.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here a few times while in Albuquerqe for business. Very convenient to Highways 40 and 25. Not much w/in walking distance, but plenty of shopping, restaurants and Old Town are just a short drive away. Accross the street from the Native/Pueblo Cultural Center which is well worth a visit. Check their schedule for Native dancing that is presented many times during the week and weekends. There's a good restaurant at the Center as well.
Staff has always been helpful and friendly. Rooms are large and well appointed. We've never had any complaints, nor have we experienced the noise problem some have mentioned.
Nice hot breakfast and fitness center (small, but a nice wall of windows) are a plus for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
jimdaninm,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to our hotel. Please pass on our name and number to your friends and collegues. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night there going to the airport the next morning. Less than 10 moles from it and close the highway. We had a king suite, big enough. Comfy bed. We were in room 439. There was a weird smell coming from the bathtub and a loud ventilation coming from the bathroom, tough, you could not hear it from the room itself and from the bed. Breakfast is served from 6:30, wich is a good thing when having a morning flight!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Betsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Lady_Betsie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are pleased you liked your breakfast experience. My apologies for the disappointment you had with the bathroom. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Planned on staying two nights here but after checking into our suite room 215 I knew that would be much too long. The check in was fine, including the two bottles of water, and the suite itself was nice. However, the room we were given faces the VERY busy street. As a result of that, the noise really comes right into the room. We cancelled our second night and went to another establishment. The suite was big and the beds were nice. Breakfast in the morning was fine and the manager gave us plenty of tips for things to see. But, due to the location, we left one night early. Rooms facing the parking lot are probably much quieter. They should try and put guest only on that side of the hotel...had we had a suite on that side, they would have had us for both nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room only facing the parking lot. If that is not possible and you are noise sensitive, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear tim805,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Easy location right off the highway. King Suite was of nice size and very comfortable. Expected Holiday Inn standards and newer than most HI Express hotels. Carpet could use a shampoo in the rooms - something I have come to expect with most budget/chain hotels in general though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTimes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Texas Times T,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have noted your comment regarding the carpets for our houseperson and maintenace staff. We appreciate your honest feedback. We will look into getting them done more regularly than they are currently scheduled for. We hope to see you again soon!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great location and a very nice hotel. We had a great view of the mountains and the lights at night. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The towels were very good quality and soft. I have no complains what so ever about our stay there. Breakfast was really good too. We always have scrambled eggs or a omelet and a cinnamon roll and/or fruit.

Room Tip: We had the king bed room and had plenty of plugs for all our stuff and the bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Paul P,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and a good breakfast to start your day. Thank you for sharing your experience. Have a wonderful day!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Address: 2300 12th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing