We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family was very satisfied with the service and very comfortable with the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our family was very satisfied with the service and very comfortable with the stay.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

As soon as we walked in the ladies at the front desk jumped to help us. The hotel is gorgeous and very clean. We had access to the indoor pool from 8 am to 10 pm. Which is a big plus for my kids. The hotel even provided us with towels there in the pool room we didn't have to use ours.The rooms are so nice and elegant. We felt very comfortable and felt at home there. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzvillarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Luzvillarreal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that our Front desk ladies were ready to get you checked in and off to the pool for some relaxing times. I look forward to having you and your family as our guests again in the future!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    201
    46
    7
    14
See reviews for
206
216
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I booked this hotel as a one night stay on a cross country road trip and found this hotel to be very, very good. We were given a corner room, so I can only assume it was bigger than others (but who really knows) and as a rewards club member, I was given a complimentary bottle of water. Parking was free, and we were able to park right next to our room, making loading and unloading our car a breeze. Our king sized bed was comfortable, our room was clean, and the amenities in the room (television, fridge, microwave) all appeared to be very nice and new. While the hotel itself does not appear to be in the IMMEDIATE vicinity of anything of particular note, we were but a 5 minute drive away from everything we wanted or needed in Albuquerque (which really just consisted of somewhere to eat dinner as this was just a stop along the way). I actually appreciated having to drive in to town, as it gave me a chance to see more of Albuquerque than I would have otherwise. The following morning, the complimentary breakfast was pretty well stocked and served in a nice, spacious room.

So, why does this place get 4 stars and not 5? Well, the internet was very spotty. Perhaps this was just a byproduct of our room being at the end of a hallway, but it was very, very slow and at times did not work at all. Also, the television did not work the morning we left, so between the spotty internet, and the television outage, I cannot give this place 5 stars. Also, while this did not bother my girlfriend, the fridge in our room made a clicking noise throughout the night which irritated me as I tried to sleep.

At the end of the day, this hotel was VERY reasonably priced, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the hotel staff was incredibly friendly, so this place earned 4 stars easily... perhaps I caught it on a bad technological day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gournal3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
gournal3311,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your one night stop in Albuquerque. I am glad that you liked your corner room. Our team does a wonderful job in keeping up the hotel. I will forward your comments of cleanliness and friendliness to them. We strive each day to make each guests stay with us a great one! You are correct about location. Most restaurants, shopping, etc are within a short 5 minute car ride. Old Town Plaza is only 2 miles away. There are plenty of restaurants, shopping and museums in that area. I will look into the technologial trouble you had. If you would be so kind to send me a message or call me at 505-842-5000 so I may test the room you were in for the television and internet. Thank you again for your review!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently stayed overnight passing through Albuquerque. The room, a double queen suite was very clean and well layed out. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet and beds comfortable. Very short drive to old town, and easy off and on to interstate 40. Good breakfast... even satisfied my 7 year old grandson. I will definately stay again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Sid H,

Thank you for staying with us on your stop in Albuquerque! There are so many choices and I am glad that you found our hotel to be just what you needed. Our suites do have a great layout. Especially for a family that needs the extra space to spread out after a long trip. I am so happy that your grandson liked our breakfast selection! I know how hard it is to please kids. I have a 7 year old myself. I hope that you will stay with us again on your return trip.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Considering this is a relatively new express it doesn't appear to have been kept up. Our room was very dark, dusty, dirty carpet, plastered walls not painted. Broken matress on one side, pillows that should have been trashed they had so many lumps and bumps and even seemed to have dislarged foam floating within the casing. Towels that were thread bare, so thin we could see thru them. Dirty windows that had been attacked by birds who left their whatver all over them. I told the manager about the wndows, she acknowledged yes they needed to be cleaned and she was looking into cleaning them, WHY WAIT it was disgusting.

The room was VERY NOISEY we were able to hear guests in other rooms doing their bathroom business. Noise from trucks and cars made sleeping all but impossible.

This is called OLD TOWN by the Hotel, it is not actually in OLD TOWN as tourrists know that area. I'm not even sure it's within a short few minute walk and the immediate area around the hotel leaves something to be desired.

We met with the manager who acknowledged our discontent, saying she knows the hotel needs to be cleaned up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
luckytravelers,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Our hotel is now 3 1/2 years old and is starting to show some signs of age as any property would. I do want to apologize for the experience you had with us. As I explained when we spoke upon your check out, our owners and management team are taking the necessary measures to make improvements. As you put it WHY WAIT. It's not a matter of waiting but a matter of the time it takes to get bids, order the necessary items, etc. Pillows and towels are items that we have been changing out in every room. Elevator carpet had recently been ordered, window cleaning was in the process of being bid upon your stay and has since been scheduled. I know this does not change the experience that you had but I do hope it helps in your decision to try us out again in the future. As discussed I have also made an adjustment on your final bill.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

newer, clean hotel. nicely decorated and smells great--even the elevators smell like a cozy leather chair! friendly staff, good breakfast bar, fresh-baked cookies and good location right off the freeway. cold bottled water for PC members on check-in. near food and gas, and key card gets you a discount at nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaweleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
jpaweleck,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad that you liked the cold bottle of water upon check-in. Thank you for being a Priorty Club member. I hope that you have registered for the current promotion. What a great program! I am glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable and conveniently located. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

When it comes hotels only one thing matters, is it clean. I can tell u this place is very clean. No stains of any kind, the bathroom was spotless, and all the bed sheets were crisp and fresh. I like to sleep in so I missed the breakfast. We stayed on June 8th and after taxes paid 129.90 for non smoking two queen size beds. All I can say is if all holiday express are like this I would never stray from the brand

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incognitoblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Incognitoblk

Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you found our hotel and your room to be spotless. I will be sure to share your review with our Housekeeping staff. I am sure it will bring lots of bright smiles to their faces.
Since you have found Holiday Inn Express to be the brand for you I encourage you to sign up for Priority Club if you haven't already done so. Safe travels! We hope to see you on your next trip to Albuqueruqe.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a nice, newish hotel. It is a standard Modern Holiday Inn Express and the staff were very nice. However, on the IHG website it states that it is “Historic Old Town” This isn’t quite true as it is more than walking distance to the Old Town. If you have a car, then it wouldn’t be a problem, but I would recommend trying to walk it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewxGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
NewXGate

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. You are correct regarding our location. We are in "Old Town" Albuquerque, however we are not in the plaza area. The Plaza is about 2 miles from the hotel. I recommend having a vehicle. There is so much for everyone to enjoy at the Old Town Plaza restaurants, museums, shopping, etc. to enjoy. Wear your walking shoes. Safe Travels!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,739 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Address: 2300 12th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing