We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casita Chamisa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Chamisa
Ranked #10 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We wanted to get to know Albuquerque and its neighborhoods, as we are considering moving there in the future. Our two nights at Casita Chamisa were great! Arnhold is a delightful host, full of interesting stories, and makes a mean blueflour pancake. The history of this house --as well as the history under the house portrayed in a video by his wife/ archeologist Kit-- were fascinating. We even attended church with him on Sunday morning in downtown Albuquerque and met some of his friends. The bed was comfortable, Sitting out on the patio and talking with the horses and the cats was fun. We were not in any rush to get anywhere, so enjoyed relaxing there. Yes, there are cobwebs, but we prefer that to staying in yet another motel with no character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaointhevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want an anonymous, characterless place to stay, don’t choose Casita Chamisa.
If you want a distinctive, comfortable place where your host, Arnold, genuinely loves his customers, you should really enjoy this B&B.
The Queen Studio was spacious and airy with a comfortable bed and all you could need for a short stay in Albuquerque. The historic Old Town is only a few minute’s drive away.
Breakfasts were excellent with everything prepared fresh and with a great deal of care. Arnold happily explains the unique history of the site including its long native American connections and his wife’s enthusiastic excavations in past years.
Casita Chamisa is no ordinary B&B. I’d enthusiastically return there.

Room Tip: For one or two people, the Queen Suite is very good with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We loved our experience at Casita Chamisa. It was comfortable and beautiful, and we were treated to a personal breakfast prepared by Arnold, the charming and friendly owner. His stories about the property, and the video about his late wife, were intriguing and heartwarming. The heated indoor pool was an added treat. If you are looking for an antiseptic chain hotel, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a unique experience that you will long remember and treasure, we can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask Arnold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We had such a great time! The house is so unique and so comfortable. The property is beautiful and everything about the place has a story. Water pressure was great. The studio has a kitchenette and a tempurpedic bed. We got the best nights' sleep both nights. It is peaceful and quiet at night. There is a heated, indoor pool and two person hot tub. And there was a little flat screen in our room.
Arnold is an absolute delight. He is a wonderful, older gentleman who makes the best breakfasts. He is very precise about things and has spent years perfecting his recipes. Everything he made us was special and delicious. You can tell he really enjoys sharing his home with people. We were there when some people called to book a room and he beamed and said "some people are coming to stay in the guest house" with a big smile and did a little happy dance. The place has a very interesting history and the stories of Arnold and Kit's lives are everywhere. He is so much fun to talk to and his smile will melt your heart. We will definitely make it a point to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaploooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Arnold is a very nice older gentleman but is very regimented.The guest house was cramped, dated, not so clean and kind of creepy. The outside door from the "greenhouse" did not lock. The kitchenette is ancient and had frost several inches thick. There were 3 of us women that had made reservations and after returning after dark the first night decided we just coulndn't stay there. We packed up, left some money on the table and left. I like quirky and different, but all I can say is this place made us very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ishlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Room was clean and comfortable.
Trash was not emptied once during our 4 night stay, towels were not changed nor bed made. The room lacked ventilation. There was an old wooden screen door leading outside, that was held closed by a hook and eye, so we did not feel safe leaving the inside door open at night. There was a very old table fan with a grate covering the metal blades that had spaces big enough for your whole hand to fit in - I was terrified to move it once the fan was on - and it was very noisy.
The location can't be beat for the Balloon Fiesta. We had requested to have our breakfasts to go, but that wasn't available, and breakfast was only served at 8:30 (video at 8:00).
Arnold was very friendly.
If you can go with the flow, and don't worry about being any place in a hurry, this place could be for you. If you are looking for room service and luxury, you should pass on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The B and B is ok, the location is awesome. The inn keeper is very nice, older, sharp but the rooms are dusty and I want to give other travelers a few heads up.
No daily service to rooms, innkeeper does not make beds, empty trash, freshen towels, etc. over the 5 days we stayed. Does not make breakfast if you are going to the balloon fiesta mass ascensions of the Balloon Fiesta. We did have breakfast , which was fine but he keeps his parrot in the kitchen and 4 cats roam the house, so we weren't thrilled to enjoy the breakfasts, I am sure it would be ok for some but not us. Also, allow 30 minutes before your first breakfast to view the video of inn keepers wife who was an archeologist who held a dig on the property where the Casita is and what they found. Kind of interesting.
Would recommend but the innkeeper could do a better job.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#45 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#40 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Chamisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Chamisa

Property: Casita Chamisa
Address: 850 Chamisal Rd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-6408
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita Chamisa 3*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing