We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building, beautiful artifacts but needs some pruning”

Indian Pueblo Cultural Center
Ranked #4 of 223 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned and run by the 19 Indian Pueblos of New Mexico, this important center showcases the history of the Pueblo people through ancient artifacts, dance demonstrations and art exhibits.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great building, beautiful artifacts but needs some pruning”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to visit and to learn about the Pueblo Culture. Welcome was very friendly. The exhibits are spaciously presented in a beautiful building however we found the emphasis on the detailed texts just too difficult to access and so we got fed up trying to read it all. Some serious pruning of all the information might help visitors to better understand all the difficulties experienced by the Pueblo people. The same we thought applies to the dance display we witnessed. While undoubtedly authentic, to us 'outsiders' it seemed rather repetitive. Some editing of both the chat and the choreography would still give an idea of the dance but perhaps keep the audience more engaged. We noticed people gently moving away - some of the stall holders benefited perhaps during this time. Would still recommend a visit but hope this review might be helpful to the managers of this important resource.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    431
    116
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort worth, texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great first time visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is well worth the time as it gives a great historical perspective of the Pueblo life - the only thing missing on the day we went was the dancing, which I had so looked forward to. If you are heading to any of the Pueblos, or expect to buy any jewelry - you owe it to yourself to see the history of our fellow Americans.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjhays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit the basement”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found the permanent exhibits very educational and interesting and spent an enjoyable afternoon here. One large area was being prepared for a new exhibit, so now there should be more to see. We just happened to see the stairs to the basement - that was our favorite part of the museum.

We also saw the dance performance - the children were darling, but very young and so the dances became a bit repetitive.

We also had lunch there - quite tasty and a very professional waiter.

We found customer service excellent. We went back to buy bread - but it was Sunday and the restaurant and the computer had just closed. The nice young man said if we had exact change he would take it and ring it up the next day. I also wanted to buy a couple $1 raffle tickets for some beautiful jewelry. The lady at the entrance walked back to the other end of the museum to get them for me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very interesting.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I found it pretty uninteresting except for the photos of the old missions because I like to look at old photos. The place seemed rather deserted while I was there. I should have gone to Old Town instead!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfeliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Must for New Transplants, and Your Out of Town Guests.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great source of cultural wealth showcasing life prior, during, and after the Spanish Incursion. The pueblo culture and history are some of the most important events in American history. Here they pull out all the stops especially when it comes to food. This is real New Mexican food, not the gringo slop everyone else is slinging. Go for an unforgettable breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Pueblo Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Indian Pueblo Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing